Skip to content

4 psychological reasons that could be behind your money problems

pageProperties.bannerAltText

Author: Jennifer Nelson

Source: Real Simple

Getting to the emotional root of your money problems can be the key to making major positive changes. Here's what some of your financial issues could really be about.

If you're frequently short on money, underemployed, or always crawling out of a deficit, it's probably just regular old money problems, right? Not necessarily. According to financial therapists, many of these problems aren't really money problems at all; rather, they're self-esteem problems, trauma recovery problems, or scarcity mindset problems.

Getting to the emotional root of your money problems can be the key to getting the clarity you need to make major changes. Perhaps it's not that you're "not good with money," but rather that your parents weren't, and you feel doomed to repeat those patterns. Or if you're always broke, it could be because you struggle with self-esteem, and spending money on things is how you compensate for that feeling of not being "good enough."

Here's what some of your financial problems could really be about. Is it money, or is it...

A fear of repeating the past

"Even if we can see the patterns in our behaviour, understand where they came from, and understand that we may have never had anything else modeled for us, without the appropriate skillset and mindset to seek out or create new strategies and tools for ourselves, we are destined to repeat the 'mistakes' we've seen others around us make," says Hanna J. Morrell, a holistic financial coach at Pacific Stoa Financial Wellness in Salem, Oregon.

But the trick, Morrell says, is to reorient your perspective and have the courage to start or carry on looking for other ways to make different choices. If your parents or caregivers weren't good with money, think of how they messed up, and do the opposite.

Did they believe every financial investment was their big break and go all-in only to be disappointed time and again? Did they spend carelessly or not prepare for emergencies? The way to not repeat their mistakes is to analyze what the mistakes were in your mind and try to make different choices.

Maybe you can be extra critical of financial opportunities that sound too good to be true. Prepare a budget and stick to it to prevent careless money habits, or start that emergency fund today. These are the concrete ways you can consciously choose to make different financial choices for yourself.

The key to halting the habit of following in others' footsteps is to recognize what's happening and understand that you're not doomed to repeat the same money mistakes.

A scarcity mindset

What if you always come from a place of "not enough"? There's never enough money to pay the bills, you're not smart enough to get a better job, you'll never get out of credit card debt. Sound familiar? "The scarcity mindset lies to us, telling us that we don't have enough," says Morrell. But she tells her clients to challenge it by asking, "Is this temporary, or am I going to live the rest of my life this way?"

"Our brains in scarcity and crisis (even a little crisis) tell us we're always going to feel the way we feel right now," Morrell continues. "That this hardship will last forever. Asking yourself if it will be like this forever, gently, pushes back on that lie while helping to change perspective. And with a little perspective change, you can make better choices."

Kelley Kitley, LCSW, a therapist at Serendipitous Psychotherapy, LLC, is a huge believer in the law of attraction being a self-fulfilling prophecy. "If we always or usually think we don't have enough, then we will attract that," she says. "But if we have an abundance mentality, maybe we'll attract abundance and allow it to flow."

Kitley says to make a list of what you appreciate in your life. This could be as simple as the bed you sleep in, the coffee you drink every morning, the ability to go for a walk. Basic living is sometimes taken for granted. If we switch to a focus of "enough" and "abundance," we will start attracting that into our lives and find appreciation in everything.

Low self-esteem

What if getting yourself into a lot of debt or chronic overspending has nothing to do with your love of shoes and tchotchkes but with low self-esteem? If you don't feel good about yourself, you may buy stuff to feel better or feel more worthy. Erin Skye Kelly, author of Get the Hell Out of Debt: The Proven 3-Phase Method that Will Radically Shift your Relationship To Money, says that most human behaviours can be divided into four key areas:  

  1. Things that might not feel good but are good for us.
  2. Things that feel good and are good for us.
  3. Things that feel good but aren't good for us.
  4. Things that don't feel good and aren't good for us. 

When you have self-esteem problems, she says, it's usually because you have too many habits that fall within numbers 3 and 4—in essence, the stuff that isn't good for you (overspending, getting into debt, not saving, not budgeting). "The way to improve your self-esteem is to do more activities or build more habits that fall within categories 1 and 2," says Kelly.

Saving money feels good and is good for us. Paying off debt might not feel good but is good. Keeping to a budget may feel hard but is a great thing to do. Once you're firmly engaging in habits like these, they begin to build up your self-esteem so that you engage less and less in the financial habits that aren't good for you.

Unprocessed trauma

There are financial problems that most people experience, such as job loss, inflation, difficulty saving money, and working against systemic issues. Then there's how people handle the stress that comes from those financial problems. Annie M. Varvaryan, PsyD, a clinical psychologist at Couch Conversations Psychotherapy and Counseling, Inc. in Montrose, Calif., says that when we add a layer of trauma, such as the loss of a loved one, a divorce, or illness, it complicates these financial issues and how they show up in your life.

You could be coping with the trauma by spending more money—filling up your closet or your home with unnecessary items. Or you could be coping by taking a hands-off approach, such as not opening or paying bills. "Overspending and impulsive financial decisions are coping mechanisms," says Varvaryan. They're a distraction from what's really going on. Buying things gives the brain a reward and a fleeting "high" to help avoid any pain you're going through. The best way to figure out if your financial missteps are a result of unprocessed trauma is to identify the behaviours and figure out if you're engaging in those things as a distraction to prevent thinking about the trauma.

"Once a person has awareness of what is going on for them, they could then decide whether or not it is helpful to their healing process by asking: Am I truly healing by buying myself new things? What do I need to do to heal from this experience? How could I use spending money in a more structured way to reward myself without avoiding my feelings or past experiences?" continues Varvaryan.

When you're ready to work on healing, you could start to engage in other behaviours, including spending more time in nature, connecting to those you trust and love, writing down thoughts in a journal for 15 minutes every day, listening to music, or seeking out a therapist. In therapy, people with traumatic pasts can learn about how their trauma impacts them, discuss their thoughts and feelings about their trauma, and find ways of managing those feelings rather than engaging in bad financial habits.

 

This article was written by Jennifer Nelson from Real Simple and was legally licensed through the Industry Dive Content Marketplace. Please direct all licensing questions to legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait

Aller au contenu

Quatre raisons d’origine psychologique qui pourraient expliquer vos problèmes financiers

Rédigé par : Jennifer Nelson

Source : Real Simple

Le fait de démystifier les causes émotionnelles de vos problèmes financiers pourrait être essentiel si vous souhaitez apporter des changements positifs importants. Voici quelques enjeux d’ordre financier qui émanent peut-être en réalité de vous.

Se retrouver souvent à court d’argent, être sous-employé ou constamment tenter de se départir de dettes, voilà des problèmes d’argent courants, n’est-ce pas? Pas nécessairement. Comme vous le diront les thérapeutes financiers, bon nombre de ces soucis ne relèvent pas d’enjeux financiers à proprement parler, mais plutôt d’un problème d’estime de soi, de séquelles d’un traumatisme ou de la peur de manquer de quelque chose.

Le fait de démystifier les causes émotionnelles de vos problèmes financiers pourrait être essentiel pour vous aider à y voir plus clair en ce qui concerne les changements positifs importants à apporter. Vous croyez peut-être que vous ne « savez pas gérer votre argent », alors que vous ne faites que reproduire les mauvaises habitudes de vos parents. Ou encore, si vous êtes continuellement à court d’argent, vous vivez peut-être des problèmes d’estime de soi et le fait de dépenser vous aide à compenser un sentiment d’infériorité.

Voici quelques enjeux d’ordre financier qui émanent peut-être en réalité de vous. Est-ce l’argent ou...

La peur de répéter le passé

« Même si vous voyez les tendances dans votre comportement, comprendre leur origine et accepter que vous n’ayez possiblement eu qu’un seul modèle, sans avoir été outillé pour chercher ou créer de nouvelles stratégies, vous permettra de ne pas répéter les " erreurs " commises par les gens autour de vous », affirme Hanna J. Morrell, coach en habitudes financières globales à Pacific Stoa Financial Wellness à Salem, en Oregon.

Selon Mme Morrell, il faut savoir réorienter sa façon de voir les choses et avoir le courage de commencer ou de continuer à chercher d’autres façons de faire des choix différents. Si vos parents ou les gens qui prenaient soin de vous n’avaient pas de saines habitudes financières, regardez là où ils ont échoué et faites le contraire.

Croyaient-ils que chaque nouveau placement allait leur rapporter gros et y misaient tout pour être déçus fois après fois? Dépensaient-ils sans compter ou négligeaient-ils de se préparer pour composer avec les urgences? Pour ne pas répéter ces erreurs, il importe de les analyser et d’essayer de faire des choix différents.

Peut-être pourriez-vous vous montrer particulièrement critique à l’égard des occasions financières qui semblent trop belles pour être vraies. Établissez un budget et respectez-le pour éviter les habitudes financières cavalières, ou commencez à constituer un fonds d’urgence dès aujourd’hui. Voilà des façons concrètes de faire consciemment des choix financiers différents.

Pour cesser de perpétuer de mauvais comportements sur le plan de vos finances, il faut comprendre leur origine et savoir que vous n’êtes pas condamné à répéter les mêmes erreurs.

La peur de ne pas en avoir assez

Avez-vous toujours eu peur de « ne pas en avoir assez »? Il n’y a jamais assez d’argent pour payer les factures, vous n’êtes pas assez intelligent pour obtenir un meilleur emploi, vous ne réussirez jamais à rembourser les soldes de vos cartes de crédit. Cela vous dit quelque chose? « La peur de manquer de quelque chose nous indique, à tort, que nous n’en avons pas assez », explique Mme Morrell. Cette dernière demande toutefois à ses clients de remettre cet état d’esprit en question et de se demander : « est-ce une situation temporaire, ou vais-je vivre le reste de ma vie de cette façon? »

« En situation de manque ou de crise (même une petite crise), nos cerveaux nous laissent croire que nous ressentirons toujours ce que nous ressentons en ce moment », poursuit Mme Morrell. « Que cette situation difficile durera éternellement. Le fait de vous demander si la situation durera éternellement vous permet de dissiper cette idée fausse tout en contribuant à changer votre perspective. Grâce à un petit ajustement de perspective, vous êtes en mesure de faire de meilleurs choix. »

Kelley Kitley, LCSW, thérapeute à Serendipitous Psychotherapy, LLC, croit fermement que la loi de l’attraction est une prophétie qui se réalise d’elle-même. « Si nous pensons toujours ou souvent que nous n’en avons pas assez, c’est ce qui nous attendra », affirme-t-elle. « Mais si notre esprit est axé sur l’abondance, celle-ci se présentera possiblement à nous. »

Mme Kitley vous invite à dresser une liste des choses que vous appréciez dans votre vie. Cela peut être aussi simple que le lit dans lequel vous dormez, le café que vous buvez chaque matin ou la possibilité de faire des marches. On tient parfois pour acquises les petites choses de la vie. Si nous nous concentrons sur les concepts d’« assez » et d’« abondance », nous commencerons à les attirer dans nos vies et à apprécier un tas de choses.

Une faible estime de soi

Et si votre endettement excessif et vos achats compulsifs chroniques n’avaient rien à voir avec votre amour des chaussures et des gadgets, mais étaient liés à une faible estime de soi? Si vous n’êtes pas bien dans votre peau, vous achetez peut-être des choses pour vous sentir mieux ou vous donner l’impression que vous valez plus. Selon Erin Skye Kelly, auteure du livre Get the Hell Out of Debt: The Proven 3-Phase Method that Will Radically Shift your Relationship To Money, la plupart des comportements humains peuvent être divisés en quatre grands segments : 

  1. Les choses désagréables, mais bonnes pour nous.
  2. Les choses agréables et bonnes pour nous.
  3. Les choses agréables, mais mauvaises pour nous.
  4. Les choses désagréables et mauvaises pour nous. 

En cas de problèmes d’estime de soi, dit-elle, un trop grand nombre d’habitudes tombent dans les catégories 3 et 4 – essentiellement, les choses qui sont mauvaises pour vous (dépenses excessives, dettes, absence d’épargne et de budget). « Afin de renforcer votre estime de soi, faites plus d’activités ou développez plus d’habitudes qui entrent dans les catégories 1 et 2 », explique Mme Kelly.

Épargner procure un sentiment agréable et cela est bon pour nous. Rembourser ses dettes n’est peut-être pas agréable, mais il s’agit d’une bonne chose. Il peut sembler difficile de respecter un budget, mais cela est une excellente pratique. Une fois que vous développez résolument de telles habitudes, elles commencent à renforcer votre estime de soi, de sorte que vous perdez au fur et à mesure vos mauvaises habitudes financières.

Un traumatisme non résolu

La plupart des gens vivront certains soucis d’ordre financier, comme la perte d’un emploi, l’inflation, la difficulté d’épargner et des problèmes systémiques. Vient ensuite la façon dont les gens gèrent le stress causé par ces problèmes financiers. Annie M. Varvaryan, D. Psy., psychologue clinicienne à Couch Conversations Psychotherapy and Counseling, Inc., à Montrose en Californie, affirme que lorsque vient s’ajouter un traumatisme, comme la perte d’un être cher, un divorce ou une maladie, cela complique les problèmes financiers et la façon dont ils se manifestent dans votre vie.

Peut-être gérerez-vous ce traumatisme en dépensant davantage, ou en remplissant votre garde-robe ou votre maison d’articles inutiles. Ou encore, resterez-vous passif et cesserez-vous de regarder et de payer vos factures. « Les dépenses excessives et les décisions financières impulsives sont des mécanismes de défense », explique Mme Varvaryan. Ce sont des distractions par rapport à ce qui se passe vraiment. Acheter des choses agit sur le cerveau comme une récompense et donne une sensation de bien-être éphémère qui vous aide à ne pas ressentir la douleur que vous éprouvez. La meilleure façon de déterminer si vos erreurs financières sont le résultat d’un traumatisme non traité est de reconnaître ces comportements et de déterminer si vous les adoptez pour éviter de penser au traumatisme.

« Une fois qu’une personne a pris conscience de ce comportement, elle peut se demander s’il est utile ou non à son processus de guérison en se posant les questions suivantes : Est-ce que m’acheter de nouvelles choses me permet réellement de guérir? Que dois-je faire pour me remettre de cette expérience? Comment faire pour dépenser d’une manière plus structurée pour me récompenser sans ignorer mes sentiments ou mes expériences passées? » continue Mme Varvaryan.

Lorsque vous serez en mesure de travailler sur votre guérison, vous pourriez commencer à adopter d’autres comportements, y compris passer plus de temps dans la nature, être en contact avec ceux en qui vous avez confiance et que vous aimez, écrire vos pensées dans un journal pendant 15 minutes chaque jour, écouter de la musique ou chercher un thérapeute. Dans le cadre d’une thérapie, les personnes ayant vécu un traumatisme peuvent apprendre comment cette expérience influe sur leur vie, discuter de leurs pensées et de leurs sentiments à l’égard de leur traumatisme et trouver des façons de gérer ces sentiments plutôt que d’adopter de mauvaises habitudes financières.

 

Cet article a été rédigé par Jennifer Nelson de Real Simple et sa publication a été autorisée légalement par le site Content Marketplace d’Industry Dive. Pour toute question sur les droits de reproduction, écrivez à legal@industrydive.com.




Content is loading, please wait