Skip to content

The case for small and mid caps

pageProperties.bannerAltText

Segmenting the market

The market value of companies listed on stock exchanges around the world varies enormously. Apple became the first firm ever to reach a valuation of US$3 trillion, in early 2022.1 The smallest firms, on the other hand, are typically worth in the millions of dollars.

A useful way to begin this discussion is to segment companies in terms of their market capitalization, or “market cap.” In this way, each listed company can be broadly categorized as large cap, mid cap or small cap, depending on its market value. It is the large cap stocks that investors are usually most familiar with, and which dominate well-known market indexes.

Looking beyond the large caps

Although it is true that large caps frequently make the news, investors might not want to overlook the wide range of mid caps and small caps available, as they may offer a higher growth and return potential.

These companies may, after all, be headed toward becoming large cap companies. The likes of Apple, Microsoft and Amazon began life as small caps or mid caps. As they grew to become superstars, their valuations multiplied several-fold, and those who invested early reaped the rewards of holding these so-called “multi-baggers” – that is, companies whose valuations increase by many multiples.

The difficulty, of course, lies in identifying future industry leaders at their early stages of growth: keep in mind that for every Apple that makes it, countless others don’t. This is made more challenging by the fact that investment analysts focus most of their research efforts on large caps, which make up the bulk of major indexes and investment portfolios.

Yet therein lies the opportunity, since the relative lack of research on mid caps and small caps increases the likelihood that high-quality businesses with tremendous growth potential are flying under the radar – and trading at attractive valuations.

Characteristics of the small, mid and large cap segments

What’s also important for investors to understand is that the small and mid cap segments of the market may have differing characteristics compared with the large cap segment, as the table below illustrates.

Table 1. Typical characteristics of the large cap, mid cap and small cap segments

 

Large cap          

Mid cap

Small cap

Maturity level

Generally well established

Generally established

Can be earlier stage

Volatility

Lower

Medium

Higher

Potential for high returns

Lower

Higher

Higher

Potential for negative returns

Lower

Medium

Higher

Liquidity (ease and cost of trading)

Very good

Good

Typically lower

Availability of company information and detailed research insight

Very high

Higher

Typically lower

 

Over the past 25 years or so, taken as a market segment, global small caps have generated higher returns than large caps (see Figure 1). Looking ahead, new leaders will continue to emerge from the small and mid cap segments, in part due to the difficulties incumbents face in staying ahead of the curve. After all, large established firms may not have the appetite to develop new, disruptive technologies or ways of operating.

Figure 1. Long-term total returns profile comparison (US$)

Line chart comparing MSCI All country World Small Cap Index, MSCI All Country World Index and MSCI All Country World Large Cap Index. The data in the chart are described in the text.
Source: Fidelity Investments Canada ULC, Datastream. Indices are gross and shown in U.S. dollars from August 1997 to August 2022.

There is no shortage of examples of this in action. Take electric vehicles: while it may be more challenging for the world’s most established car manufacturers to make a hard pivot to focus on electric engines, Tesla has had no such concerns.

Successful small and mid cap companies may also make inroads into markets held by incumbents much faster than expected. Twenty years ago, few would have imagined the force Amazon has become in retail. Amazon founder Jeff Bezos famously predicted his company would eventually fail, and that lifespans of large companies “tend to be 30-plus years, not a hundred-plus years.”2

The reality is that just a handful of today’s small caps and mid caps will one day emerge as future leaders in their fields. Defining the ingredients of success is often difficult, as it requires understanding the competitive nature of the market, the competitors, the financial position of a company and the unique product or service that differentiates it.

Successful companies in the global mid cap universe are typically structural winners, technology disruptors, innovators, category killers or brand leaders. Some are unique niche operators or specialists that dominate their field. Others are part of a large global theme. Sectors such as technology, health care, globally focused consumer and industrials have more recently been home to such business models.

Table 2. Examples of small and mid cap themes

Sector

Themes

Technology

  • Software as a service
  • Data centres and cloud
  • Subscription-led content models
  • Connectivity enablers and 5G
  • Artificial Intelligence

Energy, resources and utilities

  • Solar
  • Wind and hydro
  • Other renewables
  • Electric vehicles
  • Green steel

Consumer

  • Online retailers
  • Environmentally conscious
  • Plant-based foods
  • Social gaming
  • Mass market luxury

Financials

  • Fintech services
  • Virtual banking
  • Global exchanges
  • Trust and advisory
  • Customized insurance

Health care

  • Medical technology
  • Contact development outsourcing
  • Managed care
  • Pharmaceuticals

 

Many of these businesses are also founder-led. Where they are, their management teams tend to be innovative and agile, and their interests are generally strongly aligned with those of outside shareholders.

