RESP basics

Making the dream of higher education possible

Whether you’re a parent, grandparent, relative or close family friend, you want to see the young people in your life succeed. And what better way to provide them with a brighter future than through access to post-secondary education?

 

RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family

 

RESPs, or Registered Education Savings Plans, are a great way to save for post-secondary education, because investment earnings accrue on a tax-deferred basis, and the federal government will deposit a percentage of certain amounts you contribute in the form of a Canada Education Savings Grant (CESG). Certain provinces also have grant programs for beneficiaries who reside in that province. Investment earnings won’t be taxed until the money is withdrawn.

Saving for education?  Visit Getting Good Advice to learn more.

 

RESPs: At a glance

Who can use it

  • Everyone – parents, grandparents, relatives and family friends.

  • Even adults planning to return to school. 

Main advantages 

  • Money invested grows tax-deferred.

  • When money is used to pay for education costs, the investment growth and grant amounts that are part of the withdrawal are taxed as income to the student.

  • Contributions to an RESP can earn Canada Education Savings Grant (CESG) money. The grant can be 20%, 30% or 40% on the first $500 contributed (the amount is dependent on the family income) and 20% on the remaining $2,000 contributed per child per year.

  • Generous contribution limits: up to a lifetime maximum of $50,000 per beneficiary.

  • A wide range of investment options.

  • Family plans allow accumulated earnings to be shared among more than one beneficiary. 

Potential limitations 

  • The growth on contributions and grants must be used for post-secondary education. If the child does not pursue post-secondary education, all CESG money must be returned to the government. However, subscribers can withdraw contributions tax-free, and if the plan meets certain requirements, investment earnings can be rolled into the subscriber’s RRSP (if contribution room is available) or withdrawn in cash.

  • When investment earnings are withdrawn in cash, there is a 20% tax penalty in addition to regular income taxes.

  • There are restrictions on CESG eligibility for beneficiaries 16 years and older.

  • If total contributions made on behalf of a beneficiary exceed $50,000, subscribers may be assessed a 1% penalty tax per month on their share of the excess contribution. 

Special considerations 

  • To qualify for CESG money, plan beneficiaries must have a valid Social Insurance Number and be residents of Canada.

  • Pooled trust plans (also known as “scholarship trusts”) are specialized RESPs that offer many of the advantages of RESPs but have many more restrictions on the use of funds. In addition, the amount of money available to your child is highly dependent on the number of other students in the pool. If you decide to stop contributing to the plan, income earned on your money remains in the pool. 

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

814080.2.0

Close Search

L’ABC du REEE

Les études supérieures : du rêve à la réalité

Que vous soyez un parent, un grand-parent, une personne apparentée ou un ami de la famille, vous avez à coeur de voir les jeunes de votre entourage réussir leur vie. Et quoi de mieux que de leur offrir la possibilité d’un avenir plus brillant en leur permettant de faire des études avancées? 

RESP basics - graduate surrounded by family

Un régime enregistré d’épargne-études (REEE) est une excellente façon d’épargner en prévision d’études postsecondaires, car les revenus de placement s’y accumulent à l’abri de l’impôt. Par ailleurs, chaque fois que vous y cotisez, le gouvernement fédéral contribue un pourcentage de votre cotisation sous la forme d'une Subvention canadienne pour l'épargne-études (SCEE). D’autres programmes de subvention sont aussi offerts aux bénéficiaires qui résident dans certaines provinces. Les gains d’intérêt fructifient dans le régime à l’abri de l'impôt jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient retirés.

Vous épargnez pour des études? Consultez le site Obtenir des conseils personnalisés pour en savoir plus.

 

REEE : En un coup d’œil

Personnes visées

  • Tout le monde – parents, grands-parents, membres de la famille et amis de la famille.

  • Adultes prévoyant retourner aux études.

Principaux avantages

  • L’argent investi fructifie à l’abri de l’impôt.

  • Lorsque des fonds sont utilisés à des fins d’éducation, les sommes retirées correspondant à la croissance du placement et aux subventions sont imposées à titre de revenu de l’étudiant.

  • Les cotisations versées dans un régime enregistré d’épargne-études peuvent donner droit à la Subvention canadienne pour l’épargne-études. Pour chaque enfant, la Subvention représente 20 %, 30 % ou 40 % de la première tranche de 500 $ versée dans le REEE (selon le revenu familial) et 20 % de la tranche subséquente de 2 000 $ cotisée chaque année.

  • Les plafonds de cotisation sont généreux : jusqu’à un montant maximum à vie de 50 000 $ par bénéficiaire.

  • Vaste choix d’options de placement.

  • Dans le cas d’un régime familial, les montants accumulés peuvent être partagés entre plusieurs bénéficiaires.

Contraintes éventuelles 

  • Le revenu découlant des cotisations et des subventions doit être utilisé pour des études postsecondaires. Si l’enfant ne poursuit pas des études postsecondaires, tous les montants reçus en vertu de la SCEE doivent être remboursés au gouvernement. Cependant, les souscripteurs peuvent effectuer des retraits non imposables, et si le régime répond à certaines exigences, ils peuvent aussi transférer les revenus de placement dans leur REER (s’ils ont encore des droits à cotisations) ou les retirer en espèces.

  • Quand les revenus de placement sont retirés en espèces, une pénalité de 20 % est appliquée en plus de l’impôt sur le revenu habituel.

  • L’admissibilité à la SCEE comporte des restrictions en ce qui a trait aux bénéficiaires âgés de 16 ans ou plus.

  • Si le total des cotisations versées au nom d’un bénéficiaire dépasse 50 000 $, le souscripteur pourrait être assujetti à une pénalité fiscale de 1 % par mois sur sa part de la cotisation excédentaire. 

Considérations particulières 

  • Pour être admissibles à la SCEE, les bénéficiaires du régime doivent posséder un numéro d’assurance sociale valide et être résidents du Canada.

  • Les régimes de fiducie en commun (que l’on appelle également des fiducies de bourse d’études) sont des REEE spécialisés qui offrent plusieurs des avantages des REEE mais qui comportent beaucoup plus de contraintes relativement à l’utilisation des fonds. De plus, le montant dont pourrait bénéficier l’enfant dépend grandement du nombre d’étudiants participants. Si vous décidez de mettre fin à vos cotisations, le revenu en découlant demeurera dans la fiducie.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

814080.2.0