Skip to content

Build strong financial foundations to guarantee no future debt problems

Author: Due

Source: ReadWrite

In order to design, build, and live the life you desire, you need financial security and stability as a foundation. As a matter of fact, building a financial plan is similar to building a house. To hold up your needs throughout your lifetime, they both require a strong foundation.

So, going back to comparing a low-income but financially healthy individual to a six-figure person squandering their money. You could build a structural sound home designed to withstand the elements. Even though it might not be the biggest or more luxurious home in the neighborhood, its foundation is much stronger and more durable than the McMansion comprised of cheap materials.

Overall, having a solid financial foundation provides a sense of financial freedom. How? Because it can help you stop living paycheck to paycheck and eliminate debt. From there, you begin accumulating wealth so that you can actually achieve your goals, like being able to quit your dead-end job or retire comfortably.

While this may sound daunting, building a solid financial foundation can be broken down into smaller building blocks. Doing so makes this process more manageable.

Moreover, establishing a solid financial foundation requires time. It’s also important to build a financial foundation that provides for you now while ensuring you can achieve your future goals. That requires being thoughtful and responsible with your daily spending habits.

With all that being said, here’s how you can your foundations in personal finance.

Get to know your current spending habits.

To begin with, you need to understand your current financial situation. Examine your bank account and credit card statements to see what purchases you’ve made in the past few months. Next, group them into the following three buckets;

50% goes to needs.

This includes bills, groceries, transportation, housing, minimum debt payments, work clothes, and other necessities.

30% on discretionary expenses.

Expenses for entertainment, clothing, dining out, and personal care should not exceed 30 percent of your income each month. Depending on your situation, you might decide to cut these expenses first if you spend more than you earn.

20% goes to “Future You.”

Investing, saving, and paying off debt over and above the minimums are included in this category.

You should also add voluntary withholdings to your list based on your recent pay stubs. Also, insurance premiums are needs, while any RRSP contributions you make go in the “Future You” bucket. The rest of your withholdings are at your discretion. For example, you might withhold your public transit benefit, and you might also cancel your gym membership.

Finally, add up all the numbers. What is your monthly spending on each bucket? It doesn’t matter what the answer is, so don’t beat yourself up. This exercise isn’t supposed to make you feel bad. Instead, it’s designed to provide you with some perspective on your finances.

Also, you don’t have to follow the approximately named 50/30/20 to a tee. In fact, there are several other variations, such as 60/20/20, 70/20/10, or 80/20 you can try. The jest here is that you need to compare your income with your expenses so that you can budget accordingly.

Identify and plug spending leaks.

Continuing with the last point, compare how much you spend with how much you earn. Why is this important?

The first reason is if you spend more than you earn, you can start looking for ways to correct the situation. Maybe you might temporarily need to limit your spending to just the essentials. It may also mean making more conscious decisions like skipping your daily latte in favor of homebrew or reducing your ATM usage.

Alternatively, you might want to consider ways to supplement your income. Some suggestions would be asking for a raise, searching for a better-paying job, or picking up a side hustle.

Second, you’ll know exactly how much leftover you have at the end of each month once you’re spending less than you earn. These are the funds you’ll use to complete the building blocks.

As for now, you’ve pretty much-accomplished everything you need to do to create a written budget. Maintaining a monthly budget is a surefire way to make sure that your money is being used as you intend.

Save and stash any “extra” money.

Are you expecting a tax refund or salary increase? Set that money aside. And, whenever you get a raise, don’t go overboard with your spending. Put the extra money in your savings account.

The same holds true when you pay off a debt. As an example, suppose you paid $50 a month on a credit card and it’s finally paid off. Take that $50 and deposit it in a savings account.

Accessibility.

Emergency situations are something you can’t anticipate, so you want to have access to your money, but it shouldn’t be too easy to access. You should open a new account specifically to handle emergency situations. Simply designating money in your checking account can tempt you to take money out of it impulsively.

