Sustainable investing: 5 questions answered on ESG ratings

ESG ratings are one of the best tools available to investors who want to understand sustainable investing and the sustainability levels of the companies they invest in. In the rapidly evolving world of environmental, social and governance (ESG) investing, these ratings are an easy way for you to assess a company’s environmental and societal impact.

 

Here are five things you need to know to help make sense of ESG ratings: what they are, why we use them and how they can help you.

1. What exactly are ESG ratings?

An ESG rating is an evaluation of how well a company proactively manages environmental, social and governance issues. It is designed to help investors make sense of the ESG risks attached to the companies they might invest in. Here at Fidelity, we have developed our own ratings system that we integrate into our standard company research. That means ESG analysis is embedded into our entire investment approach.

2. What do Fidelity’s ESG ratings look like?

Our analysts assign a rating of A (best) to E (worst) for each company we assess. An A rating represents a company that has clearly understood and is proactively managing the ESG issues that can affect the long-term shareholder value of the company. An E rating represents the inverse.

3. How does Fidelity’s ratings system differ from those of other firms?

Fidelity’s ESG ratings are based on our bottom-up company research and our regular interactions with management teams and boards of companies within our universe of 4,000 issuers. We seek to measure a company’s current sustainability practices, not just its previous sustainability disclosure, and we anticipate how this might change over time. Our ratings are therefore fundamentally forward-looking in nature.

We believe a meaningful ESG assessment requires a deep understanding of the company’s business operations and management track record that can only be offered by an experienced investment team. That’s key for us. We don’t create our ratings in isolation. Our investment analysts consider sustainability alongside everything else we look at when assessing a company.

4. How does Fidelity assign a rating?

The ratings are assigned by Fidelity’s team of investment analysts across the world. Our analysts work in collaboration with each other across asset classes, conducting more than 16,000 company meetings every year, and they update the ratings at least annually or on the occurrence of a significant ESG event.

We’re looking for four things in particular: awareness, action, results and direction of change. That means we’re concerned with a company’s future ambitions just as much as its past action. It’s important for us to know whether a company is heading in a “stable,” “improving” or “deteriorating” direction. We’re looking forward rather than backward: we believe that’s where value lies for investors, and it sets our ratings apart.

5. Are there any other ways for investors to assess their companies’ sustainability levels?

Ultimately, there is no substitute for investors carrying out their own due diligence and forming their own views of a company’s sustainability characteristics. It is important in this process to dig beneath the surface and not simply accept a company’s written public disclosure as evidence of its sustainability, and also to consider how genuine is its stated beliefs and practices regarding environmental and societal issues. It may also be helpful to compare companies with their peers in related sectors and geographies, as best practices in this space are moving fast. ESG ratings are designed to be a guide in helping our investors to form their own views.

Want to learn more about sustainable funds? Check out the following funds from Fidelity:





Fidelity Sustainable World ETF

ESG Strategy: Best-in-class and exclusionary screening

Fidelity Sustainable World ETF and Mutual Fund is a global multi-factor equity strategy designed to provide strong risk-adjusted returns by investing in companies with favourable environmental, social and governance characteristics.






Fidelity Women’s Leadership Fund

ESG Strategy: ESG Integration and thematic

Fidelity Women’s Leadership Fund is a core U.S. equity strategy that aims to deliver strong risk-adjusted returns by investing primarily in companies that prioritize and advance women’s leadership and development across their organization.







The practices described in this article reflect the investment practices of Fidelity Investments Canada ULC (“FIC”) and Fidelity International Limited. These practices may not be representative of the investment practices of FIC’s other subadvisors, including Fidelity Management and Research Co. and Geode Capital Management.

Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees, brokerage fees and expenses may be associated with investments in mutual funds and ETFs. Please read the mutual fund’s or ETF’s prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds and ETFs are not guaranteed. Their values change frequently, and investors may experience a gain or a loss. Past performance may not be repeated.

The statements contained herein are based on information believed to be reliable and are provided for information purposes only. Where such information is based in whole or in part on information provided by third parties, we cannot guarantee that it is accurate, complete or current at all times. It does not provide investment, tax or legal advice, and is not an offer or solicitation to buy. Graphs and charts are used for illustrative purposes only and do not reflect future values or returns on investment of any fund or portfolio. Particular investment strategies should be evaluated according to an investor’s investment objectives and tolerance for risk. Fidelity Investments Canada ULC and its affiliates and related entities are not liable for any errors or omissions in the information or for any loss or damage suffered.

© 2021 Fidelity Investments Canada ULC. All rights reserved.

Commissions, fees and expenses may be associated with investment funds. Read a fund’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing.  Funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and investors may experience a gain or loss.  Past performance may not be repeated.

Read our privacy policy.  By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only.  Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

510868-v2021315

Close Search

Investissement durable : cinq questions sur les cotes ESG

Les cotes ESG constituent l’un des meilleurs outils à la disposition des investisseurs qui veulent comprendre l’investissement durable et les niveaux de durabilité des sociétés dans lesquelles ils investissent. Dans le monde en rapide évolution de l’investissement environnemental, social et de gouvernance (ESG), ces cotes sont un moyen facile d’évaluer l’incidence environnementale et sociétale d’une société.

 

Voici cinq choses à savoir pour bien comprendre les cotes ESG, ce qu’elles sont, pourquoi les utiliser et comment elles peuvent vous aider.

1. Les cotes ESG, qu’est-ce que c’est au juste?

Une cote ESG est une évaluation de la gestion proactive que fait une société des enjeux environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance. Ces cotes sont conçues pour aider les investisseurs à comprendre les risques ESG rattachés aux sociétés dans lesquelles ils investiront potentiellement. À Fidelity, nous avons mis au point notre propre système de cotes, que nous intégrons à notre recherche standard sur les sociétés. L’analyse des facteurs ESG fait donc partie intégrante de notre approche de placement globale.

2. En quoi consistent les cotes ESG de Fidelity?

Nos analystes attribuent une cote de A (meilleure) à E (pire) à chaque société évaluée. La cote A est donnée aux sociétés qui comprennent très bien les enjeux ESG pouvant avoir une incidence sur la valeur à long terme pour leurs actionnaires, et qui les gèrent de façon proactive. Pour la cote E, c’est l’inverse.

3. En quoi le système de cotes de Fidelity diffère-t-il de celui des autres?

Les cotes ESG de Fidelity sont fondées sur notre recherche ascendante sur les sociétés ainsi que sur nos interactions régulières avec l’équipe de direction et le conseil d’administration des sociétés faisant partie de notre bassin de 4 000 émetteurs. Nous cherchons à mesurer les pratiques de durabilité actuelles d’une société, sans nous limiter à ses déclarations antérieures à ce chapitre, et à voir de quelle façon ces pratiques pourraient évoluer au fil du temps. Nos cotes sont donc fondamentalement prospectives.

Nous croyons qu’une bonne évaluation des facteurs ESG passe par une compréhension approfondie des activités de la société et des antécédents de son équipe de direction, compréhension à laquelle seule une équipe de placement chevronnée peut arriver. C’est essentiel pour nous. Nous n’attribuons pas nos cotes en vase clos. Nos analystes en placement tiennent compte de la durabilité, mais aussi de tous les autres facteurs sur lesquels porte notre évaluation d’une société.

4. Comment Fidelity attribue-t-elle ses cotes?

Les cotes sont attribuées par les analystes en placement de Fidelity partout dans le monde. En collaborant les uns avec les autres pour couvrir toutes les catégories d’actifs, nos analystes tiennent annuellement plus de 16 000 réunions avec les représentants de sociétés, et ils mettent à jour les cotes au moins une fois l’an ou à la suite d’un événement ESG important.

Nous nous attardons à quatre éléments en particulier : la sensibilisation, les efforts, les résultats et l’orientation du changement. Autrement dit, nous tenons compte autant des ambitions futures d’une société que de ses efforts passés. Il est important pour nous de savoir si l’orientation que prend une société en est une de « stabilité », de « progrès » ou de « détérioration ». Nous nous tournons vers l’avenir plutôt que vers le passé : nous croyons que c’est là que réside la valeur pour les investisseurs, et c’est ce qui distingue nos cotes.

5. Existe-t-il d’autres façons pour les investisseurs d’évaluer les niveaux de durabilité des sociétés?

En fin de compte, pour les investisseurs, le mieux reste d’exercer un contrôle diligent indépendant et de se forger leur propre opinion quant aux caractéristiques de durabilité d’une société. Il est alors important de creuser en ne se fiant pas simplement à la divulgation écrite d’une société comme preuve de sa durabilité, et de juger de l’authenticité des pratiques et des convictions exprimées à l’égard des enjeux environnementaux et sociétaux. Il peut également être utile de jeter un œil à des sociétés comparables dans des secteurs et des régions connexes, car les pratiques exemplaires dans cette sphère évoluent rapidement. Les cotes ESG sont conçues pour aider les investisseurs à se forger leur propre opinion.

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les fonds de placements durables? Consultez les pages des Fonds Fidelity suivants :





FNB Fidelity Développement durable mondial

Stratégie : sélection des chefs de file et filtrage négatif

Le FNB Fidelity Développement durable mondial et son fonds commun de placement sont des stratégies multifactorielles d’actions mondiales visant à procurer de solides rendements ajustés au risque en investissant dans des sociétés qui s’illustrent sur le plan environnemental, social et de la gouvernance.






Fonds Fidelity Leadership au féminin

Stratégie : intégration des facteurs ESG et placements thématiques

Le Fonds Fidelity Leadership au féminin est une stratégie d’actions américaines de base qui vise à procurer de solides rendements ajustés au risque en investissant principalement dans des sociétés qui privilégient le leadership et l’avancement des femmes au sein de leur organisation.






Les pratiques décrites dans le présent article reflètent les pratiques de placement de Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. (« FIC ») et de Fidelity International Limited. Ces pratiques peuvent ne pas être représentatives des pratiques de placement des autres sous-conseillers de FIC, y compris Fidelity Management & Research Company et Geode Capital Management.

Tout placement dans un fonds commun de placement ou un FNB peut donner lieu à des commissions, des commissions de suivi, des frais de gestion, des frais de courtage et des charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus du fonds commun de placement ou du FNB avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur le placement. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB ne sont pas garantis. Leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment, et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Les énoncés aux présentes sont fondés sur des renseignements jugés fiables et sont uniquement fournis à titre informatif. Si ces renseignements reposent sur de l’information provenant, en tout ou en partie, de tiers, il nous est impossible de garantir qu’ils sont en tout temps exacts, complets et à jour. Ils ne peuvent être interprétés comme des conseils en placement ou des conseils d’ordre juridique ou fiscal, et ils ne constituent ni une offre ni une sollicitation d’achat. Les graphiques et les tableaux sont uniquement présentés à titre d’exemple et ne visent pas à refléter les valeurs ni les rendements futurs d’un placement dans un fonds ou dans un portefeuille, quel qu’il soit. Toute stratégie de placement doit être évaluée en fonction des objectifs de placement et de la tolérance au risque de l’investisseur. Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i., ses sociétés affiliées et les entités qui lui sont apparentées ne peuvent être tenues responsables des erreurs ou omissions éventuelles ni des pertes ou dommages subis.

© 2021 Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. Tous droits réservés.

Les fonds de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de frais et de charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d’offre d’un fonds et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Les fonds ne sont pas garantis, leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

510868-v2021315

Close Search