Proxy voting

Shareholders in public companies typically have voting rights associated with their shareholders. These voting rights allow shareholders (including institutions such as Fidelity, acting on behalf of all the mutual funds it manages) to vote at annual and special company meetings. Most shareholders, including the Fidelity Funds, generally submit votes by proxy rather than attend each meeting.

The typical agenda for a company meeting will include more than one proposal, such as the election of directors, adoption of a stock option plan or approval of a merger or acquisition. Proposals are more commonly put forth by the company’s management, but may be submitted by a shareholder as well. The company’s management may provide a voting recommendation for each proposal, and each proposal is evaluated separately by Fidelity in accordance with our Proxy Voting Guidelines.

Voting results

Mutual funds in Canada, including the Fidelity Funds, must display their proxy voting records on their websites by August 31 of each year, covering the 12-month period ending June 30 of that year. Unitholders may also request a copy of the proxy voting record for this same period be delivered to them, at no charge, after August 31 of each year.
 
Please note that we do not provide proxy voting results for certain funds that invest their assets in other Fidelity Funds. When a Fidelity Fund invests in an underlying fund also managed by Fidelity, Fidelity will either abstain from voting those securities of the underlying Fidelity Fund, or will arrange for those securities of the underlying Fidelity Fund to be voted by the beneficial holders of the top Fidelity Fund. When a Fidelity Fund invests in an underlying mutual fund or exchange-traded fund that is not managed by Fidelity, Fidelity will vote in the same proportion as all other security holders of such underlying fund or class (“echo voting”). Fidelity may choose not to vote if “echo voting” is not operationally feasible.

View proxy voting results by selecting a Fidelity Fund

Fidelity’s approach to voting proxies
Effective December 31, 2015, Fidelity replaced FIAM LLC (“FIAM”) as the portfolio adviser to the Fidelity retail mutual funds that are trust funds (the “Trust Funds”). Fidelity has hired Fidelity Management & Research Company to manage the proxy voting on behalf of the Trust Funds (except for the Trust Funds that are subadvised by FIL Limited (“FIL”)), in accordance with the following subadvisor proxy voting guidelines:
  • FIAM Proxy Voting Guidelines (includes FIAM Trust Company)
  • Fidelity (Canada) Asset Management ULC Proxy Voting Guidelines
  • FMR Co., Inc. Proxy Voting Guidelines (includes Fidelity Institutional Money Management, Ltd.)
For the Trust Funds that are subadvised by FIL, FIL manages the proxy voting in accordance with the FIL Proxy Voting Guidelines. Fidelity’s approach to proxy voting decisions is consistent with our approach to investment decisions: we evaluate proposals on economic merit and support those that are reasonably likely to enhance shareholder returns. With the focus on enhancing shareholder returns as the guiding theme, social considerations are generally not emphasized in voting decisions.
 
To the extent that a company’s management is committed and incentivized to maximize shareholder value, we generally vote in favour of management’s proposal. However, adhering to our proxy voting guidelines does in fact sometimes result in our submitting proxy votes that are contrary to the recommendations in every proxy voting season. One example includes our voting against overly dilutive share compensation plans that do not adequately align management and shareholder interests. Fidelity can ultimately voice its opinions on the policies of management through the level of ownership the Fidelity Funds maintain in the individual companies.
 
In addition, Fidelity may choose not to exercise its voting rights at certain company meetings in instances where trading restrictions are placed on voted shares. This situation occurs most often in foreign countries in which voted shares cannot be traded from the time the vote is cast until the day after the meeting.

Guidelines

Glossary

A

Abstain


A decision not to exercise a vote on a particular proxy proposal.
 

Against


A vote to defeat a proxy proposal.
 

Annual meeting


A shareholders’ meeting generally called once a year for shareholders to elect the company’s board of directors and vote on such other proposals as may properly be brought before the meetings. Also known as an AGM (annual general meeting).
 

C

Classified board


A board of directors that is separated into groups, or “classes,” that are generally elected for three-year terms so that only a portion of the directors stands for election each year. This is contrasted with a declassified board, whose directors stand for election every year for one-year terms. Classified boards are harder to dislodge through the shareholder meeting process, because it would take a series of successful contested annual shareholders’ meetings to do so, while a declassified board could be dislodged in a single meeting.
 

Consent


The solicitation by management of shareholder approval of a specified proposal without an in-person meeting. Shareholders signify their support of the proposal by returning executed consent cards to the company.
 

Contest


A contest occurs when a dissident shareholder group circulates its own proxy to shareholders, as an alternative to management’s proxy, seeking shareholder support in electing the dissident’s nominee(s) to the board of directors of the target company in place of management’s nominated directors. Also known as a proxy fight.
 

