What is an RESP and how does it work?

If you’re looking to learn about how to start investing in a post-secondary education, you’ve landed in the right place. Here’s an introductory guide to RESPs to help you make the dream of higher education possible and to make the most of your investment.

What is an RESP?

A Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP) is a type of investment account that is used to save for post-secondary education, such as university or college.

How does an RESP work?

Typically, an RESP is opened by a parent for a child’s post-secondary education, but it can be opened by anyone, like grandparents, relatives and even family friends. Whether you’re looking to save for the post-secondary education of a child, a family member or even yourself, an RESP is a great way to do so.

Investment earnings inside an RESP grow on a tax-deferred basis, and there is a Canada Education Savings Grant (CESG) for certain contributions. In addition, some provinces also have grant programs for beneficiaries who reside in that province. Investment earnings won’t be taxed until the money is withdrawn.

You can choose an individual, family or group RESP, and all types can hold a wide range of investment options. The sooner you start contributing to an RESP, the sooner you’ll start to see your money grow, and be able to take advantage of some of the benefits.

Pros

1

The money invested grows tax-deferred. When it comes time to pay for education costs, the investment growth and government grant amounts that are part of the withdrawal are taxed as income to the student. So, if the student is making little or no income, they’ll pay little or no taxes on the RESP withdrawals.

2

Contributions to an RESP can earn CESG money. The grant can be 20%, 30% or 40% on the first $500 contributed (depending on family income), and 20% on the remaining $2,000 contributed per year. The lifetime grant is $7,200 per beneficiary, so be sure to secure the maximum in government grants.

3

The lifetime maximum contribution limit of $50,000 for each child is generous.

Cons

1

There are some restrictions on CESG eligibility. You are only eligible to receive government grants until the child is age 17.

2

The growth on contributions and government grants must be used for qualified post-secondary education costs.

3

If the dream of higher education doesn’t become a reality, the RESP must be collapsed 35 years after the year it was opened. There are various options for the account balance.

If you’re ready to get started, a financial advisor can help you customize a plan.

Learn more

RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family
Life hacks for maximizing an RESP
RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family
How to be happy about your child’s RESP
RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family
The stress-free guide to cashing out an RESP
Six tips to make the most of your RRSP

Commissions, fees and expenses may be associated with investment funds. Read a fund’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing.  Funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and investors may experience a gain or loss.  Past performance may not be repeated.

Read our privacy policy.  By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only.  Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

371534-v2020729

Close Search

Qu’est-ce qu’un REEE et comment fonctionne-t-il?

Si vous désirez commencer à investir en prévision d’études postsecondaires et voulez en savoir plus à ce sujet, vous êtes au bon endroit. Le présent guide d’introduction aux REEE vise à aider ceux qui rêvent de poursuivre des études supérieures à atteindre cet objectif et à tirer le meilleur parti possible de leur placement.

Qu’est-ce qu’un REEE?

Un régime enregistré d’épargne-études (REEE) est un compte de placement qui permet d’épargner pour des études postsecondaires, notamment à l’université ou au collège.

Comment un REEE fonctionne-t-il?

En règle générale, un REEE est ouvert par un parent pour les études postsecondaires de son enfant, mais il peut aussi être établi par n’importe qui, comme un grand-père ou une grand-mère, un membre de la famille ou un ami. Que vous souhaitiez épargner pour vos propres études postsecondaires ou pour celles d’un enfant ou d’un membre de votre famille, le REEE constitue une excellente solution.

Le revenu de placement dégagé par un REEE fructifie à l’abri de l’impôt. De plus, certaines cotisations donnent droit à la Subvention canadienne pour l’épargne-études (SCEE). Certaines provinces offrent également des programmes de subventions à leurs résidants. Les revenus de placement ne sont imposés qu’au moment du retrait.

Vous pouvez choisir un REEE individuel, familial ou collectif, et chaque type de régime peut détenir un large éventail de placements. Plus vous commencez à cotiser tôt à un REEE, plus vous verrez fructifier votre argent rapidement, et plus vous serez en mesure de tirer parti de certains des avantages.

Avantages

1

Les sommes investies s’accumulent en report d’impôt. Quand vient le temps de payer les droits de scolarité, le revenu de placement accumulé et le montant des subventions gouvernementales qui font partie du retrait sont imposables à titre de revenu pour l’étudiant. Si celui-ci touche peu ou pas de revenus, il paiera peu ou pas d’impôt sur les sommes retirées du REEE.

2

 Les cotisations à un REEE peuvent donner droit à la SCEE. La subvention peut correspondre à 20 %, 30 % ou 40 % de la première tranche de 500 $ des cotisations (selon le revenu familial), et à 20 % de la tranche restante de 2 000 $ des cotisations annuelles. Le plafond cumulatif à vie des subventions gouvernementales est de 7 200 $ par bénéficiaire; assurez-vous d’en tirer pleinement parti.

3

Le plafond de cotisation à vie de 50 000 $ par enfant est très généreux.

Désavantages

1

Certaines restrictions s’appliquent quant à l’admissibilité à la SCEE. Vous êtes admissible aux subventions gouvernementales jusqu’à ce que l’enfant atteigne l’âge de 17 ans.

2

La croissance provenant des cotisations et les subventions gouvernementales doivent servir à régler les coûts des études postsecondaires admissibles.

3

Si le rêve de poursuivre des études supérieures ne se concrétise pas, le REEE doit être liquidé avant la fin de la 35e année suivant son établissement. Il existe diverses possibilités de placement pour le solde du compte.

Si vous êtes prêt à vous lancer, un conseiller en placements peut vous aider à personnaliser votre plan.

En savoir plus

RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family
Trucs et astuces pour maximiser un REEE
RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family
Trouver de la joie dans l’épargne-études
RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family
Comment retirer des fonds d’un REEE sans stress
Six conseils pour tirer le maximum de votre REER

Les fonds de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de frais et de charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d’offre d’un fonds et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Les fonds ne sont pas garantis, leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

371534-v2020729

Close Search