The new frontier

Adam Kutas – Beyond emerging markets

As the portfolio manager for Fidelity Frontier Emerging Markets Fund, Adam Kutas frequently travels to distant locales in search of new investment opportunities. A core part of the Fidelity investment process is “kicking the tires” on companies by visiting management in their home countries and seeing the operations first-hand. As well, with emerging and frontier markets, having a deep understanding of a particular country’s economic and political environment is essential to fully comprehending the risk and rewards. This blog is intended to highlight this research process and help investors and advisors better understand the opportunities provided by exposure to frontier markets. 

End of Globalization? End of Frontier?

July 2020

Do globalization disruptions have a negative impact on frontier markets? Portfolio Manager Adam Kutas weighs in on the state of global trade and its potential impact on frontier and emerging markets.

COVID-19 and the Frontier: Key differences and risks

June 2020

How is COVID-19 economically impacting frontier markets? Are early stage economies like Kenya experiencing the same level of impact as developed markets like Canada? In his latest blog, Portfolio Manager Adam Kutas examines the unique impact of the virus in frontier markets.

Frontier in 2020: End of Middle East to Asia transformation

April 2020

Following a year of trade disruptions, and more recently the COVID-19 pandemic, what does the future look like for frontier markets in 2020? Portfolio Manager Adam Kutas explores the industries and countries impacting frontier and emerging markets this year.

A Visit to Emerging & Frontier Europe: the “Originals” are back

December 2019

After 10 years of economic headwinds, Eastern European countries are leading emerging markets in GDP growth. Should investors take a closer review of these ‘original’ emerging markets? Portfolio Manager Adam Kutas studies the latest economic developments in Eastern Europe, including the secular ‘tailwinds’ that could drive future growth in the area.

Trade wars, belts, roads and all in between

October 2019

China’s ‘Belt and Road Initiative’ (BRI) is impacting both frontier and emerging markets, but it is multi-faceted and complex. What do global investors need to understand? Portfolio Manager Adam Kutas takes a closer look at the historical context of ‘BRI’ and the frontier markets being impacted.

Frontier comes in from the cold

August 2019

Iceland will soon be reclassified as a frontier market. How should investors react? Adam highlights the positive portfolio diversification benefits Iceland may provide and how it compares to other Baltic-country opportunities.

Any “frontier” left in frontier markets?

June 2019

Adam argues that the recent upgrading of several countries from “frontier” to “emerging” is positive for frontier investors as it creates a more purely “frontier” index – and as a result, investors will have more exposure to the assets they seek.

Saudi Arabia and pending MSCI EM inclusion: the usual fade?

April 2019

Adam discusses the pending inclusion of Saudi Arabia into the MSCI EM index.

China’s “gifts” to frontier

March 2019

Adam discusses China’s “gifts” to frontier markets:  communication, power and electric vehicles.

The three leapfrogs in frontier

January 2019

Adam explains the concept of “leapfrogging”, which is how frontier countries "leapfrog" market structures that exist in developed markets and move straight to the most modern systems. It is most apparent in three sectors: telecom, banking and power.

 

Why Frontier Emerging, not just Frontier?

December 2018

Adam explains why the index for the Fidelity Frontier Emerging Markets Fund is the MSCI Frontier Emerging Markets (FEM) Index and not the MSCI Frontier Markets (FM) Index.

 

 

Middle East - A timely rise in the index

November 2018

Adam talks about how the emerging (EM) and frontier (FM) markets are becoming more important from an index perspective as the region is rising sharply in both the EM equity and bond indices. He discusses whether this will have an impact on stock performance.

 

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

825676.1.0

Close Search

La nouvelle frontière

Adam Kutas – Au-delà des marchés émergents

En tant que gestionnaire de portefeuille du Fonds Fidelity Marchés émergents frontaliers, Adam Kutas est fréquemment appelé à voyager dans des régions éloignées à la recherche de nouvelles occasions de placement. L’une des étapes cruciales du processus de placement de Fidelity consiste à « vérifier la marchandise », c’est-à-dire à visiter les équipes de direction des diverses entreprises dans leur propre pays afin de découvrir leurs opérations quotidiennes. Dans le cas des pays émergents et frontaliers, posséder une connaissance approfondie de contexte économique et politique du pays est essentiel pour bien comprendre le rapport risque/rendement auquel on s’expose. Ce blogue vise à mettre en évidence cette méthode de recherche et à aider les investisseurs et les conseillers à mieux saisir les occasions qu’offre une participation aux marchés frontaliers.

Fin de la mondialisation? Fin des pays frontaliers?

