Middle East - A Timely Rise in the Index

middle east

In the fixed-income investment world, many investors pay close attention to the global bond rating agencies’ upgrades and downgrades for both countries and companies. These changes can have an impact on the value of a security from the effect of passive fund flows (for instance, inclusion in an index can create more passive fund buyers for certain bonds), as well as investability, given certain funds’ mandates (e.g., investment-grade bonds only).


In the emerging market and frontier market equity investment universe, a similar variable to watch is upgrades and downgrades by MSCI. This index provider classifies all countries as “developed,” “emerging” or “frontier.” And with the rise of passive index funds (or exchange-traded funds), any country upgrades (and any resulting index change, for instance from emerging to developed, as was the case for Israel in 2010) can generate a significant impact on that country’s equity market performance. A country upgrade may also lower the cost of capital for its respective listed companies (with inflows pushing up market values, more valuable companies can usually borrow funds at lower interest rates). This change is driven by the much larger capital pools in developed markets than in frontier markets; that is, the passive funds that track developed markets are much bigger than ones that track emerging or frontier markets.


Over the next 12 months, we have such a situation in frontier and emerging markets, specifically for countries in the Middle East. These markets are becoming more important from an index perspective (and maybe from a lower cost of capital perspective), because the region is rising sharply in both the emerging market equity and bond indexes.


As seen in Chart 1, the Middle East has risen from 0% back in 2014 and will likely reach 5% with the inclusion of Saudi Arabia. The changes by MSCI are driven by capital market reforms (in the case of Saudi Arabia) and higher foreign ownership limits (FOL) over the past few years (in the case of UAE, Qatar and Kuwait).

 

Chart 1: Middle East countries as % of MSCI EM Index
 

chart 1 for Kutas  middle east blog 2018

Source: MSCI.

 

On the bond side, as seen in Chart 2, all Middle East fixed-income sovereign bonds are moving from 0% currently to a predicted 12% weight by this time in 2019, driven simply by more issuance at the sovereign level by the respective governments.
 

Chart 2: Middle East countries as % of JPM EMBI Global Bond Index
 

chart 2 for Kutas  middle east blog 2018

Source: JPM.
 

Will this have much impact on stock performance? I am not sure, but with a rising oil price, it’s not too surprising that the region has some of the best-performing markets year-to-date in U.S. dollar terms.* Valuations are generally attractive, fundamentals for many companies have likely bottomed out, and the region is likely not showing up much on most global equity investors’ radars. This factor is even more apparent for Saudi Arabia, which recently opened up to global investors. As seen in Chart 3, less than 5% of the equity market is owned by foreigners, while it is near 50% for more traditional markets such as Brazil.
 

Chart 3: Total foreign ownership of the equity market (% of market cap)
 

chart 3 for Kutas  middle east blog 2018

Source: National Exchanges and Credit Suisse, as at Q1 2018.


The frontier funds are positioned in these markets, with exposure to the banking, consumer retail and fuel transport sectors.


Thanks for reading,
 

Adam Kutas


*FMR., as at September 30, 2018.

Commissions, trailing commissions, management fees and expenses all may be associated with mutual fund investments. Please read the prospectus, which contains detailed investment information, before investing. Mutual funds are not guaranteed, their values change frequently and past performance may not be repeated.

Certain statements in this commentary may contain forward-looking statements (“FLS”) that are predictive in nature and may include words such as “expects,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “estimates” and similar forward-looking expressions or negative versions thereof. FLS are based on current expectations and projections about future general economic, political and relevant market factors, such as interest and foreign exchange rates, equity and capital markets, and the general business environment, in each case assuming no changes to applicable tax or other laws or government regulation. Expectations and projections about future events are inherently subject to, among other things, risks and uncertainties, some of which may be unforeseeable and, accordingly, may prove to be incorrect at a future date. FLS are not guarantees of future performance, and actual events could differ materially from those expressed or implied in any FLS. A number of important factors can contribute to these digressions, including, but not limited to, general economic, political and market factors in North America and internationally, interest and foreign exchange rates, global equity and capital markets, business competition and catastrophic events. You should avoid placing any undue reliance on FLS. Further, there is no specific intention of updating any FLS, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

From time to time a manager, analyst or other Fidelity employee may express views regarding a particular company, security, and industry or market sector. The views expressed by any such person are the views of only that individual as of the time expressed and do not necessarily represent the views of Fidelity or any other person in the Fidelity organization. Any such views are subject to change at any time, based upon markets and other conditions, and Fidelity disclaims any responsibility to update such views. These views may not be relied on as investment advice and, because investment decisions for a Fidelity Fund are based on numerous factors, may not be relied on as an indication of trading intent on behalf of any Fidelity Fund.