Safety.

Make it a point to safeguard your money. A stock market investment, with all its ups and downs, does not provide any guarantee that the money will be there when needed. Keeping it somewhere stable, where it has no depreciation risk, is the best choice.

Profitability.

It’s important that your money doesn’t sit idle. The cost of living expenses for three to six months can add up to a substantial amount of money. Avoid the “under-the-mattress” strategy and instead invest in an account that offers a good rate of return.

By looking at these three items, traditional bank savings accounts are not a good match. While they’re accessible and safe, you won’t earn anything on your deposits. You might be better off storing your cash with an alternative, like a money market account that yields high-interest rates.

Also, establish recurring transfers from your paycheck to special savings accounts to make saving easier.

Eliminate debts that drag down your financial health.

Credit card debt is a type of “bad debt”, since it does not allow you to build assets. Rather, it is just money you must repay with interest.

“Getting rid of any debt with no corresponding asset is essential to financial success because it naturally increases your net worth and frees you up from cumbersome payments,” notes Katie Brewer, CFP® and founder of financial coaching service Your Richest Life.

Get organized.

List all the debts you need to pay off in one location. The source of the debt, the amount owed, and the interest rate should be noted.

Pick a payment plan.

Making debt freedom a reality may require you to make some changes to your lifestyle and budget. “You can either prioritize [debt repayment] by interest rate and pay off the ones with the highest interest rate first, or prioritize it by smallest balance to largest balance and pay off the smallest balance first to get the momentum going,” Brewer says.

Take a break from your credit cards.

Taking a break from your credit cards could be a good idea if you find it difficult to pay off credit card balances. Brewer recommends setting aside cash in an envelope or using a debit card.

Get your feet wet with investing.

Over time, you can build wealth by investing in the stock market. Investing over the course of decades is by no means a get-rich-quick scheme, but it can create a valuable portfolio if done consistently.

Make sure you create your own investment strategy and investment policy statement before you invest in the market. The long-term goals in your strategy should drive your policy statement, which serves as a guide during market upheavals. There is a good chance that your stock market portfolio will fluctuate, so you need to be prepared for those peaks and valleys. When the market is volatile, avoid panic selling to avoid some possible disasters. Do not sell until your policy statement permits you to do so; stick to your investment plan.

Protect your assets and income.

The most valuable resource you possess is your earning potential. In your twenties and thirties, disability and death might be the last things on your mind. However, it’s during those times that you should take the most precautions to ensure you will not lose your lifetime earnings to your family.

As such, take the following steps to ensure these policies are in place for you. 

  • Disability insurance. Over your working years, you are three and a half times more likely of getting injured or become disabled due to illness than of dying. In the event of an accident or becoming unable to work, disability insurance can help make sure you can maintain your standard of living.
  • Life insurance. When you die prematurely, your survivors are protected by life insurance. In addition to a death benefit, permanent life insurance policies accumulate cash value over time. Eventually, you could access that money for an unexpected house repair or college expenses. You can also use the cash value in retirement if you no longer need the full death benefit.
  • Property/casualty insurance. The property/casualty insurance protects you in case you cause an accident that results in injury or damage to another person or their property. It will also protect you if someone without insurance or inadequate insurance injures you.
  • Estate plan. Creating or updating an estate plan, which is a document that outlines how your possessions will be handled after you die. Among the features of an estate plan are naming your heirs, dividing up your assets, creating a trust, and assigning guardians to minor children.
  • Balance your portfolio. As you diversify your portfolio, the less risky it becomes; if any one type of asset proves to be underperforming, there will be plenty of other assets to compensate for it. 

Frequently Asked Questions About Personal Finance Foundations

1. What is personal finance?

Personal finance is all about managing your short- and long-term financial affairs. In addition to the products and services that are designed to help individuals manage their finances, the term also refers to an entire industry.

2. Why is personal finance important?

You cannot manage your financial needs on a day-to-day basis without a personal finance plan. When you have a good grasp of personal finance, you will have a better chance of investing and planning for retirement in the long run.

If you understand personal finance, you are better prepared to create a plan for improving your finances. Having this understanding will help you budget based on current needs while planning for the future.

3. Is your emergency fund sufficient?

Keep three to six months’ worth of living expenses in your emergency fund, as recommended by experts. Emergency funds will vary depending on factors such as; 

  • Your lifestyle
  • Your area’s cost of living
  • The income you earn and the security of your job over time
  • Job opportunities in your field
  • Affordability of your health insurance 

For example, if your monthly living expenses are roughly $4000, your emergency fund should consist of $12,000 to $24,000.

4. What’s your net worth?

The cash surplus (or deficit) you have in your bank account each month serves as a measure of what direction your financial health is heading in the short term. Your net worth offers a broader view of your financial standing.

If you have student loans, credit card balances, or other such debt, keep track of your RRSP balance, home equity, and assets and reduce them accordingly.

5. Are you ever done saving?

Simply put, no.

Periodic expenditures such as routine vehicle and home maintenance, vacations, and special occasion gifts should be covered by your savings account.

Also, you should have regular savings to cover acute emergencies, such as paying off a credit card debt or replacing your car’s tires. You can’t always predict when these things will occur, so you should still plan for them because they won’t be true emergencies.

 

This article was written by Due from ReadWrite and was legally licensed through the Industry Dive Content Marketplace. Please direct all licensing questions to legal@industrydive.com.

 




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

Bâtir des bases financières solides pour éviter de futurs problèmes d’endettement

Rédigé par : Due

Source : ReadWrite

Pour concevoir, construire et vivre la vie que vous souhaitez, vous avez besoin de sécurité financière et de stabilité comme base. En fait, l’élaboration d’un plan financier ressemble à la construction d’une maison. Pour répondre à vos besoins tout au long de votre vie, il faut des bases solides.

Revenons donc à la comparaison entre un particulier à faible revenu, mais en bonne santé financière, et une personne qui gagne un revenu à six chiffres qui gaspille son argent. Vous pourriez construire une maison structurellement solide conçue pour résister aux éléments. Même s’il ne s’agit peut-être pas de la maison la plus grande ou la plus luxueuse du quartier, ses fondations sont beaucoup plus solides et durables que le manoir du coin, composé de matériaux bon marché.

Dans l’ensemble, le fait d’avoir de solides assises financières procure un sentiment de liberté financière. Pourquoi? Parce que cela peut vous aider à ne plus vivre au jour le jour et à éliminer vos dettes. Dès lors, vous commencez à accumuler du patrimoine afin d’atteindre vos objectifs, comme quitter votre emploi sans avenir ou prendre une retraite confortable.

Même si cela peut sembler intimidant, l’établissement d’une base financière solide peut être divisé en plus petites composantes, le rendant ainsi plus facile à gérer.

De plus, il faut du temps pour établir des assises financières solides. Il est également important de bâtir une assise financière qui vous permet de subvenir à vos besoins tout en vous assurant de pouvoir atteindre vos objectifs futurs. Pour ce faire, vous devez faire preuve de réflexion et de discipline à l’égard de vos habitudes de dépenses quotidiennes.

Cela dit, voici comment vous pouvez établir vos bases en matière de finances personnelles.

Apprenez à connaître vos habitudes de dépenses actuelles

Pour commencer, vous devez comprendre votre situation financière actuelle. Examinez vos relevés de compte bancaire et de carte de crédit pour voir les achats que vous avez effectués au cours des derniers mois. Ensuite, regroupez-les dans les trois catégories suivantes :

50 % pour les dépenses de base

Cela comprend les factures, l’épicerie, le transport, le logement, le remboursement minimal de la dette, les vêtements de travail et d’autres articles de première nécessité.

