Skip to content

Can bitcoin be sustainable? Inside the Norwegian mine that also dries wood

Authors: Norway, Daniel Boffey in Hønefoss

Source: The Guardian

A line of large blue skips full of chopped wood sit at the back of a site belonging to Norway’s biggest bitcoin mining operation, a 5,000 sq metre warehouse on the outskirts of Hønefoss, a small town 40 miles west of Oslo.

Hot air is being pumped into the 12 skips through bendy corrugated pipes curling out from the warehouse. Despite the snow, it will take a few days for the logs to be dried out, after which a local lumberjack, grateful for the free service, will take them away for sale.

The wood is being warmed by some of the so-called waste heat being emitted from thousands of stacked-high computer servers, known as miners, working away inside the warehouse. It is one of two such sites owned by the Norwegian company Kryptovault. The company expects its mining to account for just under 1% of the computing and process power in the global bitcoin network later this year.

Bitcoin mining, the process of earning cryptocurrency by solving complex computational math puzzles and verifying transactions in the process, is famously energy-intensive. The latest calculation from Cambridge University’s bitcoin electricity consumption index suggests that as a result, the sector consumes more energy in a year than many countries, including Argentina, Pakistan and Poland.

Heat is an inevitable waste byproduct. Despite noise from ventilation fans so loud that the company had to spend about £1.5m on insulation after complaints from neighbours, the hot areas in the Hønefoss warehouse can reach 55C.

For many, at a time of rocketing energy prices, this may be further evidence of the unsustainability of a business that was recently described by Robert McCauley, a senior fellow at Boston University’s global development policy centre, as “worse than a Madoff-style Ponzi scheme”.

The critics are certainly circling. Russia’s central bank has proposed outlawing all cryptocurrency operations in the country, and China has already done so. Swedish regulators have called for something similar in Europe. Norway’s regional development minister, Bjørn Arild Gram, told the Guardian his government was reviewing its options.

“Although crypto-mining and its underlying technology might represent some possible benefits in the long run, it is difficult to justify the extensive use of renewable energy today,” Gram said. “The ministry of local government and regional development is currently reviewing potential policy measures in order to address the challenges related to extensive energy usage caused by crypto-mining.”

But there is a fightback brewing in the sector, of which Kryptovault, which uses only renewable energy, is a part. This week, the billionaire Michael Novogratz, the owner of Galaxy Digital, a digital assets company that seeks to become “the Goldman Sachs of crypto”, launched a sustainability programme on energy use and social responsibility, saying the industry needed to tackle a “false narrative around it being bad for the environment”.

It has been described by some critics as greenwashing, but within a world that has until now been less than transparent over its activities, preferring secrecy over sympathy, this was a shift.

Kjetil Hove Pettersen, 39, Kryptovault’s chief executive, who founded the company with friends after deciding to turn a hobby into a business, said he also believed it was time for the sector to push back at the prevailing narrative.

“If you look at the total energy cost, globally, for any given thing, it’s always going to be huge – I think we can always compare to that of a small European country,” he said. “That includes also traditional gold mining, which takes more than four times the amount of energy as bitcoin mining.”

Advocates for bitcoin argue that it offers the opportunity to exchange value with someone instantly without using a third party such as a bank, without permission and virtually for free. They say it is being adopted at a faster rate than the internet in the 1990s, with El Salvador having become the first country to adopt it as legal tender, alongside the US dollar, in spite of misgivings from the International Monetary Fund.

Pettersen said people wanted bitcoin, and mining operations provided economic returns through tax and employment. Mining is further said to offer a way for countries with excess renewable energy supply from hydro, wind or solar power at certain times and seasons to make value of it within their own borders and without transfer costs. Estimates of what proportion of the energy used in mining is renewable vary from 25% to 57%.

“Mining is not polluting in itself,” said Pettersen. “If you are running coal to run mining then that’s another story, that’s what you don’t want. Mining should be done in more than places like Norway – and it can be a way to save trapped energy. For example, in northern Norway where there is excess, or in El Salvador where they are now using energy from volcanoes, setting up production when it wasn’t there before.”

Kryptovault aims to have 15,000 miners at work by this autumn. Otto Him, 37 and Martin Mikalsen, 26, who manage the Hønefoss mine, have nicknamed one area between two huge walls, or pods, of 6,500 computers as “the cathedral”, in recognition of its awesome scale.

The company is transitioning from older bitcoin miners to new ones shipped from China that are said to be three times more efficient. There will be plenty more waste heat to use. The company is in early talks to dry seaweed for a local firm. Pettersen says the narrative will change.

“At some point, country after country will adopt bitcoin as legal tender and at some point it will be obvious that it is going to change the world,” he said. “Just as it became obvious that the internet was here to stay.”

Top 10 countries for bitcoin mining activity 

  • 1) Kazakhstan 
  • 2) Russia 
  • 3) Ireland* 
  • 4) Germany* 
  • 5) Sweden 
  • 6) Norway 
  • 7) Iceland 
  • 8) UK 
  • 9) France 
  • 10) Georgia  

*Evidence of activity probably inflated owing to redirected IP addresses via the use of VPN or proxy services.

Data from the Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance’s Cambridge bitcoin electricity consumption index. Table based on the latest data from August 2021.

 

This article was written by Norway and Daniel Boffey in Hønefoss from The Guardian and was legally licensed through the Industry Dive Content Marketplace. Please direct all licensing questions to legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

Le bitcoin peut-il être vert? Visite de la mine norvégienne qui fait également sécher du bois

Rédigé par : Daniel Boffey à Hønefoss, Norvège

Source : The Guardian

Une rangée de grosses bennes bleues pleines de bois coupé se trouve à l’arrière d’un site appartenant à la plus grande installation de minage de bitcoins de la Norvège, un entrepôt de 5 000 mètres carrés en périphérie de Hønefoss, une petite ville située à 65 kilomètres à l’ouest d’Oslo.

De l’air chaud est pompé dans les 12 bennes au moyen de tuyaux flexibles ondulés qui sortent de l’entrepôt. Malgré la neige, il ne faut que quelques jours pour que les bûches soient sèches, après quoi un bûcheron local, reconnaissant pour le service gratuit, les vend.

Le bois est réchauffé par une partie de la chaleur dite résiduelle émise par des milliers de serveurs informatiques empilés, connus sous le nom de mineurs, qui travaillent à l’intérieur de l’entrepôt. Il s’agit de l’un des deux sites appartenant à la société norvégienne Kryptovault. La société s’attend à ce que son minage atteigne tout près de 1 % de la puissance de calcul et de traitement du réseau Bitcoin mondial au cours de cette année.

Le minage de bitcoins, le processus d’acquisition de cette cryptomonnaie par la résolution de problèmes mathématiques complexes et la vérification des transactions en cours de route, est bien connu comme étant énergivore. Le dernier calcul de l’indice de consommation d’électricité du bitcoin de l’Université de Cambridge indique qu’en conséquence, le secteur consomme plus d’énergie par année que de nombreux pays, notamment l’Argentine, le Pakistan et la Pologne.

La chaleur est un sous-produit inévitable du minage. Malgré des ventilateurs au bruit si fort que la société a dû dépenser environ 1,5 million d’euros sur l’isolation à la suite de plaintes de voisins, les zones chaudes dans l’entrepôt de Hønefoss peuvent atteindre 55 degrés Celsius.

Pour beaucoup, à une époque où les prix de l’énergie montent en flèche, cela peut prouver à nouveau l'insoutenabilité d’une entreprise qui a récemment été décrite par Robert McCauley, agrégé supérieur au Global Development Policy Centre de l’Université de Boston, comme « pire qu’une pyramide de Ponzi à la Madoff ».

Les critiques font couler beaucoup d’encre. La banque centrale de Russie a proposé d’interdire toutes les opérations de cryptomonnaie au pays, ce que la Chine a déjà fait. Les organismes de réglementation suédois ont demandé quelque chose de similaire en Europe. Le ministre norvégien du Développement régional, Bjørn Arild Gram, a déclaré au Guardian que son gouvernement examinait ses options.

« Bien que le minage de cryptomonnaie et sa technologie sous-jacente puissent possiblement représenter certains avantages à long terme, il est difficile de justifier l’utilisation intensive des énergies renouvelables de nos jours, a déclaré M. Gram. Le ministère des Collectivités territoriales et du Développement régional examine actuellement les mesures stratégiques possibles afin de relever les défis liés à l’utilisation intensive de l’énergie par le minage de cryptomonnaie. »

Cependant, il se forme une résistance dans le secteur, dont fait partie Kryptovault, qui n’utilise que des énergies renouvelables. Cette semaine, le milliardaire Michael Novogratz, propriétaire de Galaxy Digital, une société d’actifs numériques qui cherche à devenir « la Goldman Sachs de la cryptomonnaie », a lancé un programme de développement durable reposant sur l’utilisation de l’énergie et la responsabilité sociale, et déclaré que l’industrie doit faire face à la « fausse idée que la cryptomonnaie est mauvaise pour l’environnement ».

Le programme a été décrit par certains critiques comme de l’écoblanchiment, mais dans un monde qui a jusqu’à présent été moins que transparent sur ses activités, préférant le secret à la sympathie, cela marque un changement.

Kjetil Hove Pettersen, 39 ans, le directeur général de Kryptovault qui a fondé l’entreprise avec des amis après avoir décidé de transformer un passe-temps en affaires, a déclaré qu’il était temps pour le secteur de réfuter le discours dominant.

« Si vous regardez le coût total en énergie, mondialement, pour n’importe quelle chose, ça va toujours être énorme. Je pense que nous pouvons toujours le comparer à celui d’un petit pays européen, a-t-il dit. Cela comprend également l’extraction d’or traditionnelle, qui consomme plus de quatre fois la quantité d’énergie requise pour le minage de bitcoins. »

Les défenseurs du bitcoin soutiennent qu’il offre la possibilité d’échanger de la valeur avec quelqu’un instantanément sans utiliser un tiers comme une banque ni avoir à demander de permission et, pour ainsi dire, gratuitement. Ils affirment qu’il est adopté à un rythme plus rapide que l’Internet dans les années 1990, le Salvador étant devenu le premier pays à l’adopter comme monnaie légale, aux côtés du dollar américain, malgré les réticences du Fonds monétaire international.

M. Pettersen a dit que les gens voulaient le bitcoin, et les activités de minage ont fourni des rendements économiques par le biais de l’impôt et de l’emploi. Il est aussi dit que le minage offre aux pays qui ont un excédent d’énergie renouvelable provenant de l’hydroélectricité, de l’énergie éolienne ou de l’énergie solaire à certains moments et au cours de certaines saisons la possibilité d’en tirer de la valeur à l’intérieur de leurs propres frontières et sans frais de transfert. On estime que la proportion de l’énergie renouvelable qui est utilisée dans le minage varie de 25 % à 57 %.

« Le minage ne pollue pas en soi, a déclaré M. Pettersen. Si vous utilisez du charbon pour vos activités de minage, c’est une autre histoire, et c’est ce qu’on ne veut pas. Le minage devrait se faire dans plus d’endroits comme la Norvège – et cela peut être un moyen de récupérer l’énergie piégée. Par exemple, dans le nord de la Norvège, où il y a un excès, ou au Salvador, où l’on utilise maintenant l’énergie des volcans, on établit une production où il n’y en avait pas auparavant. »

Kryptovault vise à avoir 15 000 mineurs au travail cet automne. Otto Him, 37 ans, et Martin Mikalsen, 26 ans, qui gèrent la mine Hønefoss, ont surnommé une zone entre deux énormes murs, ou capsules, de 6 500 ordinateurs « la cathédrale », en reconnaissance de son envergure impressionnante.

La société passe actuellement de mineurs de bitcoins plus âgés à de nouveaux modèles importés de la Chine qui sont théoriquement trois fois plus efficaces. Il y aura beaucoup plus de chaleur résiduelle à utiliser. La société discute de la possibilité de sécher des algues pour une entreprise locale. Selon Pettersen, le discours dominant est appelé à changer.

« À un moment donné, les pays adopteront le bitcoin l’un après l’autre comme monnaie légale et, tôt ou tard, il sera évident que cela changera le monde, a-t-il dit. Tout comme il est devenu évident qu’Internet était là pour de bon. »

Dix principaux pays où l’on mine le bitcoin 

  • 1) Kazakhstan 
  • 2) Russie 
  • 3) Irlande* 
  • 4) Allemagne* 
  • 5) Suède 
  • 6) Norvège 
  • 7) Islande 
  • 8) Royaume-Uni 
  • 9) France 
  • 10) Géorgie  

* Les preuves d’activité sont probablement gonflées en raison des adresses IP redirigées par l’utilisation de VPN ou de services proxy.

Données de l’indice de consommation d’électricité du bitcoin du Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance. Tableau fondé sur les données les plus récentes, qui datent d’août 2021.

 

Cet article a été rédigé par Daniel Boffey à Hønefoss, en Norvège, pour The Guardian. Sa publication a été autorisée légalement sous licence par Content Marketplace d’Industry Dive. Veuillez adresser toutes les questions sur les licences à legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait