Skip to content

Three reasons to remain calm through bitcoin volatility

It’s been a rough year so far for investors in cryptocurrencies.

The most famous cryptocurrency, bitcoin, has suffered a series of losses over the first half of 2022. It now sits below US$20,000 for the first time since November 2020[1], down more than 70% from an all-time high of US$68,000 per coin in November 2021. Bitcoin has lost about US$900 billion in value since that peak.

Another popular cryptocurrency, ether, is also suffering big losses. The second-largest digital token by market cap has plunged to its lowest level since January 2021. The coin has lost about 80% of its value from its record high last November.[2]

The crypto meltdown is part of a larger downturn in stock markets around the world. This is happening amid soaring inflation in many countries, rising interest rates and concerns about the global economy. What’s more, sometimes it can feel as though the media is proclaiming the triumph of cryptocurrencies one week, and then their demise the week after.

There are many reasons cryptocurrencies are so volatile. Understanding what influences their market prices can help you decide whether to invest in them or continue watching their developments.[3]

Below are three things investors should remember when investing in cryptocurrencies.

1. Volatility is to be expected.

Gold has been around a long time. Accordingly, it is reasonably stable in terms of price, demand and supply. Likewise for fiat currencies (e.g., the U.S. or Canadian dollar): while exchange rates between countries fluctuate, the values of fiat currencies are mostly predictable, based on the issuing country.

Bitcoin started to grow in popularity around 2010. Since then, its price has risen by tens of thousands of U.S. dollars. Because bitcoin has only been around for about 13 years, it is still in what is called the “price discovery” phase. This means that prices will continue to fluctuate as investors, users and governments work through the initial growing pains and concerns until – we hope – prices stabilize.[4]

Cryptocurrencies also receive a lot of attention in traditional and social media. For this reason, their value can be particularly sensitive to media hype, both positive and negative. So called “influencers,” industry moguls and celebrity cryptocurrency fans (many of whom are heavily invested in crypto themselves) often opine publicly about the value of one cryptocurrency or another. This can create investor concerns and lead to price fluctuations.[5]

2. Acceptance continues.

Lawmakers across the world are trying to figure out how to establish regulations and frameworks to make cryptocurrency safer for investors and less appealing to criminals. Some governments are trying to attract capital and innovation in the blockchain-related industry. El Salvador was the first country to make bitcoin legal tender in 2021. Some U.S. states aim to create accommodating conditions for bitcoin miners, investors and entrepreneurs.[6]

Meanwhile, there is growing acceptance of cryptocurrencies among different types of investors. The first physically settled bitcoin ETF launched on the Toronto Stock Exchange in February 2021.[7] Crypto ETFs offer a more conventional way to invest in cryptocurrencies. Several crypto-focused ETFs have since launched that allow investors to gain exposure to cryptocurrency via traditional investment platforms.

In addition, large companies in multiple industries are taking a growing interest in cryptocurrencies. AMC recently announced it will accept bitcoin payments by the end of 2022. Fintech companies such as PayPal and Block are also betting on crypto by allowing users to buy, sell and transfer bitcoin on their platforms.

3. Stay diversified!

One of the best ways to combat volatility is to maintain a diversified portfolio. This could include various types of assets, such as stocks, bonds, gold, real estate and, yes, cryptocurrencies.

It isn’t a great idea to put most of your savings into one place, no matter how promising the investment looks. During the crypto boom leading up to late 2021, many investors pumped lots of their savings into cryptocurrencies. And many of those same investors lost a lot of money when the value of cryptocurrencies plunged.

However, crypto assets may still offer a good opportunity to enjoy big returns thanks to their potential asymmetric return profile. That is, the potential upside of an investment in crypto may be greater than the potential downside.

Bottom line

If you’ve decided to invest in cryptocurrencies, you must accept that volatility will likely be part of the ride for the foreseeable future. Keeping this in mind both during the market highs and lows will help you keep a level head and a focus on the long term. What’s more, crypto assets are being adopted by more and more institutional and retail investors. As investors learn more about these assets and what influences their market value, prices may become more stable. In any case, cryptocurrencies should make up only a portion of your diversified portfolio. This ensures that big losses like the ones we’ve seen recently don’t affect the entirety of your savings.

 




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

Trois raisons de rester calme face à la volatilité du bitcoin

L’année a été difficile jusqu’à présent pour les investisseurs en cryptomonnaies.

La cryptomonnaie la plus connue, le bitcoin, a subi une série de pertes au cours du premier semestre de 2022. Son cours se situe maintenant sous les 20 000 $ US pour la première fois depuis novembre 2020[1], ayant cédé plus de 70 % par rapport au sommet historique de 68 000 $ US l’unité en novembre 2021. Le bitcoin a perdu environ 900 G$ US de valeur depuis ce sommet.

Une autre cryptomonnaie populaire, l’ether, subit également de lourdes pertes. Le deuxième plus important jeton numérique par capitalisation boursière a plongé à son plus bas niveau depuis janvier 2021. Il a perdu environ 80 % de sa valeur par rapport à son sommet record de novembre dernier[2].

L’effondrement des cryptomonnaies fait partie d’un ralentissement plus important des marchés boursiers à l’échelle planétaire, dans un contexte de flambée de l’inflation dans plusieurs pays, de hausse des taux d’intérêt et de préoccupations quant à l’économie mondiale. De plus, on peut parfois avoir l’impression que les médias annoncent le triomphe des cryptomonnaies une semaine, et en sonnent le glas la semaine suivante.