© 2018 Fidelity Investments Canada ULC. All rights reserved.

Read a fund’s or pool’s prospectus or offering memorandum and speak to an advisor before investing. Read our privacy policy. By using or logging in to this website, you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

This site is for persons in Canada only. Mutual funds and ETFs sponsored by Fidelity Investments Canada ULC are only qualified for sale in the provinces and territories of Canada.

93897-v2018117

Moyen-Orient - Une hausse opportune de l’indice

middle east

Dans l’univers des placements à revenu fixe, de nombreux investisseurs surveillent de près les hausses et les baisses des cotes attribuées aux pays et aux entreprises par les agences de notation mondiales. De tels changements peuvent se répercuter sur la valeur des titres en raison des entrées de capitaux passifs (ainsi, l’inclusion dans un indice peut entraîner pour certaines obligations une augmentation du nombre d’acheteurs de fonds à gestion passive), ainsi que sur la capacité d’investissement, selon le mandat de certains fonds (p. ex., obligations de qualité seulement).


Dans l’univers des actions des marchés émergents et des marchés frontaliers, une variable comparable qu’il convient de surveiller est la révision à la hausse et à la baisse des cotes par MSCI. Ce fournisseur d’indices répartit tous les pays dans les catégories « développés », « émergents » ou « frontaliers ». Et en raison de la montée des fonds indiciels à gestion passive (ou fonds négociés en bourse), toute révision à la hausse de la cote d’un pays (et tout changement d’indice correspondant, le cas échéant, par exemple de pays émergent à pays développé, comme ce fut le cas pour Israël en 2010) peut avoir un impact considérable sur les résultats du marché boursier de ce pays. Une révision à la hausse peut aussi réduire le coût du capital des sociétés inscrites à la Bourse du pays en question (puisque les entrées de fonds font grimper les valeurs marchandes, les sociétés plus fructueuses peuvent généralement emprunter des fonds à un taux d’intérêt inférieur). Ce changement est attribuable aux réserves de capitaux, qui sont beaucoup plus abondantes dans les marchés développés que dans les marchés frontaliers; autrement dit, les fonds à gestion passive qui reproduisent le rendement des marchés développés sont beaucoup plus importants que ceux qui reproduisent le rendement des marchés émergents ou des marchés frontaliers.


C’est d’ailleurs la situation à laquelle nous assisterons au cours des 12 prochains mois dans les marchés émergents et frontaliers, particulièrement dans les pays du Moyen-Orient. Ces marchés gagnent en importance du point de vue de l’indice (et peut-être aussi du point de vue des coûts en capital moindres), parce que la région affiche une hausse marquée au sein des indices boursiers et obligataires des marchés émergents.


Comme l’illustre le Tableau 1, le Moyen-Orient, qui était absent de l’indice en 2014, représentera vraisemblablement 5 % de l’indice grâce à l’inclusion de l’Arabie saoudite. Les changements apportés par MSCI ont été influencés par les réformes des marchés financiers (dans le cas de l’Arabie saoudite) et par la hausse des limites en matière de propriété étrangère au cours des dernières années (dans le cas des Émirats arabes unis, du Qatar et du Koweït).


Tableau 1 : Pourcentage des pays du Moyen-Orient dans l’indice MSCI Marchés émergents

chart 1 for Kutas  middle east blog 2018 FR

Source : MSCI.
 

En ce qui concerne les obligations, comme l’illustre le Tableau 2, la pondération des obligations souveraines à revenu fixe du Moyen-Orient devrait passer de 0 % à l’heure actuelle à 12 % d’ici la même période en 2019, simplement en raison de l’augmentation du nombre d’émissions d’obligations d’État par les différents gouvernements.
 

Tableau 2 : Pourcentage des pays du Moyen-Orient dans l’indice JPM EMBI Global Bond

chart 2 for Kutas  middle east blog 2018

Source : JPM.
 

Cette situation aura-t-elle une forte incidence sur le rendement des actions? Je n’en suis pas certain, mais compte tenu de la hausse des prix du pétrole, il n’est pas tellement étonnant que certains des marchés les plus rentables depuis le début de l’année, en dollars américains*, se trouvent dans cette région. Les valorisations y sont en général attrayantes, les paramètres fondamentaux de nombreuses entreprises semblent avoir atteint leur niveau le plus bas, et il est probable que la région ne suscite pas l’intérêt de la plupart des investisseurs mondiaux en actions. Ce facteur est encore plus évident en ce qui concerne l’Arabie saoudite, qui a récemment ouvert son marché aux investisseurs mondiaux. Comme l’indique le Tableau 3, moins de 5 % du marché boursier est détenu par des investisseurs étrangers, alors que ce pourcentage s’établit à près de 50 % pour les marchés plus traditionnels, comme le Brésil.


Tableau 3 : Propriété étrangère totale du marché boursier (en % de la capitalisation boursière)

chart 3 for Kutas  middle east blog 2018

Sources : Marchés boursiers nationaux et Credit Suisse, au premier trimestre de 2018.
 

Les fonds frontaliers sont positionnés au sein de ces marchés, avec une exposition aux secteurs des services bancaires, du commerce de détail et du transport de combustibles.

 

Merci d’avoir lu ce billet.

 

Adam Kutas


* FMR., au 30 septembre 2018.

Tout placement dans un fonds commun de placement peut donner lieu à des commissions ou des commissions de suivi. Veuillez lire le prospectus d’un fonds avant d’investir, car il contient des renseignements détaillés sur les placements. Les fonds communs de placement ne sont pas garantis; leur valeur est appelée à fluctuer fréquemment et le rendement passé pourrait ou non être reproduit.

Certaines déclarations formulées dans ce commentaire peuvent contenir des énoncés prospectifs de nature prévisionnelle pouvant inclure des termes tels que « prévoit », « anticipe », « a l’intention », « planifie », « croit », « estime » et d’autres expressions semblables ou leurs versions négatives correspondantes. Les énoncés prospectifs s’appuient sur des attentes et prévisions visant des facteurs généraux pertinents liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché, comme les taux d’intérêt, et supposent qu’aucun changement n’est apporté au taux d’imposition en vigueur ni aux autres lois ou législations gouvernementales applicables. Les attentes et les prévisions à l’égard d’événements futurs sont intrinsèquement soumises, entre autres, aux risques et incertitudes parfois imprévisibles, et peuvent, par conséquent, se révéler incorrectes à l’avenir. Les énoncés prospectifs ne sont pas une garantie des rendements futurs, et les événements réels pourraient être substantiellement différents de ceux anticipés ou projetés dans les énoncés prospectifs. Certains éléments importants peuvent contribuer à ces écarts, y compris, notamment, les facteurs généraux liés à la situation économique, au contexte politique et aux conditions du marché en Amérique du Nord ou ailleurs dans le monde, les taux d’intérêt et de change, les marchés boursiers et les marchés des capitaux mondiaux, la concurrence commerciale et les catastrophes. Vous devez donc éviter de vous fier indûment aux énoncés prospectifs. En outre, nous n’avons pas l’intention de mettre à jour ces énoncés à la suite de l’obtention de nouveaux renseignements, de la concrétisation d’événements futurs ou pour quelque autre raison que ce soit.

De temps à autre, un gestionnaire, analyste ou autre employé de Fidelity peut exprimer une opinion sur une société, un titre, une industrie ou un secteur du marché. Les opinions exprimées par ces personnes représentent un point de vue personnel à un moment donné et ne constituent pas nécessairement celui de Fidelity ou d’autres personnes au sein de l’organisation. Ces opinions sont appelées à changer à tout moment en fonction de l’évolution des marchés et d’autres facteurs, et Fidelity décline toute responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la mise à jour de ces points de vue. Ceux-ci ne peuvent pas être considérés comme des conseils en placement fiables, ni comme une indication d’achat ou de vente visant un Fonds Fidelity, car les décisions de placement relatives aux Fonds Fidelity sont prises en fonction de nombreux facteurs.

© 2018 Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. Tous droits réservés.

Veuillez lire le prospectus ou la notice d'offre d'un fonds ou d’un mandat et consulter un conseiller en placements avant d’investir. Veuillez lire notre politique de confidentialité. En utilisant notre site Web ou en ouvrant une session, vous consentez à l’utilisation de témoins, telle qu’elle est décrite dans notre politique de confidentialité.  

Ce site est réservé aux personnes qui résident au Canada. Les fonds communs de placement et les FNB commandités par Fidelity Investments Canada s.r.i. ne peuvent être vendus que dans les provinces et territoires du Canada.

93897-v2018117