The mid-year update on frontier emerging markets

city street in India

After strong performance in both 2016 and 2017, frontier emerging markets (FEM) equities are down 8–9% year-to-date in 2018 (all returns in U.S. dollars)1. As seen in Chart 1, other international equity asset classes, including international developed markets and traditional emerging markets such as China and India, were also weak, with many investors seeking the perceived safety of the U.S. market. Global investors also became nervous, given headlines about trade wars.

 

Chart 1: Market performance year-to-date as at June 30, 2018 (in U.S. dollars)

Total Return (%)
1 month
YTD
1 year
3 years
5 years
MSCI Frontier Emerging
(3.2)
(9.6)
1.0
2.4
12.2
MSCI EM
(4.1)
(6.6)
8.5
19.2
30.0
S&P 500
0.6
2.6
14.4
40.2
87.6
S&P/TSX Comp
0.2
(2.8)
9.1
16.2
24.6
MSCI EAFE
(1.2)
(2.4)
7.4
17.4
40.5
Source: FMR.

 

As seen in Chart 2, energy and consumer discretionary stocks performed well as oil prices rallied, while utilities and industrial sectors performed poorly, with the rise in global interest rates hurting stocks sensitive to economics and interest rates.

 

Chart 2: Top five/bottom five FEM sectors year-to-date in 2018 (in U.S. dollars)
Chart 2: Top five/bottom five FEM sectors year-to-date in 2018 (in U.S. dollars)
Source: FMR.

 

In terms of frontier countries, as Chart 3 shows, large countries like Argentina came under pressure. Conversely, energy-geared countries performed well, including Colombia. However, as seen in Chart 4, which ranks frontier country equity market performance annually, diversification matters: the ranking changes each year.

 

Chart 3: Top five/bottom five FEM countries year-to-date in 2018 (in U.S. dollars)
Chart 3: Top five/bottom five FEM countries year-to-date in 2018 (in U.S. dollars)
Source: FMR.

 

Chart 4: FEM countries’ annual performance ranked by best (top) to worst (bottom) (in U.S. dollars)
Chart 4: FEM countries’ annual performance ranked by best (top) to worst (bottom) (in U.S. dollars)
Source: FMR.

 

So how is the outlook for the rest of 2018? From my perspective, frontier markets have taken a breather after strong earlier performance and are facing many headwinds, including rising global rates, weaker commodity prices and strong results from global technology companies. As seen in Chart 5, valuations (using a simple price/book measure) across global equity classes support frontier equities, especially relative to the U.S. market. In addition, with the pullback in many markets and the headlines about trade wars and emerging-market contagion, investor sentiment levels have been reset, thus improving the relative opportunity for global investors. As seen in Chart 6, revenue and earnings expectations for frontier equities in 2018 and 2019 are fairly robust.

 

Chart 5: Equity asset classes – Average trailing price/book
Chart 5: Equity asset classes – Average trailing price/book
Source: FactSet and MSCI.

 

Chart 6: Revenues and earnings expectations (2018–2019) (%)

 
2018
revenue
2019
revenue

2018 EPS

2019 EPS
DM
5%
5%
22%
10%
EM
5%
8%
17%
12%
FEM
-3%
9%
16%
15%
Source: Bloomberg.
 

Structurally, FEM fundamentals remain attractive, given higher relative returns on capital, low levels of debt, the ongoing gain of manufacturing share from China, low levels of investor participation and attractive valuations. Accordingly, given the pullback, the Fund has been putting capital to work in the markets with the most attractive fundamentals, including Vietnam, Bangladesh and, to a lesser degree, Argentina. Given the political and sovereign issues in Pakistan, equities have become very attractive there, due to the market share gains for textile manufacturing and Chinese infrastructure investments. However, we need to get past the volatility of upcoming elections in Pakistan; while we wait, we are researching the best ideas, including companies in the automotive, financials and cement  industries.

By region, the portfolio has the following positioning and themes: in Asia, the Fund is biased toward companies gaining manufacturing share (Vietnam, Bangladesh). Secondly, in the Middle East and Africa, the focus is on opportunities in Middle East tourism, African staples and African fin-tech (particularly companies in the UAE and Kenya). Finally, in Latin America, the Fund’s exposure is a mix of cyclical and consumer-oriented companies, most based in Chile and Colombia.

 

Thanks for reading,

Adam Kutas


1 FMR., as at June 30, 2018.

Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees and expenses all may be associated with mutual fund investments. Please read the prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and past performance may not be repeated.

