Skip to content

What rising inflation means for bitcoin

If you have been paying attention to the news, you’ll know one of the biggest stories right now is record-setting inflation, with each month bringing a more eye-popping rise in prices. But how do cryptocurrencies fit into this narrative? Some investors see certain cryptocurrencies as a hedge against inflation, similar to gold. Others view cryptocurrencies as riskier assets whose price volatility makes them unattractive in challenging economic times. Below we attempt to answer some of the most common questions about cryptocurrencies and inflation.

How does inflation affect bitcoin?

Bitcoin is the largest cryptocurrency by market cap and arguably the most well known. As inflation rises, the U.S. Federal Reserve (the Fed) and other major central banks may be inclined to continue to raise interest rates or tighten monetary policies to slow the price rises. As a result, many asset classes, including cryptocurrencies, may see their prices fall.1

Do cryptocurrencies experience inflation?

Yes, cryptocurrencies may experience inflation. Different cryptocurrencies have different monetary policies, and thus may be subject to different rates of monetary inflation. Stablecoins are a type of cryptocurrency that seeks to peg its value to fiat money, and thus their value is directly affected by the monetary inflation of the fiat currencies to which they are pegged.

A cryptocurrency is inflationary when its supply is increasing over time. New tokens may be introduced into the system through mining or staking rewards. As the supply of tokens increases, the value of any individual token decreases. All else being equal, this means that you would have to spend more tokens to buy a particular thing.

With deflationary cryptocurrencies, the supply of coins decreases over time. This means the value of each coin should rise as long as demand for them stays consistent. Take Ethereum. Its native token ether remains an inflationary coin. However, an update in 2021 resulted in some ethers being destroyed when network activity rises. After Ethereum makes the transition to proof-of-stake consensus, it is expected to be non-inflationary or even deflationary in the future.

Is bitcoin deflationary or inflationary?

Bitcoin is currently inflationary. The total supply of bitcoin increases as more of it is mined. Every four years, the rate at which new bitcoin is issued is reduced by half. In addition, the supply of bitcoin is hard-capped at 21 million. However, according to the current algorithm, this threshold won’t be reached until the year 2140.

Is bitcoin inflation proof?

Over the past year, bitcoin hasn’t really acted as an inflation hedge, according to a report by Bank of America.2 In recent months, bitcoin returns have become more correlated with those of broad stock market indexes. This means that when markets tumble, the price of bitcoin tends to fall too. For example, after the Fed indicated that it would raise interest rates in early May, bitcoin plummeted in value alongside stocks. Bitcoin has been compared to gold, which is generally seen as an inflation hedge. However, the correlation between bitcoin and gold has been close to zero since June, meaning bitcoin’s price hasn’t moved together with the gold price.3

How does inflation in fiat money affect cryptocurrencies?

A high inflation rate for fiat currencies might lead people to invest more in crypto, because the Canadian dollars or U.S. dollars in their savings accounts are losing value over time. Meanwhile, certain cryptocurrencies like bitcoin or ether may have relatively lower monetary inflation rates. Unlike fiat currencies, the monetary inflation of bitcoin is algorithmically predetermined. The hard-cap supply limit of bitcoin also makes it predictably scarce.

What happens to bitcoin after all 21 million tokens are mined?

According to the current algorithm, no new bitcoin will be created thereafter. Bitcoin miners may continue to have incentive to mine blocks, as they will still get to collect transaction fees.

What happens to the value of bitcoin in a recession?

Bitcoin prices initially fell moderately during the COVID-19-induced stock market downturn that began in February 2020 and lasted through April. However, starting in October of that year, bitcoin prices started to rise dramatically and eventually shot to an all-time high.4 Investors started taking the largest cryptocurrency by market capitalization seriously.

But if analysts are right, and the U.S. economy is bound to go into another recession as early as next year, the cryptocurrency market could see a very different outcome this time. Because of bitcoin’s recent strong correlation to U.S. stocks, the largest cryptocurrency’s performance will likely depend on what broader markets do, according to some analysts.5

Bottom line

Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies have been touted as a hedge or safeguard against inflation. But in recent years, bitcoin has started move in tandem with other major asset classes such as stocks. When central banks and governments take action to combat inflation, most assets are adversely affected and can lose their value, and of late many cryptocurrencies have been no exception. That said, some cryptocurrencies, like bitcoin, have attributes that should make them more immune to inflation over the long term, including scarcity, ease of transfer and immunity from direct influence by governments. Cryptocurrencies can provide diversification to your investment portfolio, but it’s important to avoid owning too much of any particular asset class.




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

La hausse de l’inflation et son impact sur le bitcoin

Si vous suivez l’actualité, vous savez que l’inflation record fait les gros titres en ce moment. Chaque mois, en effet, les prix montent en flèche. Mais comment les cryptomonnaies y réagissent-elles? Certains investisseurs considèrent certaines cryptomonnaies comme une protection contre l’inflation, semblable à celle offerte par l’or. D’autres voient les cryptomonnaies comme des actifs à plus haut risque dont la volatilité des prix les rend peu attrayantes en période économique difficile. Nous tentons ici de répondre à certaines des questions les plus courantes concernant les cryptomonnaies et l’inflation.

Quel est l’impact de l’inflation sur le bitcoin?

Le bitcoin est la cryptomonnaie la plus importante en termes de capitalisation boursière et sans doute la plus connue. Face à la montée de l’inflation, la Réserve fédérale américaine (la Fed) et d’autres grandes banques centrales pourraient être enclines à continuer de relever les taux d’intérêt ou à resserrer leur politique monétaire pour ralentir la hausse des prix, ce qui pourrait faire baisser le prix de bien des catégories d’actif, dont les cryptomonnaies.1

L’inflation touche-t-elle les cryptomonnaies?