Juillet 2020

Les freins à la mondialisation sont-ils défavorables aux marchés frontaliers? Le gestionnaire de portefeuille Adam Kutas commente les conditions commerciales mondiales et leurs répercussions possibles sur les marchés émergents et frontaliers.

La COVID-19 et les marchés frontaliers : principaux risques et différences

Juin 2020

Quelle est l’incidence de la COVID-19 sur les marchés frontaliers? Les répercussions économiques dans les marchés en phase initiale de développement comme le Kenya sont-elles les mêmes que dans les marchés développés comme le Canada? Dans son plus récent billet, le gestionnaire de portefeuille Adam Kutas analyse les répercussions particulières du virus dans les marchés frontaliers.

La frontière en 2020 : fin du processus pour le Moyen-Orient et transformation de l’Asie

Avril 2020

Après une année marquée par des conflits commerciaux et compte tenu de la récente pandémie de COVID-19, quel sera l’avenir des marchés émergents frontaliers en 2020? Le gestionnaire de portefeuille Adam Kutas s’intéresse aux industries et aux pays qui auront une incidence sur ces marchés cette année.

Le point sur les pays frontaliers et émergents d’Europe – Remontée des « pays d’origine »

Décembre 2019

Après 10 ans de tumultes économiques, les pays d’Europe orientale dominent les marchés émergents au chapitre de la croissance du PIB. Les investisseurs auraient-ils avantage à s’intéresser à ces marchés émergents « d’origine »? Le gestionnaire de portefeuille Adam Kutas se penche sur les récents développements économiques en Europe orientale, notamment les nouvelles tendances favorables qui pourraient stimuler la croissance dans la région à long terme.

Conflits commerciaux, nouvelle route de la soie et tout le reste

Octobre 2019

L’initiative « ceinture et route » (ICR) de la Chine, multifacette et complexe, a un effet aussi bien sur les marchés émergents que frontaliers. Que doivent savoir les investisseurs mondiaux? Le gestionnaire de portefeuille Adam Kutas examine de plus près le contexte historique de l’ICR et les pays frontaliers concernés.

 

Un pays frontalier qui se réchauffe

Août 2019

L’Islande sera bientôt classée parmi les marchés frontaliers. Comment devraient réagir les investisseurs? Adam Kutas met en lumière les avantages que pourrait procurer l’Islande en termes de diversification de portefeuille et explique comment les occasions qu’elle présente se comparent à celles d’autres pays baltiques. 

 

Les marchés frontaliers débordent-ils de leurs frontières?

Juin 2019

Selon Adam Kutas, la récente transition de marchés frontaliers à marchés émergents de nombreux pays s’avère positive pour les investisseurs des marchés frontaliers, car elle entraîne la création d’un indice « frontalier » plus pur. Les investisseurs disposeront ainsi d’une plus grande participation aux actifs qu’ils recherchent.

L’inclusion en instance de l’Arabie saoudite dans l’indice MSCI Marchés émergents sera-t-elle suivie du recul habituel?

Avril 2019

M. Kutas discute de l’inclusion en instance de l’Arabie saoudite dans l’indice MSCI Marchés émergents.

 

 

Les « cadeaux » de la Chine aux pays frontaliers

Mars 2019

M. Kutas explique en quoi consiste les « cadeaux » de la Chine aux pays frontaliers : communications, production d’électricité et véhicules électriques.

Les trois grands sauts des marchés frontaliers

Janvier 2019

Adam Kutas explique la notion de « grand saut », soit la façon dont les marchés frontaliers sautent des étapes pour passer directement aux systèmes les plus modernes au lieu de suivre les structures qui existent dans les marchés développés. Cette réalité transparaît principalement dans trois sous-secteurs, à savoir les télécommunications, les banques et l’énergie.  

Pourquoi les marchés émergents frontaliers et pas simplement les marchés frontaliers?

Décembre 2018

M. Kutas explique pourquoi le Fonds Fidelity Marchés émergents frontaliers est associé à l’indice MSCI Marchés émergents frontaliers (MÉF) et non à l’indice MSCI Marchés frontaliers (MF).

 

 

Moyen-Orient – Une hausse opportune de l’indice

Novembre 2018

Adam Kutas explique pourquoi les marchés émergents (MÉ) et les marchés frontaliers (MF) gagnent en importance sur le plan indiciel, car ces régions connaissent une forte hausse dans les indices boursiers et obligataires. Il discute également de l’incidence potentielle de cette réalité sur le rendement des actions.  

 

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

825676.1.0

Close Search