Certain statements in this commentary may contain forward-looking statements (“FLS”) that are predictive in nature and may include words such as “expects,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “estimates” and similar forward-looking expressions or negative versions thereof. FLS are based on current expectations and projections about future general economic, political and relevant market factors, such as interest and foreign exchange rates, equity and capital markets, and the general business environment, in each case assuming no changes to applicable tax or other laws or government regulation. Expectations and projections about future events are inherently subject to, among other things, risks and uncertainties, some of which may be unforeseeable and, accordingly, may prove to be incorrect at a future date. FLS are not guarantees of future performance, and actual events could differ materially from those expressed or implied in any FLS. A number of important factors can contribute to these digressions, including, but not limited to, general economic, political and market factors in North America and internationally, interest and foreign exchange rates, global equity and capital markets, business competition and catastrophic events. You should avoid placing any undue reliance on FLS. Further, there is no specific intention of updating any FLS, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

From time to time a manager, analyst or other Fidelity employee may express views regarding a particular company, security, and industry or market sector. The views expressed by any such person are the views of only that individual as of the time expressed and do not necessarily represent the views of Fidelity or any other person in the Fidelity organization. Any such views are subject to change at any time, based upon markets and other conditions, and Fidelity disclaims any responsibility to update such views. These views may not be relied on as investment advice and, because investment decisions for a Fidelity Fund are based on numerous factors, may not be relied on as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any Fidelity Fund.

© 2018 Fidelity Investments Canada ULC. All rights reserved.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

53961-v201882

Bilan de mi-année sur les marchés émergents frontaliers

city street in India

Après les solides rendements inscrits en 2016 et en 2017, les actions des marchés émergents frontaliers (MÉF) accusent un recul de 8-9 % jusqu’à maintenant en 2018 (tous les rendements sont en dollars américains)1. Comme l’indique le Tableau 1, les autres catégories d’actions internationales – incluant les actions internationales des marchés développés et celles des marchés émergents traditionnels (p. ex. la Chine et l’Inde) – ont également connu des difficultés, car bon nombre d’investisseurs leur ont préféré le marché américain qu’ils estimaient plus sûr. À la une, les guerres commerciales ont également suscité la nervosité chez les investisseurs à l’échelle mondiale.

 

Tableau 1 : Rendements boursiers – Cumul annuel au 30 juin 2018 (en dollars américains)

Rendement total (%)
1 mois
Cumul annuel
1 an
3 ans
5 ans
Indice MSCI MÉF
(3,2)
(9,6)
1,0
2,4
12,2
Indice MSCI MÉ
(4,1)
(6,6)
8,5
19,2
30,0
Indice S&P 500
0,6
2,6
14,4
40,2
87,6
Indice composé S&P/TSX
0,2
(2,8)
9,1
16,2
24,6
Indice MSCI EAEO
(1,2)
(2,4)
7,4
17,4
40,5
Source : FMR.

 

Le Tableau 2 témoigne de la bonne tenue des actions des sociétés énergétiques et des biens de consommation discrétionnaire, attribuable au relèvement des prix du pétrole. En revanche, les services publics et les produits industriels ont fait piètre figure, la hausse des taux d’intérêt dans le monde ayant nui aux titres sensibles à l’économie et aux taux d’intérêt.

 

Tableau 2 : Les 5 meilleurs et pires secteurs des MÉF depuis le début de 2018 (en dollars américains)
Tableau 2 : Les 5 meilleurs et pires secteurs des MÉF depuis le début de 2018 (en dollars américains)
Source : FMR.

 

En ce qui concerne les pays frontaliers, le Tableau 3 indique que les grands pays, comme l’Argentine, ont subi des pressions. Par contre, les pays axés sur l’énergie ont fait bonne figure, incluant la Colombie. Or, comme on le voit au Tableau 4, qui indique le classement des pays frontaliers en fonction de leur rendement boursier annuel, la diversification est de mise, car le classement change chaque année.

 

Tableau 3 : Les 5 meilleurs et pires pays des MÉF depuis le début de 2018 (en dollars américains)
Tableau 3 : Les 5 meilleurs et pires pays des MÉF depuis le début de 2018 (en dollars américains)
Source : FMR.

 

Tableau 4 : Classement des pays des MÉF selon le rendement annuel – Du meilleur au pire (en dollars américains)
Tableau 4 : Classement des pays des MÉF selon le rendement annuel – Du meilleur au pire (en dollars américains)
Source : FMR.

 

Que nous réserve le reste de 2018? À mon avis, les marchés frontaliers ont pris un temps de répit après leurs excellents rendements précédents et sont confrontés à plusieurs obstacles, dont la hausse mondiale des taux d’intérêt, la baisse des prix des marchandises et les bons résultats des sociétés de technologies mondiales. Le Tableau 5 indique que les valorisations (mesurées simplement par le ratio cours/valeur comptable) de l’ensemble des actions mondiales sont favorables aux actions des marchés frontaliers, surtout en comparaison avec celles du marché américain. Qui plus est, le repli de nombreux marchés et les gros titres sur les guerres commerciales et une éventuelle contagion aux marchés émergents ont ramené les investisseurs à la réalité, améliorant les occasions relatives pour les investisseurs à l’échelle mondiale. Dans le Tableau 6, on constate que les attentes en matière de revenus et de bénéfices pour les actions des marchés frontaliers en 2018 et 2019 sont plutôt bonnes.

