Skip to content

Worried about a recession? Do these 3 things to prepare

pageProperties.bannerAltText

Author: Sam Swenson, CFA

Source: The Motley Fool

Soaring inflation, raising interest rates, and generally negative consumer sentiment have together cast a pall on today's economic landscape. As a long-term investor, there isn't much you can do to change any of the broad market indicators, but there are a few things you can do to manage through them -- especially in the event of a recession. 

Let's briefly take a look at three ways to prepare for a potential contraction in economic activity.

1. Secure your emergency fund

You'll rarely ever regret having more cash on hand than you need, so be sure you've stashed away at least six months of living expenses in an easily accessible -- and fully liquid -- savings account. You can easily compare rates across providers to determine which gives you the best deal, though the key aspect of the emergency fund is that it's insulated from market volatility and can be accessed quickly. 

There is a temptation to think you can get away with investing your emergency fund in certain securities like dividend-paying stocks or bond mutual funds, but this is really not recommended. As we've seen, markets can and do drop fast, so you'll need to be sure that you're squarely on the sidelines with your emergency fund. 

2. Keep earning money

This may seem obvious, but it's best to avoid withdrawing large amounts from your portfolio during a recession. When stock values have declined, selling shares to cover everyday living expenses can meaningfully eat into your portfolio's long-term growth potential. 

If you're in your early career, try to make yourself indispensable at your current company, and think about alternative income streams if necessary. Even though it's usually an option, using a retirement plan loan to cover expenses can jeopardize your long-run savings goals. 

If you're a pre-retiree or in retirement, any extra income goes a very long way in the effort to maintain your savings. While there are certainly pros and cons to working in retirement, having earned income can help you limit portfolio withdrawals and also provide nonfinancial benefits. 

3. Keep investing

While it's emotionally counterintuitive, when the markets are in turmoil is actually the best time to buy in. Every dollar you invest buys more shares than when the market was at its peak. When the market finally recovers, you'll have more than you started with (assuming no withdrawals in between).

Shutting off portfolio investment after prices have dropped is undoubtedly a way to limit your potential for wealth creation. Picking a fixed interval and investing periodically (e.g., once a week, once every two weeks) is a prudent strategy when it comes to financial planning -- regardless of what's happening in the stock market. 

Control what you can

Falling markets aren't fun for pretty much any retail investors. But there are some things you can do to make life a little easier in the long run, especially if we do experience a protracted downturn. You'll want to have your emergency fund secure, to keep working, and to keep investing.  

We can only control so much when it comes to investing, so make sure you're doing everything you can when it comes to protecting yourself and your investment portfolio. 

 

This article was written by Sam Swenson, CFA from The Motley Fool and was legally licensed through the Industry Dive Content Marketplace. Please direct all licensing questions to legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

La perspective d’une récession vous inquiète? Voici trois choses à faire pour vous préparer

Rédigé par : Sam Swenson, CFA

Source : The Motley Fool

La flambée de l’inflation, le relèvement des taux d’intérêt et le pessimisme généralisé des consommateurs ont assombri les prévisions économiques. En tant qu’investisseur à long terme, vous ne pouvez pas faire grand-chose pour modifier les indicateurs généraux du marché, mais il y a certaines stratégies que vous pouvez adopter pour faire face à la conjoncture, surtout dans l’éventualité d’une récession.  

Examinons brièvement trois façons de vous préparer à une contraction potentielle de l’activité économique.

1. Sécurisez votre fonds d’urgence

Comme on regrette rarement de disposer de plus d’argent qu’on n’en a besoin, veillez à mettre de côté, dans un compte d’épargne facilement accessible et entièrement liquide, assez de fonds pour couvrir au moins six mois de frais de subsistance. Vous pouvez aisément comparer les taux de divers établissements financiers afin de trouver le plus avantageux, mais l’aspect clé du fonds d’urgence est qu’il est à l’abri de la volatilité des marchés et accessible rapidement. 

Il est tentant de penser que vous pouvez investir impunément votre fonds d’urgence dans certains titres, comme des actions à dividendes ou des parts de fonds communs de placement obligataires, mais cette solution n’est pas vraiment recommandée. Comme nous l’avons vu, les marchés peuvent chuter rapidement, et ils le font. Vous devez donc vous assurer que votre fonds d’urgence n’est pas investi sur les marchés. 

2. Continuez de gagner de l’argent

Cela peut sembler évident, mais il vaut mieux ne pas retirer des sommes importantes de votre portefeuille en période de récession. Lorsque la valeur des actions diminue, la vente d’actions pour couvrir les dépenses courantes risque de peser lourdement sur le potentiel de croissance à long terme de votre portefeuille. 

Si vous êtes en début de carrière, essayez de vous rendre indispensable à votre entreprise actuelle et envisagez d’autres sources de revenu au besoin. Même s’il s’agit habituellement d’une option, le fait d’emprunter auprès d’un régime de retraite pour couvrir vos dépenses est susceptible de compromettre vos objectifs d’épargne à long terme. 

Si vous êtes un préretraité ou un retraité, tout revenu supplémentaire contribue énormément à maintenir votre épargne. Il y a certes des avantages et des inconvénients à travailler à la retraite, mais un revenu d’emploi peut vous aider à limiter les retraits du portefeuille et vous procurer des avantages non pécuniaires. 

3. Continuez d’investir

Même s’il est émotionnellement contre-intuitif d’investir lorsque les marchés sont en difficulté, c’est en fait le meilleur moment pour le faire. Chaque dollar investi permet d’acheter plus d’actions qu’au moment où le marché était à son sommet. Lorsque le marché se sera enfin redressé, votre actif sera supérieur à ce qu’il était au départ (en supposant qu’aucun retrait n’est effectué entretemps).

Si vous refusez d’investir dans votre portefeuille après la baisse des cours, vous limitez sans aucun doute votre potentiel de création de patrimoine. Choisir un intervalle fixe et investir périodiquement (p. ex., une fois par semaine, aux deux semaines) est une stratégie prudente de planification financière, peu importe ce qui se passe sur le marché boursier. 

Contrôlez ce que vous pouvez

Les replis des marchés ne plaisent pas aux investisseurs particuliers. Vous pouvez néanmoins faire certaines choses pour vous faciliter la vie à long terme, surtout si le repli se prolonge. Vous voudrez sécuriser votre fonds d’urgence, puis continuer de travailler et d’investir.  

Puisque votre contrôle est limité lorsqu’il s’agit d’investir, veillez à faire tout ce que vous pouvez pour vous protéger, vous et votre portefeuille de placement. 

 

Cet article a été rédigé par Sam Swenson, CFA, de The Motley Fool et sa publication a été autorisée légalement par le biais du site Content Marketplace d’Industry Dive. Pour toute question sur les droits de reproduction, écrivez à legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait