2019 Outlook

glass globe on paper with charts and graphs

Adam Kutas | Portfolio Manager

January 2019

Every year over the end-year holidays, I gather up a mix of research, try to avoid my computer screens and think about an outlook for the next year. Usually the stock markets over the holidays are quiet providing some room for deeper thought. This year was different, though. At the end of 2018, volatility spiked as the markets finally priced-in most of the higher business cost of capital. As well, oil and other commodity prices collapsed sharply given fears of an oversupply by producers, but also weak demand given a growing consensus of recession for many major markets. For many market participants, these movements lent themselves to a generally bearish outlook for 2019.

Yet what may have been missed by some market commentators is this volatility was generally confined to the developed markets, primarily the US. Emerging and frontier markets were relatively stable from their lows reached mid-year. Frontier markets performed quite well in 2016-17 so it’s not much of a surprise to see a re-setting of expectations and a shake-out of marginal investors. In my view, these lows were likely a cyclical downturn in a broader structurally positive outlook for these asset classes. This constructive outlook is based on a blend of bottom-up company fundamentals, investor sentiment and equity valuations as well as a broader, positive outlook for the macro backdrop for the structural winners (such as Vietnam, Bangladesh and Cambodia), but also commodity-oriented, frontier countries (like Colombia, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia).

To start, let’s look at investment returns for 2018. As seen in Chart 1, the MSCI Frontier EM Index was down almost 15% in USD terms last year which hurts any portfolio. Yet this performance is inline relative to other international equity asset classes such as developed and emerging markets. The only market that performed better was the S&P 500 Index which was down almost 5%. Within frontier markets, as seen in Chart 2, the main driver of the weakness was the macro-driven decline in Argentine equities. Conversely, Kuwaiti stocks performed quite well as the market priced-in a potential upgrade to “EM status” by MSCI. 

Chart 1: Equity Market Returns in USD for end-2018
Chart 1, the MSCI Frontier EM Index was down almost 15% in USD terms last year which hurts any portfolio.
Source: FMR

Chart 2: Top 5 and Bottom 5 Countries in 2018 in USD
Chart 2, the main driver of the weakness was the macro-driven decline in Argentine equities.
Source: FMR

So, after that decline, how do fundamentals look going forward? Well, as seen in Chart 3, returns on equity (one measure of profitability) continue to trend-up globally, with FEM companies posting broadly around 13-14% which is above their EM and DM counterparts excluding the US. From an earnings growth perspective, as seen in Chart 4, frontier companies are expected to grow around 11% in 2019 while the bottom line could grow 17%. These growth figures are above both EM and DM which is generally in line with history as frontier countries are earlier in their economic development and hence should grow faster (similar to small cap companies versus large blue-chip corporates).

Chart 3: Returns on Equity
Chart 3, returns on equity (one measure of profitability) continue to trend-up globally, with FEM companies posting broadly around 13-14% which is above their EM and DM counterparts excluding the US.
Source: FactSet, MSCI

 

Chart 4: Revenue and Earnings Growth Expectations
  Revenue % EPS growth (%)
  2017 2018E 2019E 2016 2017 2018E 2019E
DM 9% 9% 4% 5% 26% 27% 10%
EM 13% 9% 7% 17% 26% 17% 12%
FEM 1% 13% 11% -12% 12% 29% 17%

Source: IBES

So, we have companies that are growing at a low double-digit pace and at a profitable level. But what price are we paying for this growth? As seen in Chart 5, using price-to-book valuation measures as our proxy for prices, frontier equities compare quite well. They are a bit more expensive than broader EM and developed markets, though much cheaper than the US. Though the valuation premium is only around 10%, the higher price to book measure for frontier equities is driven by the higher-priced stocks in the Philippines and Kuwait markets (both of which the fund is underweight). But when one merges the growth outlook and prices paid, frontier equities compare quite favourably, as one is paying a decent price for better growth, and investor sentiment is on the beaten down side after a tough 2018.  

Chart 5: Price to Book
using price-to-book valuation measures as our proxy for prices, frontier equities compare quite well.
Source: FactSet, MSCI

So, in conclusion, though the headlines continue to unsettle most investors, stock pickers digging in commodity-based markets should find decent growth for attractive prices, especially relative to most richly-priced developed markets.

 

Thanks for reading

Adam Kutas, CFA


Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees and expenses all may be associated with mutual fund investments. Please read the prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and past performance may not be repeated.

Certain statements in this commentary may contain forward-looking statements (“FLS”) that are predictive in nature and may include words such as “expects,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “estimates” and similar forward-looking expressions or negative versions thereof. FLS are based on current expectations and projections about future general economic, political and relevant market factors, such as interest and foreign exchange rates, equity and capital markets, and the general business environment, in each case assuming no changes to applicable tax or other laws or government regulation. Expectations and projections about future events are inherently subject to, among other things, risks and uncertainties, some of which may be unforeseeable and, accordingly, may prove to be incorrect at a future date. FLS are not guarantees of future performance, and actual events could differ materially from those expressed or implied in any FLS. A number of important factors can contribute to these digressions, including, but not limited to, general economic, political and market factors in North America and internationally, interest and foreign exchange rates, global equity and capital markets, business competition and catastrophic events. You should avoid placing any undue reliance on FLS. Further, there is no specific intention of updating any FLS, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

From time to time a manager, analyst or other Fidelity employee may express views regarding a particular company, security, and industry or market sector. The views expressed by any such person are the views of only that individual as of the time expressed and do not necessarily represent the views of Fidelity or any other person in the Fidelity organization. Any such views are subject to change at any time, based upon markets and other conditions, and Fidelity disclaims any responsibility to update such views. These views may not be relied on as investment advice and, because investment decisions for a Fidelity Fund are based on numerous factors, may not be relied on as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any Fidelity Fund.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

118567-v2019117

Close Search

Perspectives pour 2019

glass globe on paper with charts and graphs

Adam Kutas | Gestionnaire de portefeuille

Janvier 2019

Chaque année, durant les congés de fin d’année, je compile un amalgame de recherches, j’essaie d’éviter mes écrans d’ordinateur et je réfléchis aux perspectives pour l’année à venir. Les marchés boursiers sont généralement calmes pendant cette période, ce qui est favorable à des réflexions plus approfondies. Toutefois, cela n’a pas été le cas cette année. À la fin de 2018, la volatilité a bondi lorsque les marchés ont enfin pris en compte la plus grande partie de l’augmentation du coût du capital des sociétés. Par ailleurs, les prix du pétrole et des autres produits de base se sont effondrés en raison des craintes relatives à une offre excédentaire des producteurs et à l’affaiblissement de la demande attribuable à un consensus grandissant d’une récession pour plusieurs marchés importants. Pour bon nombre de participants au marché, ces mouvements sont le présage de perspectives généralement baissières pour 2019.

Certains observateurs du marché ne se sont pas aperçus que cette volatilité s’est généralement limitée aux marchés développés, principalement les États-Unis. En effet, les marchés émergents et frontaliers ont été relativement stables par rapport aux creux qu’ils avaient atteints au milieu de l’année. Les marchés frontaliers avaient inscrit des gains intéressants en 2016 et 2017, et il n’est donc pas étonnant d’assister à un rajustement des attentes et à la suppression d’investisseurs marginaux. À mon avis, ces creux correspondaient probablement à un repli cyclique dans une perspective globale favorable sur le plan structurel pour ces catégories d’actifs. Ce point de vue constructif repose sur une combinaison de paramètres fondamentaux ascendants pour les entreprises, sur la confiance des investisseurs, sur les valorisations des actions, ainsi que sur des perspectives généralement positives quant au contexte macroéconomique des gagnants structurels (comme le Vietnam, le Bangladesh et le Cambodge), mais aussi des pays frontaliers axés sur les produits de base (comme la Colombie, le Niger et l’Arabie Saoudite).

Voyons tout d’abord les rendements des placements en 2018. Comme le montre le Tableau 1, l’indice MSCI Marchés émergents frontaliers a reculé de près de 15 % en dollars américains l’année dernière; un tel repli serait fâcheux pour n’importe quel portefeuille. Pourtant, ce rendement est conforme à celui des autres catégories d’actions internationales, comme celles des marchés développés et des marchés émergents. Le seul marché qui a affiché de meilleurs résultats est l’indice S&P 500, qui a cédé près de 5 %. Au sein des marchés frontaliers, la baisse attribuable aux facteurs macroéconomiques des actions argentines a été le principal facteur de la faiblesse (voir le Tableau 2). En revanche, les actions koweïtiennes ont affiché de bons rendements alors que le marché a pris en compte leur passage potentiel au « statut de marché émergent » par MSCI.

Tableau 1 : Rendements des marchés boursiers à la fin de 2018, en dollars américains
Tableau 1, l’indice MSCI Marchés émergents frontaliers a reculé de près de 15 % en dollars américains l’année dernière; un tel repli serait fâcheux pour n’importe quel portefeuille.
Source : FMR
Tableau 2 : Cinq meilleurs et cinq pires pays en 2018, en dollars américains
%. Au sein des marchés frontaliers, la baisse attribuable aux facteurs macroéconomiques des actions argentines a été le principal facteur de la faiblesse
Source : FMR

Après un tel repli, que peut-on attendre des paramètres fondamentaux? Comme nous pouvons le voir dans le Tableau 3, les rendements des capitaux propres (une mesure de la rentabilité) continuent d’augmenter à l’échelle mondiale : les sociétés des marchés émergents frontaliers ont inscrit des gains d’environ 13 % à 14 % dans l’ensemble, soit des résultats supérieurs à ceux de leurs pairs des marchés émergents et des marchés développés, à l’exception des États-Unis. Du point de vue de la croissance des bénéfices, comme l’indique le Tableau 4, les sociétés des marchés frontaliers devraient progresser d’environ 11 % en 2019, tandis que les résultats nets pourraient s’accroître de 17 %. Ces taux de croissance surpassent ceux des marchés émergents et des marchés développés, ce qui a généralement été le cas par le passé, étant donné que les pays frontaliers se situent à des étapes moins avancées de leur développement économique et devraient par conséquent connaître une croissance plus rapide (comparable à celle des sociétés à petite capitalisation par rapport aux grandes entreprises de premier ordre).