Oui, les cryptomonnaies peuvent connaître une inflation. Les différentes cryptomonnaies ont leur propre politique monétaire et peuvent donc être assujetties à des taux d’inflation monétaire distincts. Une « cryptomonnaie stable » est un type de cryptomonnaie qui cherche à ancrer sa valeur à une monnaie fiduciaire; sa valeur est donc directement affectée par l’inflation monétaire de la monnaie fiduciaire à laquelle elle est ancrée.

Une cryptomonnaie est inflationniste lorsque son offre augmente au fil du temps. De nouveaux jetons peuvent être introduits dans le système par le biais des activités de minage et de jalonnement. À mesure que l’offre de jetons augmente, leur valeur unitaire diminue. Toutes choses égales par ailleurs, vous auriez donc à dépenser davantage de jetons pour faire un même achat.

Dans le cas d’une cryptomonnaie déflationniste, l’offre de jetons diminue dans le temps. La valeur de chaque jeton devrait donc augmenter tant que la demande demeure constante. Prenons l’exemple d’Ethereum. Son jeton natif, l’ether, reste une monnaie inflationniste. Toutefois, une mise à jour en 2021 a entraîné la destruction de certains ethers lorsque l’activité du réseau s’est intensifiée. Après la transition de l’Ethereum vers le consensus fondé sur la preuve d’enjeu, la cryptomonnaie devrait être non inflationniste, voire déflationniste, par la suite.

Le bitcoin est-il déflationniste ou inflationniste?

Le bitcoin est actuellement inflationniste. L’offre totale de bitcoins augmente à mesure qu’on en mine. Or le taux d’émission de nouveaux bitcoins est réduit de moitié tous les quatre ans. Par ailleurs, l’offre de bitcoins est plafonnée à 21 millions. Toutefois, selon l’algorithme actuel, ce seuil ne sera atteint qu’en 2140.

Le bitcoin est-il à l’abri de l’inflation?

Au cours de la dernière année, le bitcoin n’a pas vraiment servi de protection contre l’inflation, selon un rapport de la Bank of America.2 Depuis quelques mois, on note une corrélation grandissante entre le rendement du bitcoin et celui des indices boursiers généraux. Ainsi, lorsque les marchés s’effondrent, le prix du bitcoin a tendance à chuter à son tour. Par exemple, après l’annonce par la Fed d’un relèvement des taux d’intérêt début mai, la valeur du bitcoin a plongé comme celle des actions. Le bitcoin a été comparé à l’or, qui est généralement considéré comme une couverture contre l’inflation. Toutefois, la corrélation entre le bitcoin et l’or est presque nulle depuis juin, ce qui signifie que l’évolution du prix du bitcoin n’a pas suivi celle du cours de l’or.3

Quel est l’impact de l’inflation des monnaies fiduciaires sur les cryptomonnaies?

Un taux d’inflation élevé pour les monnaies fiduciaires pourrait inciter les gens à investir davantage dans les cryptomonnaies, car ils voient leurs dollars canadiens ou américains perdre de la valeur dans leur compte d’épargne au fil du temps. Par ailleurs, certaines cryptomonnaies comme le bitcoin ou l’ether peuvent afficher un taux d’inflation monétaire relativement faible. Contrairement aux monnaies fiduciaires, l’inflation monétaire du bitcoin est prédéterminée au moyen d’algorithmes. Le plafonnement du nombre de bitcoins limite également son offre de façon prévisible.

Qu’adviendra-t-il du bitcoin après le minage des 21 millions de jetons?

Selon l’algorithme actuel, aucun nouveau bitcoin ne sera créé par la suite. Les mineurs de bitcoins pourraient être incités à continuer miner des blocs puisqu’ils continueront de percevoir des frais de transaction.

Qu’adviendra-t-il de la valeur du bitcoin en période de récession?

Le prix du bitcoin a d’abord reculé modérément pendant le repli du marché boursier imputable à la COVID-19 entre février et avril 2020. Toutefois, à compter d’octobre cette année-là, il a commencé à monter en flèche pour atteindre un sommet historique.4 Les investisseurs ont commencé à prendre au sérieux la plus grande cryptomonnaie en termes de capitalisation boursière.

Cependant, si les analystes ont raison et que l’économie américaine est vouée à retomber en récession dès l’an prochain, le marché des cryptomonnaies pourrait alors connaître une issue très différente. En effet, selon certains analystes, la forte corrélation récente entre le bitcoin et les actions américaines fera en sorte que le rendement de la cryptomonnaie la plus importante dépendra sans doute de l’évolution des marchés en général.5

Conclusion

Le bitcoin et d’autres cryptomonnaies ont été présentés comme une protection, voire un rempart, contre l’inflation. Toutefois, depuis quelques années, le bitcoin commence à évoluer de concert avec d’autres grandes catégories d’actif, comme les actions. Lorsque les banques centrales et les gouvernements prennent des mesures pour lutter contre l’inflation, la plupart des actifs sont mis à mal et peuvent perdre de leur valeur. De nombreuses cryptomonnaies ne font pas exception à la règle depuis quelque temps. Cela dit, certaines cryptomonnaies (dont le bitcoin) présentent des caractéristiques, notamment leur rareté, leur facilité de transfert et leur protection contre l’influence directe des gouvernements, qui devraient les tenir davantage à l’abri de l’inflation à long terme. Les cryptomonnaies peuvent apporter une diversification à votre portefeuille de placements, mais il est important d’éviter de détenir une trop grande part d’une catégorie d’actifs donnée.




Content is loading, please wait