30 % pour les dépenses discrétionnaires

Les dépenses liées au divertissement, aux vêtements, aux sorties au restaurant et aux soins personnels ne devraient pas dépasser 30 % de votre revenu mensuel. En fonction de votre situation, vous pourriez décider de réduire ces dépenses en premier si vous dépensez plus que ce que vous gagnez.

20 % vont « au futur »

Cette catégorie comprend les placements, l’épargne et le remboursement des dettes en sus des montants minimaux.

Vous devriez également ajouter des retenues volontaires à votre liste en fonction de vos récents bulletins de paie. De plus, les primes d’assurance sont des besoins, tandis que les cotisations au REER vont dans la catégorie « au futur ». Les autres retenues sont à votre discrétion. Par exemple, vous pourriez retenir vos prestations de transport en commun et annuler votre adhésion à un centre de conditionnement physique.

Enfin, additionnez tous les chiffres. Quelles sont vos dépenses mensuelles pour chaque catégorie? Peu importe la réponse, ne vous culpabilisez pas. Cet exercice n’est pas censé vous faire sentir mal. Il vise plutôt à vous donner une idée de vos finances.

De plus, vous n’êtes pas obligé de suivre à la lettre le schéma 50/30/20. En fait, il existe plusieurs autres variantes que vous pouvez essayer comme le schéma 60/20/20, le 70/20/10 ou le 80/20. L’idée est que vous devez comparer votre revenu à vos dépenses afin de pouvoir établir un budget en conséquence.

Repérez les fuites d’argent et enrayez-les

Pour poursuivre avec le dernier point, comparez vos dépenses à vos gains. Pourquoi est-ce important?

La première raison est que si vous dépensez plus que ce que vous gagnez, vous pouvez commencer à chercher des moyens de remédier à la situation. Vous pourriez avoir besoin de limiter temporairement vos dépenses à l’essentiel. Cela peut aussi signifier de prendre des décisions plus conscientes, comme sauter votre café latté quotidien au profit du café maison ou réduire votre utilisation des guichets automatiques.

Vous pourriez aussi envisager des moyens de compléter votre revenu. Certaines suggestions consisteraient à demander une hausse de salaire, à chercher un emploi mieux rémunéré ou à vous lancer dans une activité complémentaire.

Deuxièmement, vous saurez exactement combien il vous reste à la fin de chaque mois lorsque vous dépensez moins que ce que vous gagnez. Ce sont les fonds que vous utiliserez pour compléter les composantes de base.

Pour l’instant, vous avez accompli à peu près tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour établir un budget par écrit. Le maintien d’un budget mensuel est un moyen sûr de s’assurer que votre argent est utilisé comme vous le souhaitez.

Épargnez et mettez de côté tout « surplus » d’argent

Prévoyez-vous un remboursement d’impôt ou une augmentation de salaire? Mettez cet argent de côté. Et, chaque fois que vous obtenez une augmentation, ne faites pas d’excès dans vos dépenses. Mettez le surplus d’argent dans votre compte d’épargne.

Il en va de même lorsque vous remboursez une dette. Par exemple, supposons que vous ayez payé 50 $ par mois sur une carte de crédit et que celle-ci soit finalement remboursée. Prenez ces 50 $ et déposez-les dans un compte d’épargne.

Accessibilité

Les situations d’urgence sont imprévisibles. Vous voulez donc avoir accès à votre argent, mais il ne devrait pas être trop facile d’y accéder. Vous devriez ouvrir un nouveau compte spécialement pour gérer les situations d’urgence. Le simple fait de désigner des fonds dans votre compte-chèques peut vous inciter à en retirer de l’argent de façon impulsive.

Sécurité

Assurez-vous de protéger votre argent. Un investissement boursier, avec ses hauts et ses bas, n’offre aucune garantie que l’argent sera là en cas de besoin. Le meilleur choix est de le garder dans un placement stable, sans risque de dépréciation.

