Skip to content

Sustainable investing


Sustainable investing has its rewards.

Don’t miss out on this growing opportunity. Investing in sustainable investment funds can help you both achieve your financial goals and contribute to creating long-term positive environmental, social and governance (ESG) outcomes.

 

Glossary of sustainable investing terms

Learn more

2020 Sustainable Investing Report

 

Sustainable investing in Canada by the numbers*

$3.2
trillion invested in sustainable investments.
48%
growth in sustainable investment assets over the last two years.
72%
of investors are interested in sustainable investments.


* Responsible Investment Association. 2020 Canadian Responsible Investment Trends Report (November 2020) and 2020 RIA Investor Opinion Survey (October 2020).


 

What is sustainable investing?

  • Also known as responsible or ESG investing, it is an approach to investing that incorporates ESG issues in the investment process.
  • It’s a forward-looking process that often combines selecting companies based on their financial prospects, how they manage various ESG issues, and the impact they may have on society and the environment.
  • Sustainable investing can help investors achieve their financial goals, while aligning their investments with their values.



Sustainability can lead to profitability.

Research has shown that companies with sustainable business practices have the potential to perform well over the long term. The two leading reasons investors consider ESG issues when investing* are

  1. minimizing risk over time
  2. improving returns over time

Evaluating how well companies manage the various ESG issues that may affect their business, in addition to their financial characteristics, can help minimize risk and improve returns over the long term. Ultimately, integrating these issues in the investment process of sustainable investment funds can:

  • provide a better understanding of companies
  • lead to sustainable long-term outcomes
  • offer the potential for enhanced returns

How can I invest sustainably?

There are different ways to invest sustainably. Evaluating ESG issues in addition to financial factors when analyzing companies is one example. Excluding companies based on ESG performance and attributes is another. Regardless of the approach, evidence has shown that incorporating ESG issues in the investment process of sustainable investment funds can help mitigate risk and enhance long-term returns.


* Responsible Investment Association. 2020 Canadian Responsible Investment Trends Report (November 2020) and 2020 RIA Investor Opinion Survey (October 2020).


 

Sustainable investment funds

Looking for sustainable investment funds to add to your portfolio? Fidelity has a
lineup of mutual funds and an ETF for Canadian investors seeking ESG-related
products to diversify their investments accounts.

Sustainable investing approach: ESG integration, best-in-class screening and exclusionary screening.

Fidelity Sustainable World ETF

Fidelity Sustainable World ETF (and Mutual Fund) is a global quantitative multi-factor equity strategy that seeks to deliver strong risk-adjusted returns by investing in companies with favourable ESG characteristics.

Sustainable investing approach: ESG integration and thematic investing.

Fidelity Women’s Leadership Fund

Fidelity Women’s Leadership Fund is a core U.S. equity strategy that aims to deliver strong risk-adjusted returns by investing primarily in companies that prioritize and advance women’s leadership and development across their organization.

Sustainable investing approach: Exclusionary screening, best-in-class screening, ESG integration and thematic investing.

Fidelity Climate Leadership Funds

The Fidelity Climate Leadership™ Funds form a suite of climate-focused investment funds (equity, fixed income and balanced) designed to strive to deliver strong risk-adjusted returns by capturing the opportunities created by the global transition to a low-carbon economy.


Why invest with Fidelity?

Fidelity Investments Canada ULC is committed to offering sustainable investment funds to help our clients achieve their financial goals. We believe that strong research can help drive the long-term performance that our clients demand. Supported by a strong global research platform, we believe we have a competitive edge and the intelligent insights needed to create strong investment opportunities for Canadian investors.

Learn more about ESG ratings

Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

L’investissement durable


Le vent tourne. Prenez le virage vert.

Ne manquez pas cette occasion de croissance. Investir dans des fonds d’investissement durable peut à la fois vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs financiers et contribuer à la création de changements positifs à long terme pour l’environnement, la société et la gouvernance (ESG).

 

Glossaire de l’investissement durable

En savoir plus

Rapport 2020 sur l’investissement durable

 

Statistiques sur l’investissement durable au Canada*

3 200
milliards de dollars sont investis dans des placements durables.
48 %
L’actif sous gestion issu de l’investissement durable a augmenté de 48 % au cours des deux dernières années.
72 %
L’investissement durable suscite l’intérêt de 72 % des investisseurs.