D

Dilution


The result of a company issuing additional shares of stock into the market or granting stock awards or stock options to employees, thereby reducing or “diluting” the relative ownership level of existing shareholders.
 

E

Employee stock purchase plan


A plan offered by an employer giving employees an opportunity to purchase the company’s stock through payroll deductions.
 

Exchange-traded fund (ETF)


A security that tracks an index and represents a basket of stocks like an index mutual fund, but trades like a stock on an exchange.
 

Exercise price


The price per share that a holder must pay to the issuer to exercise a stock option. The exercise price is usually set at the fair market value of the company’s stock on the date of grant.
 

M

Mix


A combination of an annual and a special meeting.
 

P

Poison pill


An anti-takeover provision triggered by the acquisition of a specified percentage of a company’s outstanding stock. When triggered, the pill causes additional shares to be issued to existing shareholders, excepting the potential acquirer who triggered the pill, thereby diluting the ownership of the potential acquirer and making an acquisition prohibitively expensive.
 

R

Repricing options


Repricing options occurs when a company changes the exercise price of outstanding employee stock options to a new, lower price in line with the current market price of the underlying stock. Companies sometimes reprice options when employee stock options are “under water” or have exercise prices well above the current market price.
 

Restricted stock award


A grant of stock by an employer to an employee in which the employee’s rights to the shares are limited until the shares “vest” and cease to be subject to the restrictions. Typically, the employee may not sell or transfer the shares of stock until they vest – frequently a defined period of time – and forfeits the stock if the employee’s employment terminates before the stock vests.
 

S

Security ID


A unique identifier for a class of security. A security’s security ID will be the CUSIP (Committee on Uniform Securities Identification Procedures) number, when available.
 

Special meeting


A shareholders’ meeting called in order to get shareholder approval of a special voting item such as a merger or acquisition. Also known as an EGM (extraordinary general meeting).
 

Stock option


A contractual right granted by a corporation to purchase a specified number of shares of stock at a specified price during a specified period of time.
 

T

Take no action


A decision not to vote at a meeting because of local market proxy voting rules preventing voted shares from being traded or requiring onerous holdings disclosure due to share re-registration, potentially adversely affecting portfolio management.
 

Total stock options outstanding


The total number of a company’s stock options, including stock options that are vested and unvested, currently held. This is the number of stock options that were granted less the number of stock options previously exercised and any stock options that were cancelled.
 

W

Withhold


A vote against a director or directors when there are not alternative directors to vote for, other than the management’s slate. Relevant only in the case of election of director proposals for which the only vote options are to vote for or to withhold. 

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

768504.2.0

Vote par procuration

Les actionnaires des sociétés ouvertes ont généralement des droits de vote qui leur sont conférés en vertu des actions qu’ils détiennent. Ces droits permettent aux actionnaires (y compris aux institutions comme Fidelity, qui agissent au nom des fonds qu’elles gèrent) de voter aux assemblées, annuelles ou extraordinaires, des sociétés. La plupart des actionnaires, y compris les Fonds Fidelity, votent généralement par procuration plutôt que de participer à toutes les assemblées.

Ordinairement, l’ordre du jour d’une assemblée comporte plusieurs propositions, par exemple, des propositions concernant l’élection des administrateurs, l’adoption d’un régime d’options d’achat d’actions ou l’approbation soit d’une fusion, soit d’une acquisition. Les propositions sont le plus souvent présentées par la direction, mais un actionnaire peut également soumettre une proposition. La direction peut faire une recommandation à l’égard de chaque proposition, et chaque proposition est évaluée séparément par Fidelity conformément à ses directives de vote par procuration. 

Aperçu

Au Canada, les fonds d’investissement, y compris les Fonds Fidelity, sont tenus de présenter sur leur site Web, au plus tard le 31 août pour la période de 12 mois se terminant le 30 juin de la même année, un registre de leurs votes par procuration. Les porteurs de parts peuvent également demander de recevoir une copie du registre pour la même période, sans frais, après le 31 août de chaque année.

Veuillez noter que nous ne fournissons pas les résultats des votes par procuration pour certains fonds qui investissent leur actif dans d’autres Fonds Fidelity. Lorsqu’un Fonds Fidelity investit dans un fonds sous-jacent dont la gestion est également assurée par Fidelity, cette dernière s'abstiendra d'exercer les droits de vote rattachés aux titres du Fonds Fidelity sous-jacent, ou elle prendra des mesures pour que les droits de vote rattachés aux titres du Fonds Fidelity sous-jacent soient exercés par les véritables porteurs des titres du Fonds Fidelity dominant. Lorsqu'un Fonds Fidelity investit dans un fonds commun de placement sous-jacent ou un fonds négocié en bourse dont la gestion n’est pas assurée par Fidelity, Fidelity votera dans les mêmes proportions que tous les autres porteurs de titres d’un tel fonds sous-jacent ou catégorie (« vote écho »). Fidelity pourrait choisir de ne pas voter si le « vote écho » n'est pas possible sur le plan opérationnel. 

Voir les résultats des votes par procuration en choisissant un Fonds Fidelity

Approche de Fidelity en matière de vote par procuration

Le 31 décembre 2015, Fidelity a remplacé FIAM LLC (FIAM) à titre de conseiller en valeurs des fonds communs de placement destinés aux particuliers de Fidelity qui sont des fonds en fiducie (les « fonds en fiducie »). Fidelity a embauché Fidelity Management & Research Company pour gérer le vote par procuration au nom des fonds en fiducie (à l’exception des fonds en fiducie et des FNB pour lesquels FIL Limited (FIL) ou Geode Capital Management LLC (Geode) agit en qualité de sous-conseiller), conformément aux directives de vote par procuration des sous-conseillers présentées ci-après :

  • Directives de vote par procuration de FIAM (comprend FIAM Trust Company)
  • Directives de vote par procuration de Fidelity Gestion d’actifs (Canada) s.r.i.
  • Directives de vote par procuration de FMR Co., Inc. (comprend Fidelity Institutional Money Management, Ltd.)

Dans le cas des fonds en fiducie et des FNB pour lesquels FIL ou Geode agit en qualité de sous-conseiller, ces dernières gèrent le vote par procuration conformément aux Directives de vote par procuration de FIL et de Geode. L’approche de Fidelity en matière d’exercice des droits de vote par procuration est cohérente avec son approche en matière de décisions de placement : les propositions sont évaluées en fonction de leur valeur économique et appuyées lorsqu’elles sont raisonnablement susceptibles d’améliorer le rendement pour les actionnaires. L’objectif étant d’améliorer le rendement pour les actionnaires, les questions d’ordre social ne sont généralement pas des facteurs déterminants dans les décisions de vote.

Dans la mesure où la direction de la société est déterminée et incitée à maximiser la valeur actionnariale, nous soutenons généralement ses propositions. Néanmoins, l’observation de nos directives de vote par procuration nous amène parfois à voter à l’encontre d’une recommandation à chaque période de l’année où les votes ont lieu. Nous pouvons, par exemple, voter contre un régime de rémunération en actions à effet dilutif exagéré qui ne concilie pas suffisamment l’intérêt de la direction et l’intérêt des actionnaires. En dernière analyse, Fidelity peut se prononcer sur les politiques de la direction par le truchement des participations que détiennent les Fonds Fidelity dans les sociétés.

De plus, Fidelity peut décider de s’abstenir de voter à certaines assemblées, par exemple, lorsque les actions visées par un vote sont soumises à des restrictions de négociation. Cette situation se produit fréquemment dans les pays étrangers où les actions visées par un vote font l’objet d’une interdiction de négociation entre le moment du vote et le lendemain de l’assemblée.

Directives

Glossaire

A

Abstention


Décision de ne pas exercer un droit de vote lors de la présentation d’une proposition par procuration.
 

Assemblée annuelle


Assemblée réunissant généralement une fois l’an les actionnaires d’une société et au cours de laquelle ceux-ci élisent les administrateurs et se prononcent, par vote, sur toutes autres propositions dont l’assemblée est dûment saisie. On parle également d’assemblée générale annuelle (AGA).
 

Assemblée extraordinaire


Assemblée réunissant les actionnaires pour obtenir leur approbation lors d’un vote portant sur un sujet particulier, par exemple, une fusion ou une acquisition.
 

Assemblée mixte


Assemblée réunissant le même jour les actionnaires pour l’assemblée générale annuelle et une assemblée extraordinaire.
 

Attribution restreinte d’actions


Octroi d’actions consenti par un employeur à un employé dans le cadre duquel les droits de l’employé à l’égard de ces actions sont limités jusqu’à ce que celles-ci lui soit acquises et cessent d’être assujetties à certaines restrictions. Habituellement, l’employé ne peut vendre ni transférer ces actions tant et aussi longtemps qu’elles ne lui sont pas acquises – souvent pendant une période de temps déterminée – et il perd tout droit sur les actions si son emploi prend fin avant que celles-ci ne lui soient acquises.
 

C

Code d’identification d’une valeur mobilière


Identificateur unique attribué à chaque catégorie de valeurs mobilières. Ainsi, le code d’identification d’une valeur mobilière correspond au numéro CUSIP (Committee on Uniform Securities Identification Procedures) lorsqu’il est disponible.
 