Rentabilité

Il est important que votre argent ne reste pas inactif. Le coût de la vie pendant trois à six mois peut représenter une somme importante. Ne cachez pas votre argent sous le matelas, et investissez plutôt dans un compte qui offre un bon taux de rendement.

Si l’on considère ces trois critères, on constate que les comptes d’épargne bancaires traditionnels ne constituent pas une bonne solution. Même s’ils sont accessibles et sécuritaires, vous ne gagnerez rien sur vos dépôts. Vous auriez peut-être intérêt à conserver vos liquidités avec une solution de rechange, comme un compte du marché monétaire qui procure des taux d’intérêt élevés.

De plus, établissez des transferts récurrents de votre paie vers des comptes d’épargne spéciaux pour faciliter l’épargne.

Éliminez les dettes qui nuisent à votre santé financière

La dette de carte de crédit est un type de « mauvaise dette », car elle ne vous permet pas de constituer des actifs. Il s’agit plutôt d’argent que vous devez rembourser avec des intérêts.

« Se débarrasser de toute dette sans actif correspondant est essentiel à la réussite financière, car cela augmente naturellement votre valeur nette et vous libère des paiements fastidieux », souligne Katie Brewer, CFPMD et fondatrice du service d’encadrement financier Your Richest Life.

Soyez organisé

Dressez la liste de toutes les dettes que vous devez rembourser à un seul endroit. La source de la dette, le montant dû et le taux d’intérêt doivent être indiqués.

Choisissez un régime de paiement

Pour vous libérer concrètement de l’endettement, vous devrez peut-être modifier votre mode de vie et votre budget. « Vous pouvez soit accorder la priorité au [remboursement de la dette] en fonction du taux d’intérêt et rembourser d’abord celles dont le taux d’intérêt est le plus élevé, soit accorder la priorité au plus petit solde et payer d’abord le plus petit solde afin de poursuivre sur la lancée », affirme Mme Brewer.

Arrêtez d’utiliser vos cartes de crédit pour un moment

Le fait d’arrêter d’utiliser vos cartes de crédit pour un moment pourrait être une bonne idée si vous avez de la difficulté à rembourser vos soldes de cartes de crédit. Mme Brewer recommande de mettre de l’argent de côté dans une enveloppe ou d’utiliser une carte de débit.

Faites vos premiers pas en placement

Au fil du temps, vous pouvez accroître votre patrimoine en investissant sur le marché boursier. Investir au fil des décennies n’est pas un stratagème d’investissement rapide, mais il peut créer un portefeuille de valeur s’il est effectué de façon constante.

Assurez-vous de créer votre propre stratégie de placement et énoncé de politique de placement avant d’investir sur le marché. Les objectifs à long terme de votre stratégie devraient guider votre énoncé de politique, qui sert de guide lors des perturbations sur le marché. Il y a de bonnes chances que votre portefeuille boursier fluctue; vous devez donc vous préparer à ces pics et à ces creux. Lorsque le marché est volatil, évitez les ventes sous le coup de la panique pour éviter d’éventuelles catastrophes. Ne vendez pas tant que votre énoncé de politique ne vous le permet pas; respectez votre stratégie de placement.

Protégez vos actifs et votre revenu

La ressource la plus précieuse que vous possédez est votre potentiel de gains. Dans votre vingtaine et votre trentaine, l’invalidité et le décès pourraient être les dernières choses auxquelles vous pensez. Toutefois, c’est durant ces périodes que vous devriez prendre les précautions les plus importantes pour ne pas perdre le revenu que vous aurez accumulé tout le long de votre vie au profit de votre famille.

Par conséquent, prenez les mesures suivantes pour vous assurer que ces politiques sont en place. 