Bien des facteurs expliquent pourquoi les cryptomonnaies sont si volatiles. Comprendre ce qui influe sur leur cours peut vous aider à décider d’investir dans ces titres ou de continuer à en surveiller l’évolution[3].

Voici trois choses dont les investisseurs doivent se souvenir lorsqu’ils investissent dans les cryptomonnaies.

1. Il faut s’attendre à de la volatilité.

L’or existe depuis longtemps. Par conséquent, il est raisonnablement stable en matière de cours, de demande et d’offre. De même pour les monnaies fiduciaires (p. ex., le dollar américain ou le dollar canadien) : même si les taux de change varient d’un pays à l’autre, les valeurs des monnaies fiduciaires sont généralement prévisibles, selon le pays émetteur.

Le bitcoin a commencé à gagner en popularité vers 2010. Depuis, son cours a bondi de dizaines de milliers de dollars américains. Comme le bitcoin n’existe que depuis environ 13 ans, son cours en est encore à la « phase de découverte ». Autrement dit, il continuera de fluctuer tant que les investisseurs, les utilisateurs et les gouvernements ne seront pas venus à bout des difficultés et des préoccupations liées à la croissance et jusqu’à ce que les prix se stabilisent, du moins nous l’espérons[4].

Les cryptomonnaies attirent aussi beaucoup l’attention des médias traditionnels et sociaux. C’est pourquoi leur cours peut être particulièrement sensible au battage médiatique, tant positif que négatif. Les « influenceurs », les magnats de l’industrie et les célébrités adeptes de cryptomonnaies (parmi lesquelles bon nombre ont elles-mêmes investi massivement dans les cryptomonnaies) se prononcent souvent publiquement sur la valeur d’une cryptomonnaie ou d’une autre. Cela peut susciter des inquiétudes chez les investisseurs et entraîner des fluctuations des cours[5].

2. L’acceptation se poursuit.

Les législateurs du monde entier tentent de déterminer comment établir des règlements et des cadres pour rendre les cryptomonnaies plus sûres pour les investisseurs et moins attrayantes pour les criminels. Certains gouvernements tentent d’attirer des capitaux et des innovations dans le secteur lié à la chaîne de blocs. Le Salvador a été le premier pays à adopter le bitcoin comme monnaie légale en 2021. Certains États américains cherchent à créer des conditions favorables pour les mineurs de bitcoin, les investisseurs et les entrepreneurs[6].

Par ailleurs, les différents types d’investisseurs acceptent de plus en plus les cryptomonnaies. Le premier FNB de bitcoin à règlement physique a été lancé à la Bourse de Toronto en février 2021[7]. Les FNB de cryptomonnaies offrent une façon plus conventionnelle d’investir dans les cryptomonnaies. Depuis, plusieurs FNB axés sur la cryptomonnaie ont été lancés, ce qui permet aux investisseurs d’obtenir une exposition à la cryptomonnaie au moyen de plateformes de placement traditionnelles.

De plus, les grandes sociétés d’une multitude de secteurs s’intéressent de plus en plus aux cryptomonnaies. AMC vient d’annoncer qu’elle acceptera les paiements en bitcoin d’ici la fin de 2022. Les entreprises de technologie financière comme PayPal et Block misent également sur la cryptomonnaie en permettant aux utilisateurs d’acheter, de vendre et de transférer des bitcoins sur leurs plateformes.

3. Maintenez la diversification!

L’une des meilleures façons de combattre la volatilité consiste à maintenir un portefeuille diversifié, qui peut comprendre divers types d’actifs comme des actions, des obligations, de l’or, des biens immobiliers et, oui, des cryptomonnaies.

Ce n’est pas une bonne idée de regrouper la plus grande partie de votre épargne en un seul endroit, même si le placement s’annonce prometteur. Lorsque les cryptomonnaies avaient le vent en poupe jusqu’à la fin de 2021, de nombreux investisseurs y ont injecté une grande partie de leurs économies. Et bon nombre de ces investisseurs ont perdu beaucoup d’argent lorsque la valeur des cryptomonnaies a chuté.

Toutefois, les cryptoactifs peuvent encore offrir une bonne occasion de réaliser des rendements alléchants grâce à leur profil potentiel de rendement asymétrique. En effet, le potentiel de hausse d’un placement dans la cryptomonnaie peut être plus grand que le potentiel de baisse.

Conclusion

Si vous avez décidé d’investir dans des cryptomonnaies, vous devez accepter que la volatilité fasse probablement partie du parcours dans un avenir prévisible. Retenir ce principe pendant les sommets et les creux du marché vous aidera à garder la tête froide et à vous concentrer sur le long terme. De plus, un nombre croissant d’investisseurs institutionnels et particuliers adoptent les cryptoactifs. À mesure que les investisseurs en apprennent davantage sur ces actifs et sur les facteurs qui influent sur leur valeur marchande, les prix pourraient se stabiliser. Quoi qu’il en soit, les cryptomonnaies ne devraient constituer qu’une partie de votre portefeuille diversifié. Ainsi, les pertes importantes comme celles que nous avons vues récemment n’écorneront pas la totalité de votre épargne.




Content is loading, please wait