What is a non-registered account and how does it work?

A non-registered account can be used for shorter- or longer-term investing. This type of account can work in partnership with other investment accounts. Here are some key details of a non-registered account to help you decide if it is right for you.

What is a non-registered account?

A non-registered account is a type of investment account that is subject to tax when income is earned on investments held in the account. A non-registered account is sometimes called a “taxable” or “open” account.

How does a non-registered account work?

A non-registered account can be used as part of your overall financial plan, with benefits like flexibility and no contribution limits. Typically, you need to be at least 18 to use a non-registered account, but you can use it for your entire life.

Your contributions to a non-registered account are not tax-deductible. Investments in a non-registered account can earn interest or dividend income that is taxed as it is earned or generate capital gains that are taxed as they are realized. This investment income is taxed as it is earned, but withdrawals are not.

There are two common types of non-registered accounts (cash and margin) that can be opened by individuals or jointly with spouses, and there are many other alternatives. With non-registered accounts, you can invest in mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, stocks, bonds and other products.

Pros

1

Unlike Registered Retired Savings Plans (RRSPs) or Tax-Free Savings Accounts (TFSAs), non-registered accounts have no contribution limits, so you can save as much as you want without any penalty. There are also no withdrawal limits.

2

Anyone over the age of 18 (or 19 in certain provinces) can open a non-registered account. There is no age limit on a non-registered account, unlike a RRSP, which must be matured into a Registered Retirement Income Fund at age 71. So, this could be a good option if you’re over, or planning on using this account over, the age of 71.

3

A non-registered account can be useful if you’ve reached your contribution limit on an RRSP or a TFSA.

Cons

1

Investment income earned and gains realized in a non-registered account are taxable, unlike in a TFSA, for example, where they are tax-free.

2

Your contributions to a non-registered account are not tax-deductible, so you won’t receive a tax deduction, as you do with an RRSP contribution.

3

If you choose to move funds from a non-registered account to a registered account (like an RRSP, TFSA or Registered Education Savings Plan), there can be tax consequences.

If you’re ready to get started, a financial advisor can help you customize a plan.

Learn more

Retirement income options
Six tips to make the most of your RRSP

Commissions, fees and expenses may be associated with investment funds. Read a fund’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing.  Funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and investors may experience a gain or loss.  Past performance may not be repeated.

Read our privacy policy.  By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only.  Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

371537-v2020727

Close Search

Qu’est-ce qu’un compte non enregistré et comment fonctionne-t-il?

Un compte non enregistré peut répondre à des objectifs de placement à court ou à long terme et peut être utilisé conjointement avec d’autres comptes de placement. Voici les principaux renseignements à connaître sur les comptes non enregistrés pour vous aider à déterminer s’ils vous conviennent.

Qu’est-ce qu’un compte non enregistré?

Un compte non enregistré est un compte de placement dont le revenu est imposable lorsqu’il est réalisé. On le désigne parfois sous le nom de compte « imposable » ou « ouvert »

Comment un compte non enregistré fonctionne-t-il?

Un compte non enregistré peut faire partie intégrante de votre plan financier. Il comporte en effet plusieurs avantages, comme la souplesse, et n’est assorti d’aucun plafond de cotisation. En règle générale, vous devez avoir au moins 18 ans pour ouvrir un compte non enregistré et vous pouvez vous en servir toute votre vie.

Vos cotisations à un compte non enregistré ne sont pas déductibles d’impôt. Les placements détenus dans ce type de compte peuvent dégager un revenu d’intérêts et de dividendes qui est imposable à mesure qu’il est gagné, ou générer des gains en capital qui sont imposables lorsqu’ils sont réalisés. Vous devez payer de l’impôt sur le revenu de placement à mesure que vous le recevez, mais pas sur les retraits que vous effectuez.

Il existe deux types courants de comptes non enregistrés (au comptant et sur marge) pouvant être ouverts par des particuliers ou des conjoints, mais il y a aussi de nombreuses autres possibilités. Les comptes non enregistrés peuvent détenir des fonds communs de placement, des fonds négociés en bourse, des actions, des obligations et divers autres produits.

Avantages

1

Contrairement aux régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER) ou aux comptes d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI), les comptes non enregistrés ne sont assortis d’aucun plafond de cotisation. Vous pouvez donc y verser autant d’argent que vous le voulez, sans pénalité. Ils ne comportent aucune limite de retrait.

2

Toute personne âgée de 18 ans ou plus (ou de 19 ans ou plus dans certaines provinces) peut ouvrir un compte non enregistré. Un compte non enregistré n’est assujetti à aucune limite d’âge. Ce n’est pas le cas du REER, que vous devez convertir en fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite lorsque vous atteignez l’âge de 71 ans. Il pourrait donc s’agir d’une option intéressante si vous avez plus de 71 ans ou si vous prévoyez de conserver votre compte passé cet âge.

3

Un compte non enregistré peut également être utile si vous avez épuisé vos droits de cotisation à un REER ou à un CELI.

Désavantages

1

Le revenu de placement gagné et les gains réalisés dans un compte non enregistré sont imposables, contrairement à ceux d’un CELI, par exemple, qui sont libres d’impôt.

2

Vos cotisations à un compte non enregistré ne sont pas déductibles d’impôt, ce qui signifie que vous n’avez droit à aucune déduction fiscale, comme ce serait le cas avec un REER.

3

Il peut y avoir des conséquences fiscales si vous transférez des fonds d’un compte non enregistré à un compte enregistré (comme un REER, un CELI ou un régime enregistré d’épargne-études).

Si vous êtes prêt à vous lancer, un conseiller en placements peut vous aider à personnaliser votre plan.

En savoir plus

Comparer les options de revenu
Six conseils pour tirer le maximum de votre REER

Les fonds de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de frais et des charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d’offre d’un fonds et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Les fonds ne sont pas garantis, leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

371537-v2020727

Close Search