Tax-efficient solutions

A lifetime of tax-smart investing

Whether you’re trying to build savings during your working years or access those savings later in retirement, tax-smart solutions are an important part of your financial plan. Fidelity has the products and services to help you build and maintain a tax-efficient investment strategy – and we can help you work closely with your advisor with a suite of products that includes the following:

Fidelity’s Corporate Class

During the years leading up to retirement, you’ll want to make sure your savings have good growth potential. For those in their asset accumulation years, Fidelity Corporate Class offers tax-deferred growth through the potential for reduced taxable distributions, which means more money staying in your account to grow. 

It’s what you keep that matters
When corporate classes make distributions, they are in the form of Canadian dividends or capital gains dividends. These forms of income are taxed at lower rates than interest income and therefore can potentially provide investors with higher after-tax ret
Illustration tax rates are based on an average of national 2016 top marginal tax rates, weighted based on population: interest income, 51.7%; dividends, 37.1%; capital gains, 25.9%.

 

Fidelity T-SWP® (Tax-Smart Withdrawal Program) and T-SWP® Class

When you reach the point in your life when you want to begin reaping the benefits of your investment plan, you’ll need to consider how best to access your non-registered savings. For those in their retirement and wealth preservation years, Fidelity T-SWP® and T-SWP® Class provide the flexibility to develop customizable and sustainable solutions by generating tax-efficient cash flow.

With T-SWP and T-SWP Class, you can

  • receive tax-efficient monthly cash flow (available in 5% and 8% cash-flow options on a broad range of Fidelity solutions)
  • change between 5% and 8% without triggering capital gains tax
  • turn the cash flow on or off (or adjust it) according to your needs
  • transfer your wealth to a spouse, next of kin and/or charity in a tax-smart way

The Fidelity way: Investment quality

When it comes to non-registered investing, tax efficiency is half of the equation. The other half is investment quality. At Fidelity, we don’t make you choose one over the other. We’re an industry leader in the variety of investment classes that we make available for tax-smart portfolio construction, giving you the flexibility to achieve a wide range of investment objectives.


Talk to your advisor for more information on Fidelity’s tax-smart solutions.

According to a proposed change in the Canadian federal tax rules, effective January 1, 2017, switching shares of a class fund to shares of another class fund within a mutual fund corporation will be deemed a disposition at fair market value for tax purposes and will trigger a capital gain or loss. The proposal does not apply to switches between different series of the same class fund. This information is for general knowledge only and should not be interpreted as tax advice or recommendations. Every individual’s situation is unique and should be reviewed by his or her own personal legal and tax consultants.

Read a fund’s prospectus and consult your advisor before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed; their values change frequently and past performance may not be repeated. Investors will pay management fees and expenses, may pay commissions or trailing commissions and may experience a gain or a loss.

The monthly cash-flow distributions on Fidelity T-SWP are not guaranteed, will be adjusted from time to time and may include income. We will aim to keep cash flow between 7.5% and 9% of the NAV each year on T-SWP balanced funds on F8, T8 and S8, as well as 4.5% and 5.5% of the NAV on F5, T5 and S5 balanced funds. For equity funds, we will aim to keep cash flow between 6% and 10% of the NAV each year on F8, T8 and S8, and between 4% and 6% of the NAV each year on F5, T5 and S5.

A return of capital reduces an investor’s adjusted cost base. Capital gains taxes are deferred until units are sold or until the ACB goes below zero. Investors should not confuse this cash-flow distribution with a fund’s rate of return or yield. While investors in Series F8/T8/S8 and/or F5/T5/S5 will be able to defer some personal capital gains, they must still pay tax on capital gains distributions that arise from the sale of individual holdings by fund managers, and on interest and dividend distributions. T-SWP will also pay a distribution that must be reinvested in December, consisting of income and capital gains.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

807519.2.0

Solutions fiscalement efficaces

Des placements fiscalement sensés pour la vie

Que vous tentiez d’accumuler de l’épargne pendant votre vie active ou d’accéder à ces épargnes une fois à la retraite, les solutions fiscalement sensées de Fidelity constituent un aspect important de votre plan financier. Fidelity vous offre les produits et services dont vous avez besoin pour établir et maintenir une stratégie de placement efficace sur le plan fiscal. Qui plus est, nous pouvons vous aider à collaborer étroitement avec votre conseiller grâce à une gamme de produits, notamment :

Catégorie de Société de Fidelity

Au cours des années qui précèdent la retraite, vous voudrez vous assurer que votre épargne dispose d’un bon potentiel de croissance. Pendant les années d’accumulation du patrimoine, la Catégorie de Société de Fidelity procure une croissance en report d’impôt grâce à la réduction potentielle des distributions imposables, ce qui vous permet d’accumuler plus d’argent dans votre compte.

 

C’est ce que vous conservez qui compte
When corporate classes make distributions, they are in the form of Canadian dividends or capital gains dividends. These forms of income are taxed at lower rates than interest income and therefore can potentially provide investors with higher after-tax ret
Exemple basé sur la moyenne nationale des taux d’imposition en 2016, calculée en fonction de la moyenne pondérée de la population : revenu d’intérêt, 51,7 %; dividendes, 37,1 %; gains en capital, 25,9 %.

 

 

Programme de retraits fiscalement sensés (PRS-TMD) de Fidelity et Catégorie assortie du PRS-TMD

Lorsque vient le moment de récolter les fruits de votre plan de placement, vous devrez réfléchir au meilleur moyen d’accéder à votre épargne non enregistrée. Pour les investisseurs à la retraite ou en période de préservation du patrimoine, le PRS-T de Fidelity et la Catégorie assortie du PRS-T offrent la souplesse d’élaborer des solutions durables sur mesure en générant des liquidités fiscalement efficaces.

Avec le PRS-T et la Catégorie assortie du PRS-T, vous pouvez :

  • recevoir des liquidités mensuelles fiscalement avantageuses selon deux options de versement (5 % ou 8 %), dans le cadre d’un choix étendu de solutions de Fidelity;
  • changer d’option de versement (5 % ou 8 %) sans entraîner d’impôt sur les gains en capital;
  • suspendre et reprendre (ou ajuster) le versement des liquidités, selon vos besoins;
  • transférer votre patrimoine à votre conjoint, un membre de la famille et/ou un organisme de bienfaisance d’une manière fiscalement sensée.

L’approche de Fidelity : la qualité en matière de placement

Lorsqu’il est question de placements non enregistrés, l’efficacité fiscale n’est qu’une partie de l’équation, l’autre étant la qualité des placements. Avec Fidelity, vous n’avez pas à choisir entre l’un et l’autre. Nous sommes chef de file dans le vaste éventail de catégories de placements offertes dans le cadre de l’élaboration de portefeuilles fiscalement sensés, vous procurant ainsi une grande souplesse pour atteindre des objectifs de placement variés.


Pour plus d’information sur les solutions fiscalement sensées de Fidelity, renseignez-vous auprès de votre conseiller.

D’après une proposition visant à modifier les règles fiscales canadiennes, à compter du 1er janvier 2017, les échanges de parts d’un fonds Catégorie de Société à un autre fonds Catégorie de Société au sein d’une même société de placement à capital variable seront réputés être une cession à la juste valeur marchande aux fins de l’impôt et entraîneront un gain ou une perte en capital. La proposition ne s’applique toutefois pas aux échanges entre les différentes séries d’un même fonds Catégorie de Société.

Ces renseignements sont de nature générale et ne doivent pas être interprétés comme des recommandations ou des conseils d’ordre fiscal. La situation de chaque investisseur est unique et devrait être soigneusement examinée par son conseiller juridique et fiscal.

Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds et consulter votre conseiller avant d’investir. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit. Les investisseurs paieront des frais de gestion et des charges et pourraient devoir verser des commissions ou des commissions de suivi; de plus, ils pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte.

Les distributions mensuelles de liquidités du PRS-T de Fidelity ne sont pas garanties; elles seront ajustées de temps en temps et pourraient comporter un revenu. Nous tenterons de maintenir les liquidités entre 7,5 % et 9 % de la valeur liquidative chaque année sur les mandats équilibrés dotés du PRS-T pour les séries F8, T8 et S8 et entre 4,5 % et 5,5 % de la valeur liquidative pour les séries F5, T5 et S5. Pour les mandats d’actions, nous tenterons de maintenir les liquidités entre 6 % et 10 % de la valeur liquidative chaque année pour les séries F8, T8 et S8 et entre 4 % et 6 % de la valeur liquidative chaque année pour les séries F5, T5 et S5.

Un remboursement de capital réduit le prix de base rajusté (PBR) d’un placement. Les gains en capital sont reportés jusqu’au rachat des parts ou jusqu’à ce que le PBR devienne inférieur à zéro. Les investisseurs ne doivent pas confondre cette distribution de liquidités avec le rendement ou le produit des placements d’un mandat. Bien que les détenteurs de parts des séries F8/T8/S8 et F5/T5/S5 puissent reporter certains gains en capital, ils devront néanmoins payer l’impôt sur les distributions de gains en capital découlant de la vente de placements par les gestionnaires de fonds, ainsi que sur les distributions d’intérêts et de dividendes. Le PRS-T verse aussi une distribution qui doit être réinvestie en décembre et qui consiste en une combinaison de revenu et de gains en capital.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

79256-v2018103