* Association pour l’investissement responsable (AIR). Rapport de tendances de l’investissement responsable canadien 2020 (novembre 2020) et Sondage d’opinion des investisseurs de l’AIR 2020 (octobre 2020).


 

Qu’est-ce que l’investissement durable?

  • L’investissement durable, également appelé investissement ESG est une philosophie qui prend en compte les facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance dans le processus de placement.
  • Cette démarche prospective regroupe habituellement la sélection de sociétés en fonction de leurs perspectives financières et de leur gestion des enjeux ESG, de même que l’étude de leur incidence potentielle sur la société et l’environnement.
  • L’investissement durable peut aider les investisseurs à atteindre leurs objectifs financiers au moyen de placements qui correspondent à leurs valeurs.



Durabilité peut être synonyme de rentabilité.

Des recherches ont démontré que les sociétés dotées de pratiques commerciales durables sont susceptibles de procurer de solides rendements à long terme. Les deux principales raisons pour lesquelles les investisseurs envisagent les facteurs ESG* sont :

  1. l’atténuation du risque au fil du temps, et;
  2. l’amélioration du rendement au fil du temps.

L’évaluation de la façon dont les sociétés gèrent les enjeux ESG susceptibles d’affecter leurs activités, en plus de leurs caractéristiques financières, peut contribuer à atténuer les risques et à accroître le rendement à long terme. En d’autres termes, l’intégration de ces enjeux dans le processus de placement des fonds d’investissement durables permet :

  • d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension des sociétés;
  • de tenter de générer des retombées durables à long terme, et;
  • d’offrir un potentiel de rendement supérieur.

Comment puis-je investir de manière durable?

L’investissement durable comporte de multiples facettes. Évaluer les enjeux ESG en plus des facteurs financiers au moment d’analyser une société en est une. Exclure les sociétés qui affichent une piètre performance ESG en est une autre. Peu importe l’approche préconisée, des études ont révélé que l’intégration des enjeux ESG dans la démarche de placement des fonds d’investissement durables peut contribuer à atténuer les risques et à accroître le rendement à long terme.


* Association pour l’investissement responsable (AIR). Rapport de tendances de l’investissement responsable canadien 2020 (novembre 2020) et Sondage d’opinion des investisseurs de l’AIR 2020 (octobre 2020).


 

Fonds d’investissement durable

Vous souhaitez intégrer des fonds d’investissement durable à votre portefeuille?
Fidelity propose une gamme de fonds communs de placement et de fonds négociés
en bourse (FNB) aux investisseurs canadiens en quête de produits ESG pour
diversifier leurs comptes de placement.

Approche d’investissement durable : intégration ESG et placement thématique.

Fidelity Sustainable World ETF

Le FNB Fidelity Développement durable mondial (tout comme son fonds commun de placement) est une stratégie d’actions multifactorielles quantitatives mondiales qui cherche à procurer de solides rendements ajustés au risque en investissant dans des sociétés dotées de caractéristiques ESG favorables.

Approche d’investissement durable : intégration ESG et placement thématique.

Fidelity Women’s Leadership Fund

Le Fonds Fidelity Leadership au féminin est une stratégie d’actions américaines de base qui cherche à procurer de solides rendements ajustés au risque en investissant dans des sociétés qui privilégient le leadership et l’avancement des femmes au sein de leur organisation.

Approche d’investissement durable : filtres d’exclusion, repérage des chefs de file, intégration ESG et placement thématique.

Fidelity Climate Leadership Funds

Les Fonds Fidelity Leadership climatiqueMC sont une gamme de fonds d’investissement (actions, revenu fixe et équilibré) axée sur le climat et conçue pour cibler d’excellents rendements ajustés au risque en tirant parti d’occasions issues de la tendance mondiale vers une économie à faibles émissions de carbone.


Pourquoi investir auprès de Fidelity?

Chez Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i., nous sommes déterminés à offrir des fonds d’investissement durables pour aider nos clients à réaliser leurs objectifs financiers, et nous sommes persuadés que la recherche approfondie peut contribuer à l’atteinte des rendements à long terme auxquels s’attendent nos clients. Selon nous, notre puissante plateforme de recherche mondiale nous procure un avantage concurrentiel et nous fournit les perspectives nécessaires pour créer d’excellentes occasions pour les investisseurs canadiens.

En savoir plus sur nos cotes ESG

Content is loading, please wait