Tableau 3 : Rendements des capitaux propres
, les rendements des capitaux propres (une mesure de la rentabilité) continuent d’augmenter à l’échelle mondiale
Sources : FactSet, MSCI

 

Tableau 4 : Attentes en matière de croissance des revenus et des bénéfices
  Revenus (%) Croissance du BPA (%)
  2017 2018 (e) 2019 (e) 2016 2017 2018 (e) 2019 (e)
Marchés développés 9 % 9 % 4 % 5 % 26 % 27 % 10 %
Marchés émergents 13 % 9 % 7 % 17 % 26 % 17 % 12 %
Marchés émergents frontaliers 1 % 13 % 11 % -12 % 12 % 29 % 17 %

Source : IBES

Nous avons donc des sociétés qui progressent à un taux dépassant les deux chiffres et à un niveau rentable. Mais quel est le prix que nous payons pour une telle croissance? Comme le montre le Tableau 5, qui utilise les ratios cours-valeur comptable comme mesure de référence pour les cours, les actions des marchés frontaliers tirent très bien leur épingle du jeu. Elles sont un peu plus chères que celles de l’ensemble des marchés émergents et des marchés développés, mais beaucoup plus abordables que les actions américaines. Bien que la prime de valorisation se situe autour de 10 % seulement, le ratio cours-valeur comptable plus élevé des actions des pays frontaliers est stimulé par les cours plus élevés sur les marchés des Philippines et du Koweït (deux marchés sous-pondérés dans le portefeuille du Fonds). Cela dit, si on tient compte des perspectives de croissance et des cours payés, les actions des pays frontaliers se comparent très favorablement, étant donné que les investisseurs paient un prix raisonnable pour une meilleure croissance et que leur confiance est affaiblie en raison du contexte difficile en 2018.

Tableau 5 : Ratios cours-valeur comptable
qui utilise les ratios cours-valeur comptable comme mesure de référence pour les cours, les actions des marchés frontaliers tirent très bien leur épingle du jeu
Sources : FactSet, MSCI

En conclusion, bien que les manchettes continuent de troubler la majorité des investisseurs, les sélectionneurs d’actions qui explorent les marchés liés aux produits de base devraient y trouver des titres de croissance intéressants à des prix attrayants, particulièrement par rapport à la plupart des marchés développés coûteux.

 

Merci d’avoir lu ce billet.

Adam Kutas, CFA


Tout placement dans un fonds commun de placement peut donner lieu à des commissions ou des commissions de suivi. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur les placements. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Certaines déclarations formulées dans ce commentaire peuvent contenir des énoncés prospectifs de nature prévisionnelle pouvant inclure des termes tels que « prévoit », « anticipe », « a l’intention », « planifie », « croit », « estime » et d’autres expressions semblables ou leurs versions négatives correspondantes. Les énoncés prospectifs s’appuient sur des attentes et prévisions visant des facteurs généraux pertinents liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché, comme les taux d’intérêt, et supposent qu’aucun changement n’est apporté au taux d’imposition en vigueur ni aux autres lois ou législations gouvernementales applicables. Les attentes et les prévisions à l’égard d’événements futurs sont intrinsèquement soumises, entre autres, aux risques et incertitudes parfois imprévisibles, et peuvent, par conséquent, se révéler incorrectes à l’avenir. Les énoncés prospectifs ne sont pas une garantie des rendements futurs, et les événements réels pourraient être substantiellement différents de ceux anticipés ou projetés dans les énoncés prospectifs. Certains éléments importants peuvent contribuer à ces écarts, y compris, notamment, les facteurs généraux liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché en Amérique du Nord ou ailleurs dans le monde, les taux d’intérêt et de change, les marchés boursiers et les marchés des capitaux mondiaux, la concurrence commerciale et les catastrophes. Vous devez donc éviter de vous fier indûment aux énoncés prospectifs. En outre, nous n’avons pas l’intention de mettre à jour ces énoncés à la suite de l’obtention de nouveaux renseignements, de la concrétisation d’événements futurs ou pour quelque autre raison que ce soit.

De temps à autre, un gestionnaire, analyste ou autre employé de Fidelity peut exprimer une opinion sur une société, un titre, une industrie ou un secteur du marché. Les opinions exprimées par ces personnes représentent un point de vue personnel à un moment donné et ne constituent pas nécessairement celui de Fidelity ou d’autres personnes au sein de l’organisation. Ces opinions sont appelées à changer à tout moment en fonction de l’évolution des marchés et d’autres facteurs, et Fidelity décline toute responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la mise à jour de ces points de vue. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement fiables, ni comme une indication d’achat ou de vente visant un Fonds Fidelity, car les décisions de placement relatives aux Fonds Fidelity sont prises en fonction de nombreux facteurs.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

118567-v2019117

Close Search