 

Tableau 5 : Ensemble des catégories d’actions – Ratio moyen cours/valeur comptable sur 12 mois
Tableau 5 : Ensemble des catégories d’actions – Ratio moyen cours/valeur comptable sur 12 mois
Sources : FactSet et MSCI.

 

Tableau 6 : Attentes en matière de revenus et de bénéfices (2018–2019) (%)

 
Revenus en
2018
Revenus en
2019

BPA 2018

BPA 2019
M. dév.
5 %
5 %
22 %
10 %
5 %
8 %
17 %
12 %
MÉF
-3 %
9 %
16 %
15 %
Source : Bloomberg.

 

D’un point de vue structurel, les marchés émergents frontaliers demeurent intéressants, étant donné leur rendement relatif plus élevé du capital, leur faible niveau d’endettement, l’accroissement constant de leur part du marché de la fabrication par rapport à la Chine, le faible taux de participation des investisseurs et les valorisations intéressantes. Par conséquent, le Fonds a profité du repli pour mettre ses capitaux à contribution dans les marchés affichant les paramètres fondamentaux les plus solides, incluant le Vietnam, le Bangladesh et, dans une moindre mesure, l’Argentine. Étant donné la situation politique et les enjeux concernant la dette souveraine du Pakistan, les actions y sont devenues particulièrement intéressantes, car le pays a acquis des parts du marché de la fabrication de textiles et il a profité des investissements dans les infrastructures chinoises. Cependant, il faut passer outre la volatilité associée aux élections prochaines au Pakistan, si bien qu’en attendant, nous recherchons les meilleures idées, notamment dans l’automobile, les services financiers et le ciment.

Sur le plan géographique, les positions et thèmes du Fonds sont les suivants : en Asie, le Fonds préfère les sociétés qui augmentent leur part du marché de la fabrication (Vietnam, Bangladesh). Ensuite, au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique, le tourisme et les sociétés des biens de consommation de base et de technologies financières attirent l’attention (en particulier celles aux Émirats arabes unis et au Kenya). Enfin, en Amérique latine, les positions du Fonds sont un mélange de sociétés cycliques et axées sur la consommation établies majoritairement au Chili et en Colombie.

 

Merci de me lire,

Adam Kutas


1 FMR., au 30 juin 2018.

Tout placement dans un fonds commun de placement peut donner lieu à des commissions ou des commissions de suivi. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur les placements. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Certaines déclarations formulées dans ce commentaire peuvent contenir des énoncés prospectifs de nature prévisionnelle pouvant inclure des termes tels que « prévoit », « anticipe », « a l’intention », « planifie », « croit », « estime » et d’autres expressions semblables ou leurs versions négatives correspondantes. Les énoncés prospectifs s’appuient sur des attentes et prévisions visant des facteurs généraux pertinents liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché, comme les taux d’intérêt, et supposent qu’aucun changement n’est apporté au taux d’imposition en vigueur ni aux autres lois ou législations gouvernementales applicables. Les attentes et les prévisions à l’égard d’événements futurs sont intrinsèquement soumises, entre autres, aux risques et incertitudes parfois imprévisibles, et peuvent, par conséquent, se révéler incorrectes à l’avenir. Les énoncés prospectifs ne sont pas une garantie des rendements futurs, et les événements réels pourraient être substantiellement différents de ceux anticipés ou projetés dans les énoncés prospectifs. Certains éléments importants peuvent contribuer à ces écarts, y compris, notamment, les facteurs généraux liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché en Amérique du Nord ou ailleurs dans le monde, les taux d’intérêt et de change, les marchés boursiers et les marchés des capitaux mondiaux, la concurrence commerciale et les catastrophes. Vous devez donc éviter de vous fier indûment aux énoncés prospectifs. En outre, nous n’avons pas l’intention de mettre à jour ces énoncés à la suite de l’obtention de nouveaux renseignements, de la concrétisation d’événements futurs ou pour quelque autre raison que ce soit.

De temps à autre, un gestionnaire, analyste ou autre employé de Fidelity peut exprimer une opinion sur une société, un titre, une industrie ou un secteur du marché. Les opinions exprimées par ces personnes représentent un point de vue personnel à un moment donné et ne constituent pas nécessairement celui de Fidelity ou d’autres personnes au sein de l’organisation. Ces opinions sont appelées à changer à tout moment en fonction de l’évolution des marchés et d’autres facteurs, et Fidelity décline toute responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la mise à jour de ces points de vue. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement fiables, ni comme une indication d’achat ou de vente visant un Fonds Fidelity, car les décisions de placement relatives aux Fonds Fidelity sont prises en fonction de nombreux facteurs.

© 2018 Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. Tous droits réservés.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

53961-v201882