What is an ETF?

1
Exchange-traded funds, or ETFs, are a type of investment structure made up of a basket of securities that trades like a stock and can be bought or sold at any time during the trading day.
2
When you, the investor, invest in an ETF, you do not actually own the securities (stocks, bonds, etc.) in which the fund invests; you only own shares in the ETF itself. ETFs can be used to gain access to virtually any market industry or sector in the world.
3
A unit in an ETF is also called a “share,” and the combined holdings of the ETF are known as its “portfolio.” Investors buy shares of an ETF and are called “investors,” “fund holders” or “unitholders.” The number of outstanding shares can change daily because of the continual creation of new shares and the redemption of existing shares.

 

What is an ETF? Exchange-traded funds or ETFs are a type of investment structure made from a basket of securities. When you purchase an ETF you purchase a collection of stocks, bonds or other securities called a portfolio. ETFs can be used for broad market exposure and portfolio diversification. You as the fund holder can gain access to virtually any market, industry or sector in the world.

 

Tip

Once you have determined your investment goals, ETFs can be used to gain exposure to virtually any market or industry sector in the world. While ETFs offer a number of benefits, including low cost and myriad investment options, ETF investing can lead investors to make unwise decisions. In addition, not all ETFs are alike. Management fees, execution prices and tracking discrepancies can cause unpleasant surprises for investors.

 

How do ETFs work?

With ETFs, you can add diversification to your portfolio with a single trade. ETFs can provide trading flexibility, liquidity and lower costs than other investment vehicles. Let’s run through some basic definitions to help understand where and how ETFs are purchased and traded.

 

Tip

Much like stocks, ETFs trade on a stock exchange. The exchange provides the infrastructure and services for brokers and traders to buy and sell stocks, shares and other tradable financial assets called “securities.” You’ll find stock exchanges all around the world, such as the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX), the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), Nasdaq, the London Stock Exchange (LSE) and the Japan Exchange Group (JPX).

 

Investor Investor

An investor places an order with the broker. An ETF has a ticker symbol, and its intraday price can be easily obtained throughout the trading day.
Broker Broker

The broker enters the order in the exchange. A broker is an individual or firm that acts as an intermediary between an investor and a securities exchange. You can purchase an ETF through a brokerage house or platform. Like stocks, ETFs are bought and sold during the day when the major exchanges are open, and they are priced continually during normal exchange hours.
ETFs share ETFs share

The order is filled and ETF shares are delivered to the investor.

 

Tip

ETFs are offered on virtually all asset classes, ranging from traditional investments (stocks and bonds) to alternative assets such as commodities or currencies.

Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees, brokerage fees and expenses may be associated with investments in mutual funds and ETFs. Please read the mutual fund’s or ETF’s prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds and ETFs are not guaranteed. Their values change frequently, and investors may experience a gain or a loss. Past performance may not be repeated.

The statements contained herein are based on information believed to be reliable and are provided for information purposes only. Where such information is based in whole or in part on information provided by third parties, we cannot guarantee that it is accurate, complete or current at all times. It does not provide investment, tax or legal advice, and is not an offer or solicitation to buy. Graphs and charts are used for illustrative purposes only and do not reflect future values or returns on investment of any fund or portfolio. Particular investment strategies should be evaluated according to an investor's investment objectives and tolerance for risk. Fidelity Investments Canada ULC and its affiliates and related entities are not liable for any errors or omissions in the information or for any loss or damage suffered.

Commissions, fees and expenses may be associated with investment funds. Read a fund’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing.  Funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and investors may experience a gain or loss.  Past performance may not be repeated.

Read our privacy policy.  By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only.  Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

383069-v2021112

Close Search

Qu’est-ce qu’un fonds négocié en bourse?

