Taking control of your financial future

Based on an article from our U.S. partners.

MARCH 2017

Many women today are balancing several priorities: career, family, friends and other obligations. Often, investing gets lost in the shuffle, meaning women may not be ensuring that the money they’ve worked so hard to earn is working hard for them.

Our research in the U.S. found that only 4% of women spearhead their family’s investment strategy.1 Among affluent women, 80% consider themselves “beginner investors,” compared with 50% of men.

One would think it might be different for younger women. It’s not. Only one in eight Gen Y women (born 1978–1988) call themselves the primary decision maker when it comes to personal finance. And only 9% are confident about managing investments.1

And yet 90% of women will have to manage their finances on their own at some point in their life.2 They may leave the workforce to raise young children or care for a sick family member, become divorced or find themselves widowed.

So how can women take control of their financial future?

Kathy Murphy, President of Fidelity Personal Investing in the U.S., shared the following five tips at a Fidelity event on empowering women. Feel free to share them with women you care about – your mother, daughter, sister and friends.

1. Believe that you can.

Says Murphy, “Attitude is everything. That’s a sign I have in my office, and it certainly applies here. Investing can seem intimidating, but it’s not hard. It’s all about setting goals, creating a long-term plan and sticking to that plan. These are things women are especially good at.”

2. Talk to family and loved ones.

“Money shouldn’t be a taboo subject,” notes Murphy. “If you’re married or in a relationship, don’t defer all financial matters to your partner. You don’t need to be equally engaged if you don’t want to be, but you should have regular conversations – annually at the bare minimum – and establish a core understanding of your savings, investments and goals.”

3. Keep learning.

“Here again, women are good at this,” says Murphy. “Access the resources around you to set your long-term goals, invest your money against those goals and watch it develop over time. Once you’re educated and involved in your investment plan, don’t let daily fluctuations in the market rattle you. If your instincts tell you to get more help and information, do so. Work with a financial advisor to understand the investments you own or that you need to add to your portfolio.”

4. Get started early.
Starting at age 25 and saving $50 more per month in a Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) could net you hundreds in additional pretax retirement income each month. “Waiting until you are 35 reduces that additional monthly income almost by half,” explains Murphy. “Really, it’s a simple formula: the earlier you start investing, the better off and more confident you’ll be. Put that hard-earned money to work for you.” But don’t get discouraged if you’re starting to save later in life! Talk to your financial advisor about building a practical retirement plan designed to meet your unique needs.

5. Make “it” a priority.

Murphy concludes, “By ‘it,’ I mean ‘you.’ Women work hard for their families, for their advancement, their progress; they work hard to live the life of their dreams. Make it happen. See it through. Take control of your dreams by taking control of your finances. You deserve it!”

Good advice is a great idea.
Regardless of your financial situation or level of investment knowledge, Fidelity believes that working with a financial advisor can have a significant positive impact on your wealth – and your piece of mind. Whether it’s being better prepared for retirement or creating a successful savings plan, research shows that having a good relationship with your financial advisor can help you realize your financial goals.





1. Fidelity Investments, “Couples Retirement Study,” 2013.

2. “Women in the Labor Force: A Databook,” U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2012.

Infographic

1. Centre for interuniversity Research and Analysis of Organizations, 2016

2. Pollara Research, Canadian Investor’s Perceptions of Mutual Funds and the Mutual Fund Industry, 2016

Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees, brokerage fees and expenses may be associated with investments in mutual funds, asset allocation services and ETFs. Please read the mutual fund or ETF’s prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds and ETFs are not guaranteed. Their values change frequently. Past performance may not be repeated.

The statements contained herein are based on information believed to be reliable and are provided for information purposes only. Where such information is based in whole or in part on information provided by third parties, we cannot guarantee that it is accurate, complete or current at all times. It does not provide investment, tax or legal advice, and is not an offer or solicitation to buy. Graphs and charts are used for illustrative purposes only and do not reflect future values or returns on investment of any fund or portfolio. Particular investment strategies should be evaluated according to an investor's investment objectives and tolerance for risk. Fidelity Investments Canada ULC and its affiliates and related entities are not liable for any errors or omissions in the information or for any loss or damage suffered.

© 2021 Fidelity Investments Canada ULC. All rights reserved.

Commissions, fees and expenses may be associated with investment funds. Read a fund’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing.  Funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and investors may experience a gain or loss.  Past performance may not be repeated.

Read our privacy policy.  By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only.  Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

42958-v2021122

Close Search

Prendre en main votre avenir financier

Basé sur un article de nos partenaires américains

Mars 2017

De nos jours, beaucoup de femmes doivent concilier plusieurs priorités : carrière, famille, amis et autres obligations. Souvent, les placements sont relégués au second plan, si bien que les femmes ne s’attardent pas à faire fructifier l’argent qu’elles ont durement gagné.

Nos études menées aux États-Unis ont démontré que seulement 4 % des femmes décident de la stratégie de placement de leur famille1. Parmi les femmes fortunées, 80 % se considèrent des « investisseurs débutants » comparativement à 50 % des hommes.

On pourrait penser que la situation des jeunes femmes est différente, mais détrompez-vous. Seulement une femme sur huit de la génération Y (nées entre 1978 et 1988) affirme être le premier décideur en matière de finances personnelles. Et, seulement 9 % sont confiantes d’avoir les aptitudes nécessaires pour gérer leurs placements1.

Pourtant, 90 % des femmes devront s’occuper un jour de leurs propres finances2. Certaines pourraient délaisser le marché du travail pour élever leurs enfants ou prendre soin d’un membre de la famille qui tombe malade, ou encore divorcer ou se retrouver veuves.

Comment les femmes peuvent-elles prendre leur avenir financier en main?

Lors d’une conférence de Fidelity sur l’autonomisation des femmes, Kathy Murphy, présidente de Fidelity Personal Investing aux États-Unis, propose cinq conseils à suivre. N’hésitez pas à les partager avec des femmes de votre entourage : votre mère, votre fille, votre sœur et vos amies.

1. Croire en soi.

Selon Mme Murphy, « Tout est question d’attitude. C’est ce que dit une affiche qui se trouve dans mon bureau et ce dicton est très pertinent en matière de finances personnelles. Investir peut sembler intimidant, mais ce n’est pas sorcier. Il suffit de se fixer des objectifs, d’élaborer un plan à long terme et de le respecter. Ce sont là des choses pour lesquelles les femmes sont particulièrement douées. »

2. Parler à sa famille et à ses proches.

« L’argent ne devrait pas être un sujet tabou, précise Mme Murphy. Si vous êtes mariée ou en couple, ne vous en remettez pas à votre partenaire pour toutes les questions financières. Vous n’êtes pas tenue d’en faire autant si ça ne vous intéresse pas, mais vous devriez en discuter régulièrement, au moins une fois l’an, pour avoir une vue d’ensemble de votre épargne, de vos placements et de vos objectifs. »

3. Continuer à apprendre.

« Ici aussi, les femmes ont de bons antécédents, ajoute Mme Murphy. Consultez les ressources à votre disposition pour fixer vos objectifs à long terme, investissez votre argent en fonction de ces objectifs et laissez-le fructifier. Une fois que vous aurez lu sur le sujet et conçu votre plan de placement, ne laissez pas les fluctuations quotidiennes du marché vous déstabiliser. Écoutez votre instinct s’il vous dit de demander de l’aide et de vous informer davantage. Consultez un conseiller en placements pour comprendre les titres que vous détenez ou que vous auriez intérêt à incorporer à votre portefeuille. »

4. Commencer tôt.
Si, dès l’âge de 25 ans, vous épargnez 50 $ de plus par mois dans un régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER), vous pourriez toucher des centaines de dollars additionnels avant impôts chaque mois en revenu de retraite. « Si vous attendez à 35 ans, le revenu mensuel supplémentaire sera réduit de presque 50 %, explique Mme Murphy. En réalité, c’est une formule simple : plus vous commencez à investir tôt, meilleure sera votre situation financière et plus vous vous sentirez à l’aise. Faites fructifier votre argent durement gagné. » Mais, ne vous découragez pas si vous commencez à épargner plus tard! Demandez à votre conseiller en placements de vous aider à mettre sur pied un plan de retraite pratique et adapté à vos besoins.

5. Faire de « vous » une priorité.

En conclusion, Mme Murphy dit à chaque femme de faire d’« elle » une priorité. « Les femmes travaillent fort pour soutenir leur famille, accéder à une promotion, s’émanciper, vivre la vie dont elles ont rêvé. Faites en sorte que tout cela se réalise. Tenez bon, faites les démarches qui s’imposent pour que vos rêves se concrétisent en prenant vos finances en main. Vous le méritez bien! »

De bons conseils, c’est toujours une bonne idée.
Peu importe votre situation financière ou vos connaissances en placement, Fidelity estime qu’un conseiller en placements peut avoir une incidence positive considérable sur votre patrimoine et votre tranquillité d’esprit. Que vous vouliez mieux vous préparer en prévision de la retraite ou créer un plan d’épargne efficace, des études démontrent qu’entretenir une bonne relation avec votre conseiller en placements peut vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs financiers.




1. Fidelity Investments, « Couples Retirement Study », 2013.

2. « Women in the Labor Force: A Databook », U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2012.

Infographie

1. Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations, 2016

2. Pollara Research, La perception des investisseurs canadiens quant aux fonds communs de placement et à l’industrie des fonds communs, 2016

Tout placement dans un fonds commun de placement ou un FNB peut donner lieu à des commissions, des commissions de suivi, des frais de gestion, des frais de courtage et des charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus du fonds commun de placement ou du FNB avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur le placement. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment, et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte.

Les énoncés contenus dans le présent document sont basés sur des renseignements jugés fiables et sont uniquement fournis à titre informatif. Si ces renseignements reposent sur de l’information provenant, en tout ou en partie, de tiers, il nous est impossible de garantir qu’ils sont en tout temps exacts, complets et à jour. Ils ne peuvent être interprétés comme des conseils en placement ni comme des conseils d’ordre juridique ou fiscal, et ils ne constituent ni une offre ni une sollicitation d’achat. Les graphiques et les tableaux sont uniquement présentés à titre d’exemple et ne visent pas à refléter les valeurs ni les rendements futurs d’un placement dans un fonds ou dans un portefeuille, quel qu’il soit. Toute stratégie de placement doit être évaluée en fonction des objectifs de placement et de la tolérance au risque de l’investisseur. Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i., ses sociétés affiliées et les entités qui lui sont apparentées ne peuvent être tenues responsables de quelque erreur ou omission éventuelle ni de quelque perte ou dommage subi.

© 2021 Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. Tous droits réservés.

Les fonds de placement peuvent être assortis de commissions, de frais et de charges. Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d’offre d’un fonds et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Les fonds ne sont pas garantis, leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et les investisseurs pourraient réaliser un profit ou subir une perte. Le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

42958-v2021122

Close Search