Conseil avec échelonnement des mandats


Conseil formé d’administrateurs répartis en divers groupes ou « classes » et généralement élus pour un mandat de trois ans, de sorte qu’une seule partie d’entre eux peut briguer les suffrages au cours d’une année. Il diffère du conseil d’administration où les membres sont élus chaque année pour une durée d’un an. Les membres d’un conseil où les mandats sont échelonnés sont plus difficiles à évincer par les assemblées d’actionnaires, car il faut alors tenir plusieurs assemblées annuelles où les contestataires remportent la victoire alors qu’une seule assemblée suffit dans le cas d’un conseil sans échelonnement de mandats.
 

Consentement


Sollicitation, par la direction, de l’approbation des actionnaires à l’égard d’une proposition donnée sans le recours à une réunion en personne. Les actionnaires font part de leur soutien en retournant à la société un formulaire de consentement dûment rempli et signé.
 

Contestation


Situation se produisant lorsqu’un groupe d’actionnaires dissidents remet sa propre circulaire de sollicitation de procurations aux autres actionnaires en lieu et place de la circulaire envoyée par la direction, afin de les convaincre de voter pour les candidats contestataires lors de l’élection des membres du conseil d’administration de la société visée plutôt que pour les administrateurs désignés par la direction. Cette notion est également connue sous l’appellation de course aux procurations.
 

D

Dilution


Phénomène se produisant lorsqu’une société émet de nouvelles actions sur le marché ou attribue des actions ou octroie des options d’achat d’actions à ses employés, ce qui a pour effet de réduire ou de « diluer » le pourcentage de participation relatif des actionnaires actuels.
 

F

Fonds négocié en bourse (FNB)


Valeur mobilière liée à un indice qui représente un panier de titrescomme un fonds commun de placement indiciel, mais qui se négocie comme un titre sur les places boursières.
 

N

Nombre total d’options d’achat d’actions en circulation


Ensemble des options d’achat d’actions que détient actuellement une société et qui comprend aussi bien celles qui sont acquises que non acquises. Il s’agit du nombre total d’options d’achat d’actions qui ont été octroyées, diminué du nombre d’options exercées antérieurement et de toutes celles qui ont été annulées.
 

Non-intervention


Décision de ne pas voter au cours d’une assemblée parce que les règles portant sur le vote par procuration d’un marché local empêchent la négociation d’actions visées par un vote ou exigent une divulgation onéreuse des avoirs, compte tenu de la réinscription des actions, ce qui pourrait nuire à la gestion du portefeuille.
 

O

Option d’achat d’actions


Droit contractuel qu’une société par actions accorde à un tiers en vue d’acheter un nombre donné de ses actions à un prix stipulé d’avance et au cours d’une période déterminée.
 

P

Pilule empoisonnée


Technique anti-OPA utilisée par une société visée par une offre publique d’achat hostile visant un pourcentage précis de ses actions en circulation, qui consiste à rendre ses actions moins attrayantes aux yeux de l’éventuel acquéreur en augmentant son capital par l’émission de nouvelles actions réservée aux actionnaires actuels, à l’exclusion de l’acheteur potentiel, diluant ainsi la participation de ce dernier et rendant la prise de contrôle extrêmement coûteuse.
 

Prix d’exercice


Prix par action que le détenteur doit verser à l’émetteur pour pouvoir exercer l’option d’achat d’actions. Le prix d’exercice, qu’on appelle aussi prix de levée, est ordinairement établi en fonction de la juste valeur marchande de l’action de la société à la date de l’octroi.
 

R

Réduction du prix d’exercice des options


Mesure visant à remplacer le prix d’exercice des options d’achat d’actions en circulation offertes aux employés par un prix inférieur correspondant davantage au cours du marché actuel de l’action sous-jacente. Les sociétés agissent parfois ainsi lorsque le prix des options d’achat d’actions accordées aux employés est « dévaluée » ou que le prix d’exercice est considérablement plus élevé que le cours du marché actuel de l’action.
 

Régime d’actionnariat des employés


Régime offert par un employeur permettant aux employés d’acquérir des actions de la société de leur employeur, au moyen de retenues salariales.
 

V

Vote d’abstention


Vote à l’encontre de un ou plusieurs administrateurs à défaut d’autres candidats que ceux présélectionnés par la direction. Cette formule n’est utilisée que dans les cas de propositions d’administrateurs où les seules options consistent à voter en faveur de ces dernières ou à s’abstenir.
 

Voter contre


Exprimer une opinion défavorable à l’endroit d’une proposition par procuration.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

82523-v20181010