  • Assurance invalidité. Au cours de vos années de travail, vous êtes trois fois et demie plus susceptible d’être blessé ou d’être invalide en raison d’une maladie que de mourir. En cas d’accident ou d’incapacité à travailler, l’assurance invalidité peut vous aider à maintenir votre niveau de vie.
  • Assurance vie. Lorsque vous décédez prématurément, vos survivants sont protégés par une assurance vie. En plus de la prestation de décès, les polices d’assurance vie permanente accumulent une valeur de rachat au fil du temps. Éventuellement, vous pourriez avoir accès à cet argent pour payer des réparations imprévues ou des études. Vous pouvez également utiliser la valeur de rachat à la retraite si vous n’avez plus besoin de la pleine prestation de décès.
  • Assurance de dommages. L’assurance de dommages vous protège en cas d’accident entraînant des blessures ou des dommages à une autre personne ou à ses biens. Elle vous protégera également si une personne sans assurance ou ayant une assurance inadéquate vous blesse.
  • Plan successoral. Créez ou mettez à jour votre plan successoral, un document qui décrit comment vos biens seront gérés après votre décès. Parmi les caractéristiques d’un plan successoral, mentionnons la désignation de vos héritiers, la répartition de vos actifs, la création d’une fiducie et l’attribution de tuteurs à des enfants mineurs.
  • Équilibrage du portefeuille. À mesure que vous diversifiez votre portefeuille, le risque diminue; si un type d’actif se révèle moins performant, il y aura beaucoup d’autres actifs pour le compenser. 

Foire aux questions sur les bases en matière de finances personnelles

1. Qu’est-ce que la finance personnelle?

La finance personnelle concerne la gestion de vos affaires financières à court et à long terme. Outre les produits et services conçus pour aider les particuliers à gérer leurs finances, le terme désigne également un secteur en entier.

2. Pourquoi les finances personnelles sont-elles importantes?

Vous ne pouvez pas gérer vos besoins financiers au quotidien sans un plan financier personnel. Lorsque vous aurez une bonne connaissance des finances personnelles, vous aurez de meilleures chances d’investir et de planifier votre retraite à long terme.

Si vous comprenez les finances personnelles, vous êtes mieux préparé à élaborer un plan pour améliorer vos finances. Cette compréhension vous aidera à établir un budget en fonction des besoins actuels tout en planifiant l’avenir.

3. Votre fonds d’urgence est-il suffisant?

Conservez trois à six mois de frais de subsistance dans votre fonds d’urgence, comme le recommandent les experts. Les fonds d’urgence varient en fonction de facteurs comme : 

  • votre mode de vie
  • le coût de la vie dans votre région
  • votre revenu et la sécurité de votre emploi au fil du temps
  • les occasions d’emploi dans votre domaine
  • le coût de votre assurance maladie. 

Par exemple, si vos frais de subsistance mensuels sont d’environ 4 000 $, votre fonds d’urgence devrait être de 12 000 $ à 24 000 $.

4. Quelle est votre valeur nette?

L’excédent de liquidités (ou le déficit) que vous avez dans votre compte bancaire chaque mois est un indicateur de la direction que prend votre santé financière à court terme. Votre valeur nette vous donne une meilleure idée de votre situation financière. Si vous avez des prêts étudiants, des soldes de cartes de crédit ou d’autres dettes de ce genre, faites le suivi de votre solde de REER, de votre avoir net et de vos actifs et réduisez-le en conséquence.

5. Finit-on un jour d’épargner?

En un mot, non.

Les dépenses périodiques, comme l’entretien courant d’un véhicule et d’une maison, les vacances et les cadeaux d’occasion spéciale, devraient être couvertes par votre compte d’épargne.

De plus, vous devriez avoir des économies régulières pour couvrir les urgences graves, comme le remboursement d’une dette de carte de crédit ou le remplacement des pneus de votre voiture. Vous ne pouvez pas toujours prédire quand ces choses se produiront, alors vous devriez quand même les planifier, car elles ne seront pas de véritables urgences.

 

Cet article a été rédigé par Due de ReadWrite et sa publication a été autorisée légalement par le biais de Content Marketplace d’Industry Dive. Pour toute question sur les droits de reproduction, écrivez à legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait