Fidelity currency neutral solutions

Protecting portfolios against adverse currency movements is an important part of investing. Currency neutral funds can help mitigate the impact of changes in exchange rates for investors interested in accessing foreign markets.

Three reasons you may want to protect against an appreciating Canadian dollar or falling foreign currencies:

  1. The Canadian dollar has a history of volatility against the U.S. dollar.

  2. Foreign currency volatility can have a significant negative impact on short-term portfolio returns.

  3. Successfully predicting currency movements is nearly impossible to do well over the long term.

Fidelity offers an extensive lineup of currency neutral solutions.

Equity funds

Multi-asset class funds

Fixed-income funds

Private Investment Pools


A fund’s volatility is determined using a statistical measure called “standard deviation.” Standard deviation measures the amount of variability of returns that has historically occurred relative to the average return. The higher the standard deviation of a fund, the greater the range of returns it has experienced in the past. Other types of risk, both measurable and non-measurable, exist. In addition, just as historical performance may not be indicative of future returns, a fund’s historical volatility may not be indicative of its future volatility.

Currency neutral funds use derivatives to mitigate the funds’ exposure to changes in exchange rates between developed market currencies (or U.S. currency) and the Canadian dollar. The investment approach used by the funds (or pools), while effective in reducing exchange rate risk, will not completely eliminate the impact of currency fluctuations. The funds’ (or pools’) returns will differ from the local currency returns of their underlying funds.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

807867.2.0

Solutions en devises neutres de Fidelity

Protéger un portefeuille contre les fluctuations défavorables des devises est un aspect important en placement. Les fonds en devises neutres peuvent aider à atténuer l’incidence de la variation des taux de change pour les investisseurs qui souhaitent investir sur les marchés étrangers.

Voici trois raisons pour lesquelles vous voudrez sans doute vous protéger contre la hausse du dollar canadien ou la baisse des devises :

  1. Le dollar canadien a fait l’objet de volatilité par rapport au dollar américain dans le passé.

  2. La volatilité des devises peut avoir d’importantes répercussions négatives sur les rendements à court terme d’un portefeuille.

  3. Anticiper avec succès les fluctuations des devises s’avère pratiquement impossible à long terme.

Fidelity offre une gamme complète de solutions en devises neutres.

Fonds d’actions

Fonds à multiples catégorie d’actifs

Fonds de titres à revenu fixe

Mandats de placement privé


La volatilité d’un fonds est déterminée à l’aide d’une mesure statistique appelée « écart-type ». L’écart-type mesure le montant de variabilité des rendements qui ont été produits dans le passé par rapport au rendement moyen. Plus l’écart-type d’un fonds est grand, plus la fourchette de rendements observés dans le passé est grande. Il existe d’autres types de risques, à la fois mesurables et non mesurables. De plus, tout comme le rendement historique n’est pas une indication des rendements futurs, la volatilité historique d’un fonds pourrait ne pas être une indication de sa volatilité future.

Les fonds en devises neutres ont recours à des produits dérivés pour atténuer le risque lié à la fluctuation des taux de change entre les devises des pays développés (ou la devise américaine) et le dollar canadien. Bien qu’elle soit efficace pour réduire le risque de change, la méthode de placement utilisée n’éliminera pas entièrement l’effet de la fluctuation des devises. Les rendements des fonds (ou des mandats) différeront des rendements en devise locale de leurs placements sous-jacents.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

79259-v2018103