Currency solutions

What is currency risk?

A mutual fund that buys and sells securities denominated in currencies other than the Canadian dollar may experience a gain or a loss depending on changes in the exchange rate between the foreign currency and the Canadian dollar. This is known as “currency risk.” *

* Sometimes this is also referred to as “exchange rate risk.”

Why does it matter?

Currency risk can have a positive or a negative effect on portfolio returns. For example, a Canadian investor with unhedged foreign currency exposure can benefit from a depreciating Canadian dollar. On the other hand, the same investor’s portfolio will be affected negatively by an appreciating Canadian dollar.

It should be noted while hedging may mitigate currency risk, it may not necessarily reduce total portfolio risk.

Three reasons to protect against currency risk

1)    The Canadian dollar has a long-term history of volatility against the U.S. dollar.

2)    Currency volatility can have a significant impact on short-term portfolio returns.

3)    Deciding when and how much to hedge currency can be difficult.

 

Fidelity Systematic Currency Hedging

Designed for investors who are seeking to mitigate currency volatility while having the potential to capitalize on expected changes in the USD-CAD exchange rate, Fidelity Systematic Currency Hedging uses a rules-based, quantitative model to determine the optimal hedge ratio for a fund.

 

Fidelity currency neutral solutions

Protecting portfolios against adverse currency movements is an important part of investing. Currency neutral funds can help mitigate the impact of changes in exchange rates for investors interested in accessing foreign markets.

 

U.S. dollar purchase option

Canadian investors can use their U.S. dollars to invest in a wide variety of Fidelity mutual funds. U.S. dollar funds may be suitable for investors who already have U.S. dollars and want to maintain their investment returns in U.S. dollars, or investors who may be saving for goals that involve U.S. dollars, for example, those who are planning to spend time in the U.S. during their retirement.



Fidelity currency neutral funds use derivatives to mitigate the funds’ exposure to changes in exchange rates between the U.S. dollar and the Canadian dollar. The investment approach used by the funds, while effective in reducing exchange rate risk, will not completely eliminate the impact of currency fluctuations. The funds' returns will differ from the local currency returns of their underlying funds.

Fidelity systematic currency hedged funds use derivatives to mitigate the funds’ exposure to changes in exchange rates between the U.S. dollar and the Canadian dollar. The systematic currency hedged strategy, a quantitative model, used by the funds, while aiming to apply an optimal exposure to the USD at a point in time, there's no assurance that the strategy will be effective. The funds’ returns will differ from the local currency returns of its underlying funds. Fidelity Systematic Currency Hedged funds may also have exposure to other foreign currencies (such as the euro or the yen), which are not hedged. The funds’ exposure to other foreign currencies may change at any time and the Funds may choose to hedge these exposures in the future.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

170190-v2019516

Close Search

Solutions de devises

Qu’est-ce que le risque de change?

Un fonds commun de placement qui achète et vend des titres libellés en devises autres que le dollar canadien peut réaliser un profit ou subir une perte en fonction des variations du taux de change entre la monnaie étrangère et le dollar canadien. C’est ce qu’on appelle le « risque de change »*.

* Parfois aussi désigné « risque lié au taux de change ».

Pourquoi est-ce important?

Le risque de change peut avoir un effet positif ou négatif sur le rendement des portefeuilles. Par exemple, un investisseur canadien ayant une exposition non couverte à une devise peut tirer parti de la dépréciation du dollar canadien. L’appréciation du dollar canadien affectera négativement le portefeuille de ce même investisseur.

Il convient de noter que si la couverture peut atténuer le risque de change, elle ne réduit pas nécessairement le risque global du portefeuille.

Trois raisons de se protéger contre le risque de change

1)    La volatilité du dollar canadien par rapport au dollar américain ne date pas d’hier.

2)    La volatilité des devises peut influencer fortement le rendement à court terme des portefeuilles.

3)    Déterminer quand appliquer la couverture, et dans quelle mesure, peut s'avérer difficile.

 

Couverture systématique des devises de Fidelity

Une solution conçue pour les investisseurs qui cherchent à atténuer la volatilité liée aux devises et l’occasion de tirer parti des variations de taux de change prévues entre le dollar américain et le dollar canadien. Les fonds à couverture systématique des devises de Fidelity utilisent un modèle quantitatif axé sur des règles pour déterminer le ratio de couverture optimal d’un fonds.

 

 

Solutions en devises neutres de Fidelity

Protéger son portefeuille contre les mouvements défavorables des devises est un aspect important en placement. Les fonds en devises neutres peuvent aider à atténuer le risque associé aux fluctuations des taux de change pour les investisseurs désireux d’avoir un accès aux marchés étrangers.

 

Option d’achat en dollars américains

Les investisseurs canadiens peuvent utiliser leurs dollars américains pour investir dans un large éventail de fonds communs de placements de Fidelity. Les fonds en dollars américains peuvent convenir aux investisseurs qui ont déjà des dollars américains et veulent maintenir les rendements de leurs placements en dollars américains ou aux investisseurs qui épargnent en vue d’objectifs de placement en dollars américains, comme ceux qui envisagent de passer une partie de leur retraite aux États-Unis, par exemple.



Les fonds en devises neutres de Fidelity ont recours aux dérivés pour limiter leur exposition aux variations du taux de change entre le dollar américain et le dollar canadien. La méthode de placement des fonds, bien qu’elle soit efficace pour réduire le risque de change, n’éliminera pas complètement l’effet des fluctuations de change. Les rendements des fonds seront différents des rendements en devises locales des fonds sous-jacents.

Les fonds à couverture systématique des devises de Fidelity ont recours aux dérivés pour limiter leur exposition aux variations du taux de change entre le dollar américain et le dollar canadien. La stratégie de couverture systématique des devises employée par ces fonds repose sur un modèle quantitatif et vise à appliquer une exposition optimale en dollars américains à un moment donné. Cependant, rien ne garantit son efficacité. Les rendements des fonds seront différents des rendements en devises locales des fonds sous-jacents. Les fonds à couverture systématique des devises de Fidelity peuvent également avoir une exposition à d’autres devises (comme l’euro ou le yen), qui ne sont pas couvertes. L’exposition des fonds à d’autres devises pourrait changer en tout temps, et les fonds pourraient choisir de couvrir cette exposition ultérieurement.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d’offre d’un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter votre conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l'utilisation de témoins, telle qu'elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.