The benefits of active management

Recent market challenges have highlighted the importance of investing in high-quality names, characterized by sound balance sheet structures that enable companies to weather more challenging environments. Finding such companies takes work: it’s a research-intensive process. Investing in a fund that has this kind of active management brings additional advantages for investors, as investment teams can select opportunities from a much broader universe than those available in the benchmark index, as well as taking active positions across countries, sectors and companies.

If you're interested in the opportunities that this market segment may bring, speak with your financial advisor.




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

Arguments en faveur des petites et moyennes capitalisations

La valeur marchande des sociétés cotées en bourse dans le monde entier varie fortement. Apple est devenue la première société à atteindre une valorisation de 3 000 G$ US au début de 20221. En revanche, les plus petites sociétés sont généralement valorisées en millions de dollars.

Il est donc pertinent d’amorcer cette discussion en segmentant les sociétés en fonction de leur capitalisation boursière. C’est ainsi que chaque société cotée peut être classée de manière générale, selon sa valeur marchande, comme une société à grande, moyenne ou petite capitalisation. Ce sont les grandes capitalisations, avec lesquelles les investisseurs sont davantage familiers, qui dominent les indices boursiers bien connus.

Au-delà des grandes capitalisations

Il est vrai que les sociétés à grande capitalisation font souvent les manchettes, mais les investisseurs pourraient bénéficier d'un potentiel de croissance et de rendement accru en s’intéressant au vaste éventail de titres de sociétés à petite et à moyenne capitalisation sur le marché.

Il se pourrait d’ailleurs que ces sociétés deviennent les grandes capitalisations de demain, à l’instar d’Apple, de Microsoft et d’Amazon, qui elles aussi ont commencé en tant que sociétés à petite ou moyenne capitalisation. À mesure qu’elles sont devenues très populaires, leur valorisation s’est multipliée plusieurs fois, pour la plus grande satisfaction des investisseurs de la première heure qui ont ainsi récolté les fruits de ces sociétés dites « multi-baggers ».

La difficulté, bien sûr, réside dans l’identification des futurs chefs de file sectoriels aux premiers stades de leur croissance. N’oubliez pas que derrière chaque Apple se cachent de nombreuses jeunes pousses qui ne parviendront pas à atteindre de tels niveaux de capitalisation. Ce repérage est d’autant plus difficile parce que les analystes de placement se concentrent sur la recherche de sociétés à grandes capitalisations, qui constituent la majorité des principaux indices et portefeuilles de placement.

Pourtant, c’est dans le segment des petites et moyennes capitalisations que réside les occasions, puisque l’absence relative de recherches sur ces sociétés accroît la probabilité que des entreprises de grande qualité présentant un potentiel de croissance exceptionnel passent inaperçues – et se négocient à des valorisations intéressantes.

Caractéristiques des segments des petites, moyennes et grandes capitalisations

Il est également important que les investisseurs constatent que les caractéristiques des segments des petites et moyennes capitalisations peuvent être différentes de celles du segment des grandes capitalisations, comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous.

Tableau 1. Caractéristiques typiques des segments des grandes, moyennes et petites capitalisations

 

Grandes capitalisations   

Moyennes capitalisations

Petites capitalisations

Niveau de maturité

Généralement bien établies

Généralement établies

Stade potentiellement plus précoce

Volatilité

Faible

Modérée

Élevée

Potentiel de rendement élevé

Faible

Élevé

Élevé

Potentiel de rendement négatif

Faible

Modéré

Élevé

Liquidité (facilité et coût des opérations)

Très bonne

Bonne

Généralement plus faible

Disponibilité d’analyses détaillées et de l’information sur les sociétés

Très élevée

Élevée

Généralement plus faible

 

Au cours des 25 dernières années environ, les sociétés à petite capitalisation du monde entier ont généré des rendements supérieurs à ceux des sociétés à plus grande capitalisation (voir le Tableau 2). Pendant les prochaines années, de nouvelles sociétés continueront de se démarquer dans le segment des petites capitalisations, en partie parce que des sociétés bien établies auront de la difficulté à rester à l’avant-garde puisqu’elles n’auront peut-être pas l’ambition nécessaire pour développer des technologies innovantes ou trouver de nouvelles manières de fonctionner.

Tableau 2. Comparaison du profil des rendements totaux à long terme ($ US)

Graphique linéaire comparant l’indice MSCI Monde tous pays des actions à petite capitalisation, l’indice MSCI Monde tous pays des actions à moyenne capitalisation et l’indice MSCI Monde tous pays des actions à grande capitalisation. Les données du graphique sont décrites dans le texte.
Sources : Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. et Datastream. Le rendement brut des indices est indiqué en dollars américains, pour la période allant d'août 1997 à août 2022.

Les exemples ne manquent pas. Prenons le cas des véhicules électriques : Tesla a su s’imposer dans le secteur automobile face à des géants de l’industrie pour qui entreprendre la transition vers les moteurs électriques présente de nombreux défis.

Les sociétés à petite et moyenne capitalisation prospères pourraient aussi faire des percées beaucoup plus rapides que prévu sur les marchés dominés par des sociétés bien établies. Il y a 20 ans, peu de gens auraient pu imaginer le succès d’Amazon dans le commerce de détail. Le fondateur d’Amazon, Jeff Bezos, a prédit que sa société finirait par faire faillite et que la durée de vie des grandes sociétés « a tendance à avoisiner 30 ans, et non plus de 100 ans »2.

La réalité est que seulement une poignée des sociétés à petite et moyenne capitalisation d’aujourd’hui deviendront un jour des chefs de file dans leur domaine. Il est souvent difficile de définir les ingrédients du succès, car il faut comprendre la nature concurrentielle du marché, les concurrents, la situation financière d’une société et le produit ou le service unique qui la distingue.

Les sociétés à moyenne capitalisation du monde qui prospèrent sont généralement des gagnants structurels, des perturbateurs technologiques, des innovateurs, des premiers de catégorie ou des chefs de file de marque. Certaines sont des opérateurs spécialisés ou des spécialistes qui dominent leur domaine. D’autres évoluent dans un domaine présent à l’échelle mondiale. Des secteurs comme les technologies, les soins de santé, la consommation mondiale et les produits industriels ont récemment adopté de tels modèles d’affaires.

Tableau 3. Exemples de thèmes liés aux petites et moyennes capitalisations

Secteurs

Thèmes

Technologies de l’information

  • Logiciels en tant que service
  • Centres de données et infonuagique
  • Modèles de contenu par abonnement
  • Outils de connectivité et 5G
  • Intelligence artificielle

Énergie, ressources naturelles et services publics

  • Énergie solaire
  • Énergie éolienne et hydroélectrique
  • Autres énergies renouvelables
  • Véhicules électriques
  • Acier vert

Consommation

  • Détaillants en ligne
  • Accent sur l’environnement
  • Aliments à base de plantes
  • Jeux sociaux
  • Produits de luxe de masse

Services financiers

  • Services de technologie financière
  • Services bancaires virtuels
  • Bourses mondiales
  • Fiducie et conseils
  • Assurance personnalisée

Soins de santé

  • Technologies médicales
  • Impartition du développement des contacts
  • Soins gérés
  • Produits pharmaceutiques

 

Bon nombre de ces entreprises sont également dirigées par leurs fondateurs. Leurs équipes de direction ont tendance à faire preuve d’innovation et d’agilité, et leurs intérêts rejoignent généralement ceux des actionnaires externes.

Les avantages de la gestion active

Les récentes difficultés du marché ont souligné l’importance d’investir dans des titres de qualité élevée, caractérisés par des bilans sains qui permettent aux sociétés de composer avec des conditions difficiles. Trouver de telles sociétés demande du travail : il s’agit d’un processus de recherche intensif. Investir dans un fonds qui fait l’objet d’une telle gestion active présente des avantages supplémentaires pour les investisseurs, car les équipes de placement peuvent sélectionner des occasions dans un univers nettement plus vaste que celui de l’indice de référence et prendre des positions actives dans divers pays, secteurs et sociétés.

Ce segment de marché et les occasions qu’il recèle vous intéressent?
Adressez-vous à votre conseiller en placements.




Content is loading, please wait