Skip to content

Top 10 Questions on Crypto

Wondering where to start? We know the ever-expanding world of cryptocurrency can seem impossible to navigate for many investors. Fidelity’s Meghan Chen and Vivian Hsu provide their answers to commonly asked questions to help guide you on your way.

 

1: How many cryptocurrencies are there? 

There are currently thousands of cryptocurrencies in existence. Many of these have only a very small following, while some, like bitcoin and ether,1 have a large number of users and investors.

 

2: Who created Bitcoin? And when was it launched?

Bitcoin was first described in a white paper released in 2008 and published under the name “Satoshi Nakamoto.” The protocol underlying Bitcoin was released in 2009 as open source software2. The Bitcoin network is a worldwide network of computers that run Bitcoin software.

 

3: How would you explain Bitcoin and blockchain to someone who is hearing about them for the first time?

Bitcoin is a digital asset that can be transferred among participants on the Bitcoin network on a peer-to-peer basis. The Bitcoin blockchain is a ledger of bitcoin transactions that takes the form of a chain of blocks. Each block contains a collection of bitcoin transactions. Copies of the Bitcoin blockchain exist on thousands of computers across the Bitcoin network.

 

4: What is bitcoin mining?

Bitcoin mining is the mechanism by which participants on the Bitcoin network reach consensus regarding the next block of transactions to add to the Bitcoin blockchain. For each new block, certain people called “miners” race with one another to find a solution to a cryptographic puzzle. The first miner to find a solution gets to propose the new block of transactions to the entire network. As a reward, the winning miner of the block gets newly created bitcoin. Thus, mining is also the process by which new bitcoin are introduced into the system.

 

5: What is the main difference between bitcoin and NFTs?

Non-fungible tokens (NFTs) are blockchain tokens that are not in general mutually interchangeable. In contrast, bitcoin is a fungible token, meaning that one bitcoin can be readily exchanged for another bitcoin, much in the same way one Canadian dollar can be exchanged for another Canadian dollar.

 

6: Who controls Bitcoin’s software?

Bitcoin is an open source project, with no official entity controlling the Bitcoin network. Anyone can review Bitcoin’s code and propose changes. There are many compatible versions of Bitcoin network software, but a distribution of the software known as “Bitcoin Core” is currently the most widely adopted and provides the de facto standard for the Bitcoin protocol.

 

7: Where can investors buy bitcoin?

Examples of ways investors can buy bitcoin include going on a cryptocurrency trading platform or buying a bitcoin ETF. There are pros and cons to each method of access. For example, bitcoin ETFs have the advantage of being able to be held in a registered account (e.g., TFSA or RRSP). However, while investors can buy and sell bitcoin 24/7 on a cryptocurrency trading platform, investors can only trade bitcoin ETFs during regular market hours.

 

8: Are cryptocurrencies taxable in Canada?

The CRA generally treats cryptocurrency like a commodity for purposes of the Income Tax Act. Any income from transactions involving cryptocurrency is generally treated as business income or as a capital gain, depending on the circumstances. Similarly, if earnings qualify as business income or as a capital gain, then any losses are treated as business losses or capital losses.

 

9: Is cryptocurrency traceable?

Transactions on public blockchains like Bitcoin, although pseudonymous, are transparent and publicly viewable. Anyone can see all transactions linked to any address on the Bitcoin blockchain.

 

10: What is a crypto wallet?

Crypto wallets store private keys, the passwords that give you access to your cryptocurrencies. Crypto wallets can be either “hot wallets,” meaning they are connected to the Internet, or “cold wallets,” meaning they are offline. Hot wallets are generally more susceptible to being hacked than cold wallets, so the best practice is to use a cold wallet for the long-term storage of cryptocurrencies.

Promo Card image

Want to learn more about cryptocurrency funds? Check out the following funds from Fidelity:

Fidelity Advantage Bitcoin ETF™

Fidelity Advantage Bitcoin ETF Fund™

A safe and smart alternative

Fidelity Advantage Bitcoin ETF™ (the “ETF”) offers secure storage of bitcoin. The ETF allows you to gain exposure to bitcoin and aims to diversify your portfolio with the world’s largest cryptocurrency. Plus, it is RRSP- and TFSA-eligible.




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

Les dix questions les plus courantes sur les cryptomonnaies

Vous demandez-vous par où commencer? Nous savons que pour de nombreux investisseurs, il peut sembler impossible de s’y retrouver dans le monde en constante évolution des cryptomonnaies. Meghan Chen et Vivian Hsu de Fidelity vous guident en répondant aux questions les plus fréquentes.

 

1 : Combien existe-t-il de cryptomonnaies?

Il existe actuellement des milliers de cryptomonnaies. Beaucoup n’ont que très peu d’adeptes, tandis que d’autres, comme le bitcoin ou l’ether,1 comptent un grand nombre d’utilisateurs et d’investisseurs.

 

2 : Qui a créé le bitcoin? Et quand a-t-il été lancé?

Le bitcoin a été décrit pour la première fois dans un livre blanc publié en 2008 et signé « Satoshi Nakamoto ». Le protocole qui sous-tend le bitcoin a été publié en 2009 sous forme de logiciel à code source ouvert2. Le réseau Bitcoin est un réseau mondial d’ordinateurs qui exécutent des logiciels Bitcoin.

 

3 : Comment expliqueriez-vous le bitcoin et la chaîne de blocs à quelqu’un qui en entend parler pour la première fois?

Le bitcoin est un actif numérique qui peut être transféré entre pairs sur le réseau Bitcoin. La chaîne de blocs Bitcoin est un registre de transactions de bitcoins où chaque bloc contient une série de ces transactions. Il existe des copies de la chaîne de blocs de bitcoins sur des milliers d’ordinateurs du réseau Bitcoin.

 

4 : Qu’est-ce que le minage de bitcoins?

Le minage de bitcoins est le mécanisme par lequel les participants au réseau Bitcoin parviennent à un consensus concernant le prochain bloc de transactions à ajouter à la chaîne de blocs Bitcoin. Pour chaque nouveau bloc, des personnes, appelées « mineurs », s’affrontent pour trouver une solution à un problème cryptographique. Le premier mineur à trouver une solution propose le nouveau bloc de transactions à l’ensemble du réseau. Comme récompense, le mineur gagnant du bloc obtient le bitcoin nouvellement créé. Ainsi, le minage est également le processus par lequel de nouveaux bitcoins sont introduits dans le système.

 

5 : Quelle est la principale différence entre un bitcoin et un JNF?

Les jetons non fongibles (JNF) sont des jetons de la chaîne de blocs qui ne sont en général pas mutuellement interchangeables. En revanche, le bitcoin est un jeton fongible, ce qui signifie qu’un bitcoin peut facilement être échangé contre un autre bitcoin, tout comme un dollar canadien peut être échangé contre un autre dollar canadien.

 

6 : Qui contrôle le logiciel de Bitcoin?

Le logiciel de Bitcoin est un projet à code source ouvert, aucune entité officielle ne contrôle le réseau Bitcoin. N’importe qui peut examiner le code du Bitcoin et y proposer des changements. Il existe de nombreuses versions compatibles du logiciel de réseau Bitcoin, mais une distribution du logiciel connu sous le nom de « Bitcoin Core » est actuellement la plus largement utilisée et fournit la norme de facto pour le protocole Bitcoin.

 

7 : Où les investisseurs peuvent-ils acheter des bitcoins?

Les investisseurs peuvent notamment acheter des bitcoins sur les plateformes de négociation de cryptomonnaies ou acheter un FNB Bitcoin. Chacune de ces méthodes comporte des avantages et des inconvénients. Les FNB Bitcoin ont l’avantage de pouvoir être détenus dans un compte enregistré (p. ex., un CELI ou un REER). Cependant, les bitcoins détenus dans un FNB Bitcoin ne peuvent être négociés que pendant les heures de marché régulières, tandis que sur une plateforme de négociation de cryptomonnaies, les investisseurs peuvent acheter et vendre des bitcoins jour et nuit, sept jours sur sept.

 

8 : Les cryptomonnaies sont-elles imposables au Canada?

De façon générale, l’ARC considère la cryptomonnaie comme une marchandise aux fins de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Tout revenu tiré d’opérations impliquant une cryptomonnaie est généralement traité comme un revenu d’entreprise ou un gain en capital, selon les circonstances. De même, si les gains sont considérés comme un revenu d’entreprise ou un gain en capital, les pertes sont traitées comme des pertes d’entreprise ou des pertes en capital.

 

9 : La cryptomonnaie est-elle retraçable?

Les transactions sur les chaînes de blocs publiques comme le Bitcoin, bien qu’effectuées sous pseudonymes, sont transparentes et visibles publiquement. N’importe qui peut voir toutes les transactions liées à n’importe quelle adresse sur la chaîne de blocs Bitcoin.

 

10 : Qu’est-ce qu’un portefeuille de cryptomonnaies?

Les portefeuilles de cryptomonnaies stockent les clés privées, c’est-à-dire les mots de passe qui vous donnent accès à vos cryptomonnaies. Les portefeuilles de cryptomonnaies peuvent être soit des « portefeuilles chauds », ce qui signifie qu’ils sont connectés à Internet, soit des « portefeuilles froids », ce qui signifie qu’ils sont hors ligne. De façon générale, les portefeuilles chauds sont plus susceptibles d’être piratés que les portefeuilles froids, la meilleure pratique est donc d’utiliser un portefeuille froid pour le stockage à long terme des cryptomonnaies.

Promo Card image

Vous désirez en savoir davantage sur les fonds de cryptomonnaies? Considérez les Fonds Fidelity suivants :

FNB Fidelity Avantage BitcoinMC

Fonds Fidelity FNB Avantage BitcoinMC

Une alternative sûre et sensée

Le FNB Fidelity Avantage BitcoinMC (le « FNB ») offre un stockage sécurisé du bitcoin. Il permet d’obtenir une exposition au bitcoin et de diversifier votre portefeuille au moyen de la cryptomonnaie la plus répandue dans le monde. De plus, il est admissible au REER et au CELI.




Content is loading, please wait