1
Un fonds négocié en bourse (FNB) est une structure de placement composée d’un panier de titres qui se négocie comme une action et peut être acheté ou vendu en tout temps durant la séance de bourse.
2
Quand vous investissez dans un FNB, vous n’êtes pas propriétaire des titres (actions, obligations, etc.) dans lesquels le fonds investit; vous détenez seulement des parts du FNB. On peut utiliser les FNB pour accéder à pratiquement tous les marchés, secteurs et sous-secteurs du monde.
3
Une participation dans un FNB est une « part » et l’ensemble des placements du FNB constitue le « portefeuille ».
Celui qui achète des parts d’un FNB est l’« investisseur » ou le « porteur de parts ». Le nombre de parts en circulation peut varier d’un jour à l’autre en raison de la création continuelle de parts et des rachats de parts existantes.

 

Qu’est-ce qu’un FNB? Un fonds négocié en bourse (FNB) est une structure de placement composée d’un panier de titres. Quand vous achetez des parts de FNB, vous achetez un ensemble d’actions, d’obligations ou d’autres titres, appelé « portefeuille ». On peut utiliser les FNB pour profiter d’un vaste accès au marché et diversifier le portefeuille. En tant que porteur de parts, vous avez accès à pratiquement tous les marchés, secteurs et sous-secteurs du monde

 

Bon à savoir

Une fois vos objectifs de placement définis, vous pouvez utiliser les FNB pour accéder à pratiquement tous les marchés, secteurs et sous-secteurs du monde. Bien que les FNB offrent certains avantages, notamment un faible coût et une myriade d’options de placement, cette structure peut amener l’investisseur à prendre des décisions imprudentes. De plus, les FNB ne sont pas tous semblables. Les frais de gestion et d’exécution, ainsi que les écarts de réplication exposent l’investisseur à de mauvaises surprises.

 

Comment fonctionnent les FNB?

Les FNB permettent de diversifier votre portefeuille en une seule opération. Les FNB peuvent offrir une souplesse de négociation et de la liquidité; ils peuvent être moins coûteux que les autres véhicules de placement. Examinons quelques définitions fondamentales pour mieux comprendre comment et où les FNB sont négociés.

 

Bon à savoir

Les FNB se négocient en bourse, un peu comme les actions. La bourse fournit l’infrastructure et les services permettant aux courtiers et aux négociateurs d’acheter et de vendre des actions, des parts et d’autres actifs financiers négociables, connus sous le nom de « valeurs mobilières ». Il y a plusieurs bourses dans le monde, notamment la Bourse de Toronto (TSX), la Bourse de New York (NYSE), le Nasdaq, la Bourse de Londres (LSE) et la Bourse de Tokyo (JPX).

 

Investisseur Investisseur

Un investisseur passe un ordre auprès du courtier. Chaque FNB possède un symbole boursier et son cours intrajournalier est facile à obtenir tout au long de la séance de bourse.
Courtier Courtier

Le courtier saisit l’ordre dans le système. Un courtier est une personne ou une entreprise qui sert d’intermédiaire entre l’investisseur et une bourse des valeurs mobilières. Vous pouvez acheter des parts de FNB par l’intermédiaire d’une maison de courtage ou d’une plateforme de négociation. Comme les actions, les parts de FNB sont achetées et vendues durant la journée, pendant les heures d’ouverture des grandes places boursières, et leur prix est fixé continuellement durant la séance de bourse.
Part de FNB Part de FNB

L’ordre est exécuté et les parts de FNB sont remises à l’investisseur.

 

Bon à savoir

Les FNB donnent accès à pratiquement toutes les catégories d’actifs : placements traditionnels (actions et obligations) et non traditionnels (marchandises, devises, etc.).

Tout placement dans un fonds commun de placement ou un FNB peut donner lieu à des commissions, des commissions de suivi, des frais de gestion, des frais de courtage et des charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus du fonds commun de placement ou du FNB avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur le placement. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB ne sont pas garantis. Leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment, et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Les fonds de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de frais et des charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d’offre d’un fonds et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Les fonds ne sont pas garantis, leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

383069-v2020819

Close Search